We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library

Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library
5105 Kennett Pike, Winterthur, DE 19735
800-448-3883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Winterthur
Type: Historic Sites, Libraries, History Museums, Gardens, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Dining, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a Du Pont family country retreat, this estate's spectacular gardens surround a 175-room mansion housing the world's finest collection of American decorative arts from 1640-1860.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

No place can compare to this. Great place to visit and tour. You will see a type of lifestyle from an era that does not exist any longer. I recommend the membership so you can visit more then once. And be sure that you come during Christmas to see the Yuletide decorations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    106
    27
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Winterthur is a stately estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Winterthur is renowned for its vast collection of american furniture. But don't miss the lovely gardens outside!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Royal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“[best museum for early american decorative arts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Don't miss the wonderful museum and gardens!! Winterthur has the finest collection of early american furniture in the world, displayed in period rooms. The gardens are spectacular in any season. The gift shop is terrific and alson sells plants and shrubs grown on the estate. Don't miss this world class museum and gardens.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful surrounding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Beautiful grounds especially in the spring! Happy we signed as members.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best change you’ll have to learn about American furniture 101”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I never thought I'd be interested in the fine points of American furniture making, but my visits to Winterthur have exposed me to the basics in a delightful way. Even a quick walk through the museum set an impression that sticks with you for life. For example, did you know the why the "feet" of American furniture look different? I didn't either until I saw the simple explanation and illustration in the permanent exhibition. My suggestion is to take the house tour once (unless you get hooked), and return for the Christmas displays, which are beautiful and unique. Warning: you easily can get tired of the endless docent tales of du Pont family traditions: they have all been drinking the KoolAid.

Note: Although I have visited Winterthur many times simply to walk the grounds without taking the house tour, or visiting the museum, I have been told by a member that you absolutely must have a ticket, or membership to enjoy this amenity. The docents and staff are a tad frosty at the idea that someone might just park and stroll in.

Frankly, I’m not sure Winterthur’s managers have come to grips with the fact that people come to the property for various reasons, including lectures, and visits to the gift shop, who do not pay a grounds fee to stroll around afterwards. Is this wrong? Is it the visitor’s fault that Winterthur doesn’t manage its inbound visitor traffic more effectively or smartly offer, at the front gate, an easy low-cost informal drop-in rate for recreational visitors? Duh.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library also viewed

 

Been to Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.