We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long awaited opening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9703 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A long awaited opening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I just returned from a long birthday weekend at the St Regis in Bal Harbour. From the moment we entered the hotel we were greeted by the staff who all on their game and very eager to please. The St Regis is a true world class resort with every amenity. I highly recommend everyone experience this amazing and beautiful property. Watch your backs South Beach there is a new Prince in town!

Room Tip: All the rooms have an amazing sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Anthony V,

Thank you for your compliments of The St. Regis Bal Harbour. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your birthday with us. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of The St. Regis.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope you will visit our address again soon.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    123
    43
    21
    13
See reviews for
245
365
19
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a beautiful hotel! I was able to check in earlier and the staff immediately took care of me. My room was on the 10th floor facing the ocean. The terrace was huge and the view amazing! My husband and I had dinner at J&G Grill and it was very good. The waiter was very friendly and had many great recommendations....we ordered the halibut and stone crab specials and the steak for 2 was delicious. You must try the ginger cosmopolitan...it is one of the best I've had.
Although we were only there for one night we really wanted to spend as much time in the room as possible. We ordered room service for breakfast and it came within 1/2 hour from calling. We ate on the terrace while looking out at the ocean. It was a great stay! This is truly a 5 star hotel and if you like shopping you just walk across the street to the Bal Harbor shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear loverofdogs,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the St. Regis Bal Harbour. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our spectacular guest rooms and the magnificent views from your balcony.

Our staff has a commitment to each and every guest to create a discreet experience of bespoke service.

I am pleased to hear of your exceptional visit and hope I will have the future to welcoming you back to the best address in future.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just stayed at the St-Regis for a weekend and the hotel is excellent. We really enjoyed the big terrace with two confortable sofas. Service was great and the overall experience was worthed! Can't wait to go back with the kids for Xmas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear a_nadeau,

I am thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, and we hope to have you back to the Resort soon.

Thank you!

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were very pleased with the beautiful and sophisticated St Regis Bal Harbour. All the service was top notch in the hotel. The check in experience was lovely and they brought us towels and champagne on a silver tray as we checked in. We only had one rolling bag so really wanted to just bring it up to our room by ourselves but the elevator and room technology really requires them to show you it at least once so we were accompanied to our room.

We were upgraded to a Grand Deluxe room and it was spectacular. Their was a separate bathroom with toilet and sink (put my husband's toiletries in there) and a large master bath with tub and walk in rain shower. Loved the amenities (although had trouble getting the shower gel out of the heavy packaging!) and the lights. They had a lighted makeup mirror (I notice more and more hotels are finally getting this amenity correct) and the bathroom had a TV in one of the mirrors which I put on music.

the bedroom was wonderful with a lovely banquet style couch. the whole room was in lovely grey tones. The bed of course was just like heaven.There was a wonderful bar set up complete with Champagne glasses and the mirror walk in closet had enough space for weeks worth of clothing!

But the absolute best part was the balcony. Private yet huge and a wonderful view of the beach. The weekend we were there was quite breezy so we didn't get down to the beach but we did do a half hour at the adult only pool. It was lovely.

Service was top notch.

The not so great? Well I expected so much more from the J&G Grill. My soup and Foie Gras were superb but the "tomahawk steak for 2" was just about the same steak I could get at Flemings and the vegetables/potato that came with it were boring and uninspired. I mean it is all very fresh and so on but nothing special and definitely not worth the tab. Service was excellent again and we loved our waiter. The markup on the wine was a bit high as well. Speaking of that, they automatically tack on 18% gratuity and a resort fee to everything. so the 2 drinks we had at the pool (in plastic cups) were over $40 - ouch. Parking (we drove from home) was $40 for overnight and my daughter met us and it was $20 for her to be there for 4 hours.

The bar was lovely - we did the nightly champagne ritual and got a free half glass of champagne there so that was nice as well. Wish we had gone back after dinner to listen to the band but we wanted to enjoy our room some more.

Breakfast was not good at all, I would never go back for breakfast. We skipped the buffet which didn't seem to have a lot on it and nothing made to order. The menu was not extensive. I ordered 2 eggs over easy (came out over medium) and bagel toasted dark (came out white). They didn't have regular decaf tea. I also asked for no potato but they came with it anyway. Water was not refilled quickly, the butter was ice cold and not a lot of it. So 2 eggs, one bagel and one piece of sausage was $18 -- plus the gratuity and the resort fee - a total of $53 for the two of us. That is just excessive. The presentation of everything was lovely but I will take substance over style when I am paying this much for food. Next time we will eat across the street at one of the coffee shops there.

all in all, I would recommend this hotel as a lovely place to stay but suggest you eat elsewhere which is not hard to do in Miami!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear joannt59,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience, and I am so pleased that you had a wonderful visit at The St. Regis Bal Harbour in Florida.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all feedback we can get. I do apologize for the dissapointment at our signature restaurant J&G Grill as well as the breakfast buffett. I will share your feed back with the involved departments, for further investigation, review and training. We do offer a new style of breakfast since November, I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to experience the changes.

Best Regards,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is one of the most gorgeous properties that I have ever had the pleasure of visiting and hands down takes the cake for most beautiful room I have ever stayed in. My boyfriend and I stayed here in a Grand Luxe Ocean Front suite. The view of the Atlantic and the stretch of pristine beach from BOTH of our huge balconies was absolutely breathtaking and one that I will never forget. I highly recommend this room. We ate breakfast on the balcony 2 of the 3 days that we were here and every evening I enjoyed a glass of wine and a book while listening to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach below. This room was amazing so if you can swing it then don’t even give it a second thought. As mentioned in other reviews the balconies can feel close together the way that they are positioned on a diagonal however I think that ultimately this is an attribute to the hotel because it pretty much guarantees that there are no “bad views”. The beds are extremely comfortable and the master bathroom was a girls dream comes true with a rainfall showerhead and a deep soaking tub. Did I mention the TV that is inside of the mirror? Ladies, you can leave your face wash, shower gel, shampoo & conditioner at home. The St. Regis has fabulous quality amenities that are amply restocked. Save room in your suitcase for your bathing suits and flip flops because the outdoor amenities are impeccable and no attention to detail is spared. The pools are perfect for spending an entire day lounging on the comfy chairs and daybeds, reading, swimming and sunbathing. Service at the beach is relaxed yet attentive. The food from Fresco is delicious and served in perfect portions, exactly what I want to eat while spending a day in my bikini. I highly recommend the Puerto Vallarta Fish Tacos. The food at the J&G Grill is also excellent, fresh and beautifully prepared. The gym facilities are top notch with plenty of new high tech cardio equipment, Kinesis stations, free weights and machines. Your workouts will not suffer here.
A few kinks could be worked out in the spa which I’m sure will come in time since it is relatively new. I honestly thought the breakfast buffet could use a little work too. It seemed as if it were trying too hard (if that makes sense). Portions were a bit small for my BF’s liking and breakfast is his favorite meal while away on vacation but I suppose this is what happens once you have experienced the wonder that is the breakfast at the Kahala Resort & Spa in Oahu. I value good service and I know a lot of people love to be fussed over so if you like that then you will not be disappointed. I can’t really fault them for being too accommodating and attentive but personally, I thought that it was a little over the top for my liking and believe the staff will find the perfect balance as they grow. The location could also be a downfall for some. It is pretty far north. About a 20 – 25 minute cab ride to the South Beach area where a lot of fantastic restaurants and people watching can be found. This was fine for us since we only wanted to experience that for a few hours and then we were right back to the peace and serenity that is The St. Regis Bal Harbour. Thank you for a lovely and memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Cici14,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the St. Regis Bal Harbour. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our spectacular guest rooms and the magnificent views from your balcony.

I am pleased to hear of your exceptional visit and hope I will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the best address in near future.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights
We were upgraded to a studio( small kitchen )
I really didn't need it...would have preferred a bigger sitting room..but they didnt give me the option
The terraces are gorgeous and SPACIOUS!!
The tech and thought put into the rooms are awsome
Electric outlet attached to night table!
All electric curtain openers, lights
One problem I would say is my room had NO FULL LENGTH MIRROR!!!!
They need to fix that problem
Bathrooms are spacious and have Remed'e items...awesome!
Butler service for some of the rooms is good...they give you free coffee all day and they press your shirts and they can even unpack for you !
Bed was really comfortable!
Gym is good
I loved the beach service was good
Restaurant by th pool had the slowest service one day...waitress should be hustling but since service is included why bother!
Same at the Atlantico breakfast...service too slow.
Coffee and skim milk should be brought out immediately!!!Breakfast for 45 min , 1 hour is too long!
I LOVEED the tapas bar with the amazing guitarist who played lovely music!
I loved the food and the atmosphere ther
The somalier who works at the restaurant too is soo nice and knowledgeable!
The restaurant JG is good.
Food is really good
We ate there 2 nights
First night was good and normal wait time
2nd night they didnt bring our side dishes at the same time as the main course!
It was annoying
Overall I would definitely recomend this hotel
It is all very well thought out and very well maintained
Ovwerall staff is REALLY nice!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear SHE81,

I wish to extend my sincere gratitude for your recent review of The St. Regis Bal Harbour. I am pleased to hear your overall experience was excellent.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all feedback we can get. I do apologize for the slow service received at our Atlantico Restaurant, I will share your feed back with the involved departments, for further investigation, review and training.

It will be my pleasure to welcome you back to the best address again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

As you can tell from my profile we stay at a lot of really high end properties, so I try to give a good amount of details since I expect your paying 700-1,100 a night to stay here in some cases.

My wife and I went away for the long weekend away from our 2 year old so this weekend means the world to us.

Upon check-in we walked through the spectacular lobby and saw the wine bar which looked amazing as well. The first impression was "finally a place that can mix modern, but its still a warm feel". They gave us each a glass of champagne as we did the customary check-in process which is a very nice touch. My wife who loves champagne even said it was a great quality one.

We had the Grand Luxe Oceanfront Room and it was really nice. 650 square feet and have no idea why you would need to upgrade if its just two people. The balcony was huge and for the first time in a long time actually had two "daybed" type lay down chairs, 2 small tables and another pair of chairs for dining al fresco. The view was also excellent and the room well appointed. They had an actual walk in closet and a front closet to throw your suitcases and other products you care not to look at the whole trip.

Since its such a new hotel all the of the technologies were awesome, finger touch lighting, universal controls, world music on the TV (pick your city/genre). The room I would give 5 stars and the bathroom mirror had a tv in it also.

Kinks: After we showered and left for dinner our first night (check in after 6pm) I asked them to come clean up all the dirty towels and refresh the room so we can come back to a nice ambience instead of waiting till the next day. They did that, but the next morning I was in the shower I noticed they took all the products (half used) and left none behind. I was actually peeved to find no shampoo, body wash, or soap?

Also, when we checked in they asked about newspaper delivery and at 10am I looked down the hallway and we were the only ones without it. So, I had to call down again and ask for it. They even said "yup its in your notes"

Lastly, the phone in our bathroom did not work (I could careless, but just another one of those things you can't throw out a 5 star rating for).

The concierge made us a reservation our first night when we checked in, the actually confirmation letter came the next day around lunch (10 hours after our reservation). The concierge said "I had told you to come by and pick it up didn't I". Just odd.

Also, we never got our customary spa reservation sheets in our room which happens at every hotel.

The food at the hotel was ok, but nothing to blow you out of your seat. I never complain about pricing since most reviewers stay at expensive hotels then complain about breakfast being 30 bucks... However, its really odd at breakfast I asked for hot sauce or hot salsa for my eggs and they brought me siracha sauce. Seriously? We are in a land filled with spice culture and you bring my Siracha (happened every time I asked even at the pool restaurant).

Location wise: We knew each time we needed a cab to go to the hot spots in Miami, but 25 dollars each way really adds up over a weekend. Just make sure you know that. The house car only goes till 7pm and goes only 5 miles drop off one way. Basically useless unless your going to a drugstore :)

Winks (good things); The concierge had recommended Juvia and Zuma - Both restaurants outside of the restaurant were superb with a great energetic scene. Absolutely nailed it on the head!

Its 50 yards from Bal Harbour shops, that place is great and a hint - You can get a nice breakfast for 8-9 bucks or a sandwich anytime that is 5 times better than the hotels.

Overall, this place is beautiful and right on the beach. You have the luxury of actually being around a lot of local people instead of the slime in south beach. You really feel like your at a high end condo building with warmth of an established hotel.

The nightly music in the bar was outstanding and a really nice touch.

If they pick up the service level just a little and communication flows better they could really dominate the scene.

*** Last comment, the spa treatment was incredible, the spa amenities are not going to blow you away but won't disappoint (men's side did not even have a hot tub)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear MonteChicago,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to detail your stay at The St. Regis Bal Harbour. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel.

My sincerest apologies for the lack of focus and attention you received, I will share your feed back with the involved departments, for further investigation, review and training.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the best address in the future.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
5.3 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Setai
The Setai
#10 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort

Address: 9703 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an exclusive enclave in Bal Harbour with luxury oceanfront accommodations, quiet unwavering taste, anticipatory service and seductive amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Hotel Bal Harbour
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.