We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   422 Delaware Avenue, Wilmington, DE 19801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Sheraton over the first July weekend. It was great check in and out was easy. Room 603 didn't have a great view but the hotel room is just like the picture. The only issue I have were the number of kids roaming around the hotel. One is one too many but that's not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. The pictures on the web site were just taken in April of this year so we could ensure that the newly renovated guest room items were posted. The hotel will be upgrading the guest rooms as both the guest room case goods and guest room bathrooms will be replaced/renovated in 2013 & 2014.
Thank you again for your comments and have an enjoyable summer!
Eric Jolikko
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    132
    64
    27
    27
See reviews for
75
62
32
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oak View
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Wilmington Sheraton suites recently--a quick overnight before catching an Amtrak train to NYC. When we called Lynn at the front desk for a cab following a very comfortable night in our suite, she discovered that all Wilmington cab drivers were on strike. She tried a number of options, but couldn't find us a ride to the train station. But when she checked with Eric, the hotel manager, he offered to drive us--and our several pieces of luggage--himself. Both he and Lynn were terrific--they offered us help when we really needed it, and it's this sort of service that creates loyal returning guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments, the staff and I truly appreciate them. The cab strike was only for that day but definitely inconvenient. I am glad that we were able to assist you and get you both to the train station before your scheduled departure time. I would do that again in a heart beat as customer service is a #1 priority at the Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown.
Thank you again and have a wonderful summer!
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We travel every year to this location in June.
The front deck manager and employees are the best.
Very nice suite, great sleeping bed and good food
The location of the hotel is in a great spot, not to far from
the train station or from Interstate 95
Highly recommend....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the great comments regarding the staff and the hotel. The staff and I truly appreciate them. We are excited that we, once again, have made your stay at the Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown a great one.
Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again next June!
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room was functional and relatively comfortable. However, there were clear signs of wear and tear on the furniture, specifically the desk and coffee table, with large chunks of wood missing. The WiFi connection in the room went down frequently. And the hotel restaurant (Basil) had the worst service I have ever seen. I left without receiving my order, because it shouldn't take 15 minutes to make a berry yogurt parfait, and I shouldn't be forced to pay for the entire breakfast buffet when a menu is offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I can tell you that the hotel just finished a room renovation that included new carpet, draperies, couch, chair and ottoman as well as the wallpaper in all the guest rooms. The bathroom renovation, as well as the replacement of some of the guestroom’s case good is scheduled for 2013 and 2014.Thank you again and hope that you have an enjoyable summer.
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Suites for a business trip and was not impressed. The location is perfect for business in downtown Wilmington but the property is in major need of an update. The rooms are all suites so very spacious but they are tired. Everything is dated and worn in. I will say the beds are comfortable and the room was very quiet but I won't plan to stay here again unless they make some major renovations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad to read that you encountered good service during visit as the staff strives to meet/exceed all guest expectations. Hopefully we see you again when you are in the Wilmington area in the future.
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a suite for the family on a Saturday night. Spacious including club lounge access...was quiet around that part of town so stayed local in hotel restaurant and bar. Service there was cheeky/humourous so appreciated and efficient. Not many local,places for breakfast so again you can eat on site or in club lounge. Surrounded by financial institutions, sure it's busy during week duet it's prime location.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the hotel. The hotel just completed replacing all of the guest room and guest hallway carpet, wallpaper and lights. In addition, the sofa, chair and ottoman as well as the drapes were all replaced in November/December of 2012. The hotel looks forward to making addition renovations to the guest rooms throughout 2013 and 2014. Thank you again for your comments. The staff and I hope that when you are in the area, you stay at the Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown
Have a great summer
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for business travelers located in downtown Wilmington. All of the employees were friendly and attentive including the front desk staff, the restaurant waiters and the housekeepers. The only issue that I had, a dirty, rusted iron, was promptly resolved.

The rooms are typical of a Sheraton Suites, spacious and comfortable. The climate control worked well. The internet speed was very good. I know that the hotel normally charges for internet service, but it was included in my corporate rate. Televisions were up to date with good signal strength and a decent number of channels.

So what prevents me from rating this hotel as excellent? It has the 2nd worse parking garage of any hotel that I've stayed in during the last 30 years. There's really nothing that they can do about it without drastically reducing the number of spaces that they have, but it is truly a terrible lot. It is located beneath the hotel, and the narrow spaces are made worse with numerous but necessary support columns. To make matters worse (and this is nothing that the hotel can control), the patrons often don't take the time to park their cars between the lines. This waists many of the few spaces that they have in the first place.

Would I recommend this hotel? Definitely, but I wouldn't park my personal nice vehicle in their garage. If you've got a beater that you don't mind being dented by your neighbor's door or you've got an insured rental car, go for it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJolikko, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the hotel. I am glad to read that you found the room “spacious and comfortable”. I am however disappointed that the housekeeper that took care of your room would leave an iron that had rust on it, in the room. I do apologize for the inconvenience but glad that it was quickly resolved.
While the hotel had no control over the size of its garage, I can tell you that many guests try to park in the first several floors when the lower 4 and 5 levels are typically empty and allow guests extra room. In addition, the garage is patrolled by the hotel staff as well as Wilmington’s Downtown Vision staff regularly throughout the day.
Thank you again for your comments. The staff and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Eric Jolikko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel

Address: 422 Delaware Avenue, Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Wilmington is in Brandywine Valley by Rodney Square, Grand Opera House, museums, and many corporate headquarters. Our all-suites hotel has 7 meeting rooms which hold up to 300 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Hotel Wilmington
Sheraton Wilmington
Wilmington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.