We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great price from priceline. good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Rocky Run Parkway, Wilmington, DE 19803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great price from priceline. good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked through priceline with a great price. Hotel was excellent. Free WIFI. Staff was nice. location was ok. Nice place for business trip. I stayed in this hotel for 1 day last week. I enjoyed it. overall good experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    44
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
37
28
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The front desk gal made me feel like I was the only guest in town. Very nice and sincere, but not fake. Excellent customer service. However disappointed with housekeeping (cursing in hallway, loud slamming doors etc). I've machine broken, had to go up 3 flights of stairs. Would stay again due to nice room, comfy bed, amazingly huge walk in shower, plus front desk customer service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine. We appreciate you taking the time to send us your comments. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel did not live up to its reviews. The thermostat didn't work so in January we had the heat set at 60 and it was so hot in the room that we had to open the window and turn off the heat. They "fixed" it by turning on the air conditioner. The bathroom vanity was as small as they get. The room was so small we had to put or luggage on the end tables. There was no free coffee let alone breakfast in the lobby, the towels were thin and the Kleenes was cheap and rough. The pool was uninviting with large brown areas on the bottom. We stayed in a Days Inn that was much better and a third the price. We had to cut our expected three-day trip short because of a winter storm that unexpectedly was heading our way. Because we made our reservation through Bookings.com, we had to pay for all three nights.

On the plus side, the room had a fold out bed and frig, free popcorn and candy kisses, and a very nice staff.

Room Tip: You don't get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello Jeanne N,
We at the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine would like to thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We strive to make each individual guest have a clean and refreshing experience while at our hotel. We would like to send our sincerest apologies that your expectations of us were not met, and we will further pursue the proper resolution of each comment that you have posted. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This property provides consistent value each time.
Rooms are clean, comfortable - not very spacious but good.
We typically get two double or queen beds.
Pool is good
Convenient for our business (usually there for access to AI duPont Hospital)
Cozy for all seasons and good value.

Room Tip: Stay in main building - near lobby area Usually get two beds (queens)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine. Our hope is that all of our guests enjoy the comfort and cozy feeling in both our amenities and our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for one evening in early January. I give it three stars but I found nothing wrong with the hotel at this price point. I just compare it to other, perhaps larger, Courtyards where I stay (I'm a Marriott platinum so I tend to stay in Marriotts).

Check in- Easy and efficient. Quickly upgraded to a room with a balcony (which didn't do me much good since the temperature was about 20 degrees but appreciated the thought). Lobby is small but that never bothers me.

Rooms- One king bed. Room was pretty small I thought even for a Courtyard. For one night it was fine but would wonder about staying multiple nights. Bed good like most Marriotts. HVAC noise was apparent but not too obtrusive. Hotel is close by the highway but didn't notice much traffic noise. Bathroom quite small and pretty basic but clean. Drain cap was stuck in the closed position so water would not drain while taking a shower. I reported this when I left. Lighting in room good and desk chair was comfortable. On the whole, a small but OK room.

Amenities- Didn't try out the health club. A number of chain restaurants like Olive Garden just a few dozen feet away which probably accounts for why the lounge is not larger. Breakfast was good with Marriott's dependable oatmeal.

Checkout- Not a problem.

In general I found the service to be good, the property clean (except for that drain) and no significant problems. I probably downgraded them a bit for the smaller room but otherwise it was a good property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine! We appreciate your feedback and comments about your stay with us and hope you will chose us again upon your next trip to the Wilmington area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We are members of the Retro Fitness chain of fitness centers and were pleasantly surprised that a branch of Retro Fitness was practically across the street from our hotel, in the Concord Mall. For that reason, will DEFINITELY return to this hotel next time we're in the area. Wonderful staff, especially Tanner at the front desk, who kept greeting us by name! Exceptionally clean hotel, and I am fussy in that regard. I wish every hotel in the country had the non-slip coating this hotel uses in their tubs. My husband and I joked that "everything" is 12 minutes from this hotel (Wilmington downtown, fine restaurants, Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square PA and Brandywine River Museum in Chadds Ford PA) The hotel is not far from the Pennsylvania border.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are so glad you chose to stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine! Yes, our hotel is really 12 minutes away from a lot great attractions... Retro Fitness included across the street. Let us know if we can help you plan for your next trip to the Wilmington area! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England,South
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We met some friends for a stay in the Brandywine area. Being usual Marriott customers we chose this property, our friends in a property next door. Our room was very clean, but relatively small with a King bed. Breakfast can be purchased just off the lobby at the Bistro- somewhat cramped. The staff was efficient though not exactly welcoming. Our friends invited us to their property- a much better experience to include joining them for a free breakfast. For the $$$ expended, you can do better elsewhere than this Marriott property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine

Address: 320 Rocky Run Parkway, Wilmington, DE 19803
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Wilmington Brandywine Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Courtyard
Wilmington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.