We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable quarters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Rocky Run Parkway, Wilmington, DE 19803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Wilmington
Texas
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Comfortable quarters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We enjoyed the simple room with refrigerator and balcony. In spite of multiple wedding and graduation celebrations, our room was quit. Everything worked and the beds were comfortable. In addition they provided free parking and a clean swimming pool. If you eat here, breakfast is extra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make sure we provide clean and comfortable accommodations. Hopefully you will stay with us again the next time you visit the Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
31
19
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington Park, Maryland, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I walked into the lobby and was met with the most professional clerk. he was very accommodating even though I did not come in with a reservation. He made sure I knew the area and placed to go. His name was Luis. I felt right at home and very welcome. I will definitely becoming back. The first impression in a hotel is the most important one. You never get a second first impression. I wish every time I was greeted some place was this good. PROMOTE HIM IMMEDIATELY, good employees are hard to find and you have to keep the good ones around to better your business. if you come to this hotel ask for Luis he will go above and beyond to make your stay outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the service we provide. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The purpose of our trip was to visit family, and I booked this hotel online. The hotel was well kept and offered all of the amentities of a typical Courtyard. But a building is just a building - it's the staff that make it a home away from home.

Honestly I am not easily impressed but this staff blew me away with their attentive and friendly service. Just a few of the outstanding team members are ..

Monica at breakfast
Noel and Monique at the Bistro in the evening
And MOST OF ALL the General Manager - Patricia - she was OUTSTANDING - I had run into her a few times over the weekend - seems like day and night - and finally asked - what she did for the hotel - she said she was the GM - and we went on to chat about why she loves what she does and how she finds such great team members -

SHE is truly an asset - because she is a service hearted professional and knows what it takes to find and keep staff that loves to serve as much as she does

KUDOS to Patricia and her team - and THANK YOU for a great stay!

Room Tip: LOVE the healthy breakfast sandwich in the bistro
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back and visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I travel to the Wilmington area 4-6 times a year: primarily for business, but also for regular visits to the gardens of the beautiful Brandywine Vallley. I have stayed in several Hilton properties and in the Sheraton Suites; recent work and pleasure stays in several attractive Marriott properties, coupled with recent gold status, led me to choose this Courtyard for a Friday night stay.

First the positive: the staff on the front desk and in the Bistro were all very friendly, attentive young women who genuinely seemed to want to offer good service. There efforts could not reverse the negative aspects of this stay,however, which began at check-in. I had reserved a room in advance and had requested a room on a high floor, away from the elevator; at check-in when I asked if our room was in a quiet location, I was told that it was "smack up against an elevator." The desk clerk quickly offered to find us another room, but had trouble with the computer. A colleague helped her to find a room that they assured us would be quiet and comfortable, although on the first floor. After unpacking our bags, we realized that our room was an accessible room: to preserve open space, there was no sofa, love seat, or arm chair: only a desk chair and the bed were available for reading or watching televisions. The shower was nothing more than a drain in the tile floor with no rim to contain the water an a cloth shower curtain that did not reach the floor. There was no fixed shower head: only a hand-held hose that was discolored or rusted and very hard to maneuver when trying to balance shampoo and conditioner while washing hair. Had the desk clerk advised us of this, we would have requested a room with standard amenities.

Other problems: the air conditioner cooled the room, but left it very humid; it also had intermittent but regular loud bursts of noise throughout the night. Breakfast in the bistro was a disaster: at 8:20 am, all the tables and counter were occupied (I counted nearly 30 people trying to order and eat, with only two people taking orders and payments, and preparing meals.) It took 20 minutes to get our order of a breakfast sandwich and a scrambled egg plate: one came 10 minutes before the other. (the server apologized for the delay, saying they hadn't expected so many people, although management knew that the hotel was fully booked.) The tab was nearly $19.00 for a meal less satisfactory than a fast food breakfast at more than twice the price. Tables and the floor were littered with newspaper sections, napkins, and dirty cups. The desk clerk tried to help clear tables, but they weren't wiped and remained covered with crumbs.. At check-out time no one was to be found at the front desk and no bill had been left under to door to permit a quick check-out.

Lesson learned: silver status at one of the neighboring Hiltons offers better service than gold status at this property.

Room Tip: Request a room on the quiet side, away from the parking lot and road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. This weekend we also hosted a tour group of 160 people and with the high number of guests staying with us there were delays. We do our best to accommodate preferences and are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. Again thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

As stated by other reviewers, this is a typical Marriot Courtyard brand hotel with a Bistro where dinner (soups/sandwiches/wraps) and breakfast items can be purchased. This is a well maintained property with a small indoor pool and exercise area. Within an easy walk to several decent restaurants. We appreciate that the hotel is non-smoking.

The staff at the front desk were most welcoming and helpful. The room was spotless and the carpet was clean and looked practically new. I didn’t hesitate at all to getting on the floor to stretch and do some exercises. The bed was super comfortable, as are the beds with the Marriot brand. Towels were big and fluffy.

Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the parking lot and noise was not an issue, but I would have preferred facing the woods.

Something we particularly enjoyed at the hotel, is that it sits next to the Brandywine State Park. There is a trail that leads from the parking lot into the park. We enjoyed an hour of hiking before retiring and it was so fresh and beautiful in the park. It would have been nice to have a map of the park trails, as many crisscross and we did get a tad bit lost but had fun finding our way back. We had asked the friendly front desk staff about the park and they had no idea a trail was right behind the hotel, so just go find it yourself 

I just wish the Courtyards would put safes in the rooms…not that this property is in a sketchy area, it is not. Safes in the rooms are just a feature that we appreciate in hotels.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the woods & open the windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business and will work on having maps of the park and look into having safes added to more rooms.

Again thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimes, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I travel to Wilmington for business on a regular basis. The location of this hotel is excellent. Close to many restaurants and mall. The recent remodel of the rooms were a great upgrade. Very friendly staff. I have stayed at this hotel for a week a month for the last year and have had no problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywind. We are glad you frequent our hotel and look forward to you coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Let's start with the bad and work forward. After a long day of driving I was very disappointed with the EXTREMELY SLOW check-in process. The gentleman helping my sister and I told us he was new...ok, I can work with that; however, the other gentleman who came to help him didn't seem to know what he was doing either! There was a lot of confusion with us and the other man checking-in at the same time we were. We booked on Priceline less than 30 minutes before arriving...luckily for them we gave up the king room they initially put us in because the other gentleman checking-in clearly had a confirmation emal for a king room and they were telling him there were no more available.

With that out of the way, I appreciated the professional dress of the employees and the ultra modern lobby. The colors were bright and vibrant. This Courtyard also has the nifty interactive screen where you can find weather, directions, etc. The system is even set up so that information you find can be sent to a printer in the lobby. The rooms are typical hotel rooms with comfortable beds and a spacious shower/toilet area with the sink located outside of this area. Luckily check-out was a much quicker process (although the young lady who checked us out was sitting and conversing in the lobby area until we walked up).

The room was not worth marriott.com's price. We received a much better rate through our Priceline bid. Overall a typical stay in a Courtyard by Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBrandywine, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your stay at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine. We apologize for the lengthy check-in. Our hope it is provide you with excellent customer service and we will certainly look into improving the process for our guests.

Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine

Address: 320 Rocky Run Parkway, Wilmington, DE 19803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Wilmington Brandywine Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Courtyard
Wilmington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.