We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4727 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A nice place, clean and with a convenient location for the business traveler. This hotel meets all of the standards that a business person expects. It is comfortable, clean and friendly. Its location offers good shopping and a variety of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTGeneralManager4727, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the great review of the hotel!! Being so close to all the local restaurants, business, area attractions and of course the shopping is one of the hotels biggest assets along with the friendliest staff in the area! We look forward to your return!

Yours in Hospitality,

Brian Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    86
    46
    18
    7
See reviews for
75
45
12
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is my third trip to this hotel and it was by far the most problematic. The first room I checked into was flooded. They immediately moved me to another room around the corner. I didn't notice until the morning that the AC was stuck on 66, the refrigerator was unplugged (the dresser was too heavy for me to move), the light in shower leaked cold water and the toilet didn't flush. I let the management know before I left for the day. When I returned it appeared everything was repaired. I went out for a few hours and the heat was stuck on 92. They sent a repairman immediately but it took some time to cool off. Also, the toilet still didn't flush. They did leave a plunger for me to use and I did. The hotel staff sent some snacks and a coupon for the restaurant. I think this is a decent hotel. I just had some bad luck.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTGeneralManager4727, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry for the problems you experienced while you were our guest. Issues like this are a stark reminder that we cannot take short-cuts in areas and expect to maintain the high level of service you received during your previous stays. We hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you and make it right.

Thank you,

Brian Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice looking on the inside and outside. It's 5 stories with bar and restaurant inside. Easy check in. I was third in line but they brought out another desk clerk so the check in was prompt and friendly for all. Very clean in the lobby, hallways and in our room. The bathroom was quite large. It was quiet in the room and the beds were comfy. It's right next door to Concord Mall and right across the street from Kohl's and 5 restaurants (TGI Fridays and 4 others). Some one mentioned it's funky to get into and while that's true, it's very visible from the street. The funkiness is because it's right next to the Mall, if you miss the hotel entrance, you can't get in from the Mall. It's a matter of turning around on 202. It's not a problem. We stayed there because we were sightseeing in Philadelphia, which was about 28 miles away. Also easy on the weekend to get to/from the touristy area of Philly if you have a car. I'd stay there again especially if visiting Philly or Wilmington or Brandywine area.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTGeneralManager4727, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel! We could not have explained the features and benefits of our hotel any better than you did! The only thing you forgot is how wonderful our DoubleTree cookies are!

We look forward to your return!

Brian Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a night in this hotel while visiting the nearby Winterthur and Longwood Gardens. The check-in staff was polite and efficient. We appreciated the warm welcome cookies:) Our room was clean and nice. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the refrigerator in the room turned up very handy. When we called the front desk to replace the light bulb in the bathroom, the maintenance staff addressed it in a few minutes. We also appreciated the small, but good exercise room. The government rate we got was very reasonable for the quality of the room and the service.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTGeneralManager4727, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel! One of the best parts of our 5 million dollar reinvention was the new bedding package! The Sweet Dreams bed by Serta are one of the most comfortable beds out there and we are thrilled to feature them in our rooms.

Come see us again the nest time you are in the area!

Brian Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice, clean hotel. Close to shopping, food & college areas. Freshly upgraded facility. Rooms were clean but not very spacious. Staff was extremely friendly & helpful. Great breakfast. Bar service was great. We had a large crew & the bartender was spot on with service.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTGeneralManager4727, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Richard-
Thank you for the great review. Being one of the only full service hotels in this area has it benefits! Guests can come down to the lobby and experience our fantastic Palettes Restaurant and Lounge with wonderful dinner and bar specials. Who need to leave the hotel!

We hope you can be our guest again soon!

Brian Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we where part of a wedding party, and because of that we got a discount on the room. They accommodated us and party wonderfully. Room was nice. Shower was a little funky it took a while to get warm then couldn't get to go colder had to turn it off then back on. Morning breakfast was good nice buffet we had coupons otherwise I wo have thought it a little pricey. It was a good stay but I don't think I would stay there again just because of price. Otherwise great hotel.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTGeneralManager4727, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the review! We appreciate the feed back in regards to the great service as well as the issue with the hot water. And we are also glad you experienced our fantastic breakfast buffet! It is packed full of great items. Plus there is always our ala cart menu with cooked to order omelets for those who do not want the buffet!

We hope you can return again in the future!

Brian Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel while on a coach tour with Country Traveler Discoveries. There was considerable evidence of lack of communication among the hotel staff. We arrived at 5pm, well after the designated check in time. We were given keys to rooms. Several of the people on the coach were in the same corrider as my wife and I. Non of the keys worked. I needed to use the toilet, and so got the maid working there to let me in. The room had not even been serviced. All of us trekked back down to the desk. They activated the keys for the others and assigned us to a new room. It was ready, and was decent.

Because of the terms of the coach, our luggage was supposed to be taken to our rooms. We waited for two hours, and called the tour director. She contacted the desk to find out that our luggage had gone to the old room -- not much of a surprise, but one that should not have happened.

The next morning we were supposed to have the usual breakfast buffet. We overheard the tour director talking to someone at the desk the night before. She was told that the staff did not know about the expected and contracted service. In the morning we went to the room where the evening desk clerk had said that the breakfast would be served. After waiting for a time, we went back up to find out that it was being served in another room. This was the worst breakfast we had on the week long tour. Dry cereal, oatmeal, limited fruits & juices, and hard boiled eggs. No bacon, no sausage or any other meat. No scrambled eggs. Except for the oatmeal and the coffee, everything was a cold dish.

We have stayed at DoubleTree hotels in the past and have never been this disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTGeneralManager4727, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear R Dale S,

We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve with regards to your room assignment and breakfast. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity to make it right.

Thank you,

Brian Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington

Address: 4727 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington is centrally located near the Concord Mall and Interstate 95 in Brandywine Valley. Complimentary shuttle service is available to shops and restaurants within 3 miles of the property. Philadelphia International Airport is less than 17 miles away. Other features include complimentary WiFi, onsite dining, indoor heated pool, fitness center and our signature warm, delicious chocolate chip cookies. Event and meeting space for up to 300 guests can be accommodated at DoubleTree Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.