We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1102 West Street, Wilmington, DE 19801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase Savings
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“good Value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hi.
This is a very nice courtyard. Great location for any of the businesses in downtown wilmington. The lobby is small but they have a nice bistro with good breakfast selection at good prices. There is a small business center as well as fitness center. Not fabulous but does the trick for a quick workout. The staff was efficient and very nice. The room/king bed was comfortable, clean, and shower was great(good water pressure).

The price for hotel was very good and I would recommend this for anyone looking to stay in downtown wilmington.

Room Tip: I was on 4th floor and away from elevators and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
19
21
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our experience at this hotel was dramatically effected by the party going on late into the night in the room(s) next door. We stayed in the hotel on a Saturday night before getting the train the next morning. The location near the station was great and the room was typical for a Courtyard. Free parking in the downtown location was a plus. However, a VERY noisy party was underway through the wall. By 1:30 we made a series of calls to the front desk. After a couple of tries at stopping the noise, they offered to move us to a different room, something we were not in the mood to do at 2:30 am. Finally, about 4:00 am things calmed down and we could get back to sleep. In spite of the pluses with the location, I'm sure we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I am so sorry for the disturbance you experienced here at the Wilmington Downtown Courtyard on Saturday night. We do have a no party policy which states that we issue one warning and if we need to address the issue again, the noisy guests are asked to leave without compensation. I will be sure to follow-up with the overnight associates to ensure they continue enforcing this policy. I am so sorry for the disturbance again.

Sincerely,

Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel worked out great for our visit to Wilmington. Parking in the garage next door was perfect and not expensive with in and out privilege. Downtown is a great location as there is the Riverfront only 3 miles away and Brandywine park and the zoo only 3 miles in the other direction. We stayed two nights and left on Saturday. Downtown is nice to walk, but no one is there in the weekends. I think this was the best staff ever. Added breakfast, cooked to order for the two of us for only $10 each day. What a bargain. No cold cereal here! The Ale House restaurant is only 2 minute walk away and the beer is awesome and the food is fresh and good.

Room Tip: Ask for breakfast to be added. Only $10 for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your trip to Wilmington and found our location convenient. It is nice to hear that our associates took good care of you and we hope to see you again next time you are in Wilmington. We do serve a variety of cold cereals, so I am sorry you missed them, but ask us about them next time. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I just spent one night at the Courtyard on West Street. The hotel is located on a busy street and parking is basically pulling into a small space to unload luggage. Parking for the hotel is almost one block away.However, the hotel will pay for parking if you request.

The front desk was staffed by one young lady that seemed friendly and professional. I checked into the hotel and found the room to be small. I returned to the front desk and made some comment about the room and the lady asked if I wanted to change rooms. She put me in a second room that was not much bigger, but had a large shower. The front desk personnel suggest a restaurant and provided me with directions to a local liquor store that was open on Sunday. This hotel was designed to use every inch of the space. and in some cases making it almost too crowded. The bedding was okay, with two foam and two feather pillows,

The room was okay, nothing special. InterNet was offered free of charge. Since I am a Elite Premier Marriott member, I am accusomer to the front desk sshow more appreciation for me staying in a Marriott more than 150 times each year. In this case there was no real apprecation for my loyality to the Marriott brand. I have stayed in stayed in many Courtyards that provides more service. However, the hotel is located near downtown and within walking distance to several restaurants.

I think there is a full-service Marriott in Wimington and I would probably stay there than in the Courtyard next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Wilmington for one night while traveling for work.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean and met my needs. I felt very good about my rate of $119 until I heard my colleague got a room at a hotel across the street for $89. I'm not sure which price was the extreme deal or which better reflects market rate for the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would say nothing special here. Hotel was clean but not spotless. Mattress had a hole in it from a big tear. You can tell it has been updated but the building does show some age. Staff was very friendly. For the price I would stay again.

Room Tip: My room was on the 9th on a windy day and the windows made some howling noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed here for a week on two occasions and will be returning. The staff is friendly and helpful, and there is a security person on duty as well as the front desk staff. The rooms are clean and the beds are quite comfortable. The rooms are also quiet - I've never heard anyone in adjoining rooms. The building is convenient to all the downtown business buildings as well as the opera house and Market Street restaurants. Parking is a little awkward, but typical for center-city locations (and much less expensive than in large cities).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown

Address: 1102 West Street, Wilmington, DE 19801
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Courtyard
Wilmington Marriott
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.