We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4727 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
New Castle, United States
1 review
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The price of the room was well within budget for New Years Eve. Unlike other hotes I've stayed in the staff here was excellent!! The room was in top notch condition, very cozy and clean. We ordered room service for breakfast and it arrived in a timely and effecient manner. The server was respectful of my wishes and made the expreience very pleasant. My husband and I would stay at the Doubletree again and again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    73
    40
    15
    7
See reviews for
62
41
10
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located for where I need to be for my work, however if I could choose this would not be my hotel of preference. It does what it needs to do, a place to sleep, but there is not anything else attractive.
The location is at the very busy Concord Pike, which has many shops and many fast food drive through restaurants. The advantage is there are some bigger shops close by.
The hotel itself looks outdated and needs a refresher. The reception staff is friendly. The lift is old and takes ages. Last time in November it was cold outside, but the air-conditioning in the halls to the rooms was blowing full blast freezing cold air. It was so cold that it made the rooms cold. Twice I reported this to reception, but nothing was changed.
The rooms are basic, but bordering depressive. It seems like nothing has been modernised here for ages. The colours are dark and lights are harsh. The bed is fine though.

The bar and restaurant have a prefab decor and again have the same unattractive feel as the rest of the hotel. I was not impressed by the breakfast - limited choice and lacks fresh items.

The lobby/lounge are a few chairs in the hall, not inviting and you would however not want to stay here for a long time, other than to wait for the shuttle.

Summarised I would class this hotel as a motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your business and the feedback that you provide, as it helps us create a better experience for all of our guests! We are thrilled to advise that this year we'll be undergoing a $5 million dollar reinvention of the hotel. This will include all areas including the lobby, guest rooms, restaurant, meeting space and we are currently improving all of the hotel elevators. We are confident that the next time you visit, you'll be blown away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is very nice. Clean and quiet. Large crowd at breakfast and the staff could not keep up with the food at the buffet or orders. They were working very hard, just not enough help for all the customers. I would recommend staying here again, but maybe trying to go to breakfast at an "off" time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your 4 star review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize that the restaurant was a bit busy during your stay, as it is difficult to anticipate a large crowd at times. We will certainly review staffing with our Restaraunt Manager to ensure that we are staffing appropriately, but look forward to welcoming you back in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel numerous times have talked to numerous so called higher ups ,Each time im told they are planning a menu change , Now take in mind ive been staying here at the least 8-10 years and im no expert on food but how do you have a menu especially in a bar setting and you offer a great burger and no French fries or onion rings ,or nothing,they could make more people happy with a wider menu

Room Tip: away from elevaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. This gives us the tools to make a better experience. Although we do not have standard french fries on our menu, we can subsitute waffle fries for our traditional delicious house chips. Try this option next time you are in town! I'll pass on your feedback to our chef as well.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kembs, France
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I was at that hotel for three days and everything was fine. As an HHonors Gold member I have been given a room at the 7th and last floor. The room was very clean and quite with all the necessary comfort. The personal was nice and the breakfast was as expected.
I would recommend the place if you have to stay in that area and it is right next door to the Concord Shopping Mall.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! Your loyalty is appreciated as a Gold Hhonors member! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, DE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the DoubleTree in Wilmington, DE and it was a wonderful choice! My husband travels to the Bahamas a couple of times a month, and stays at the best Atlantis property. This far exceeded Atlantis.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your 5 Star review! Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree Wilmington. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!!
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Friendly & helpful staff, comfortable room, quiet stay. Adjacent to a mall with lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Easy to find and fairly convenient to sights in the area. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin D, Social Media Champion at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We're happy that you had a delightful experience with us, and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington

Address: 4727 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington is centrally located near the Concord Mall and Interstate 95 in Brandywine Valley. Complimentary shuttle service is available to shops and restaurants within 3 miles of the property. Philadelphia International Airport is less than 17 miles away. Other features include complimentary WiFi, onsite dining, indoor heated pool, fitness center and our signature warm, delicious chocolate chip cookies. Event and meeting space for up to 300 guests can be accommodated at DoubleTree Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.