We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy daytrip from Philadelphia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library

Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library
5105 Kennett Pike, Winterthur, DE 19735
800-448-3883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Winterthur
Type: Historic Sites, Libraries, History Museums, Gardens, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Dining, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a Du Pont family country retreat, this estate's spectacular gardens surround a 175-room mansion housing the world's finest collection of American decorative arts from 1640-1860.
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easy daytrip from Philadelphia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Winterthur and its gardens provide a peaceful way to spend half a day. The house, now museum, is "over the top" as you might expect. Henry DuPont was a visionary with respect to the land and gardens. Don't miss the exhibit of soup tureens.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    104
    27
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“One of the places you have to visit while in Delaware”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Winterthur is one of the lesser known attractions in Delaware. Everyone likes to make fun of our state because there is "nothing here" but this former DuPont estate is beautiful. It is well maintained from the grounds to the buildings. Lots of history to learn on the tours. The house tours are all guided. Visiting before Thanksgiving, you will not need a reservation. Once the yule tide season is here, you will need one. The Christmas season is a great time to visit as well.

This tour is not great for kids unless they like no-touch museums. The garden tour and walking the grounds are also fun. I joke that you need to be over 40 to enjoy this place.

We have an annual pass so we will be returning.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Well kept secret of this region is the Brandywine valley. Winterthur is the estate of the late Henry Dupont who became quite a collector and farming innovator. He turned his estate into a museum and garden grounds.
Beautiful for a visit or having an event such as a wedding there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Take Your Toddler, unless...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is another amazingly beautiful DuPont property. Best time to visit is spring time when everything is in bloom, as the "gardens" were planted in a "natural" state. Either way, the property is absolutely gorgeous. The trees here are like nothing I have ever seen. And the mansion is... well, over-the-top. A few things to consider:

1. If you have small children, just walk around the grounds. Do NOT take them through the house tour. The guides are wonderful and knowledgable, but they CRINGE at the thought of a child touching anything in the house (understandable, the place is a museum) and they are not shy about keeping them reigned in.
2. The "Enchanted Garden" is a must see if you do visit with children. My 7 year old daughter was completely enamored with the "cottages in the woods," the upside-down tree with a secret hidden inside and the "misty mushrooms." Great pics taken there and a pleasant walk to and from the DuPont manshion.
3. The garden tram tour is great. It is included with general admission, and make sure you take it. Our tram tour guide was so helpful and knowledgable! She actually also worked on the grounds as well, photographing the trees, and is currently in the process of documenting it on the web. More info for our kiddos!!

All in all, a wonderful afternoon for my children and family from out of town. Costumes from Downtown Abby will be on display in the spring, and I can't wait to bring my Mother-in-Law back for that. As for the kids, if you need more action, go to the Hagely. That's great too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unreal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I really didn't enjoy. Alot of different tours of the house to take and don't really see much on just one tour. More like a museum the a house. To unreal to think of a house of nine stories and over 170 rooms. The grounds were not in bloom but they be beautiful when they are.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library also viewed

 

Been to Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.