We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Downtown Location for Business Trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1102 West Street, Wilmington, DE 19801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Pune, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Downtown Location for Business Trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here on Business for a week and I liked the central location except for the fact that downtown Wilmington gets deserted by 5.00 PM everyday. The opera house is just across the road. Taxis are easy to get. The breakfast spread is sumptuous but does get monotonous as the don't change the spread often as they should. Rooms are nice and they have a great pool. Parking is not free of charge and I don't like that.

Room Tip: Take the higher rooms so you get a better view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
19
21
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable and very quiet. There is a little Bistro off the lobby where you can have a sandwich and a beer of coffee. There is free parking in a separate building around the corner. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: There is a glass door to exit in the parking garage a little closer to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights while in Wilmington for work and I must say the hotel is quite sufficient for that purpose. The location is very good as it is right in the downtown area and walking distances to most major offices. The area gets shady if you walk too far out, but the immediate proximity is ok.

The hotel's lobby is very boutique-like and quite nice. It has a well decorated dining area and, while it doesn't have any fancy dinner dining, it actually has quite a healthy breakfast. I was very surprised by that! Try the Healthy Start sandwich at the lobby - they even have the calories published. It's delicious and really is healthy - everything about it. The overall breakfast selection is very good for the healthy-eaters.

The gym is small but ok - it's clean and neat. It has 3 cardio machines. I was there at 5.30am and didn't have a problem getting one, but if you come in shortly after 6am, you don't stand a chance, unless someone is leaving. It has a very small weights area and only one yoga mat, but is ok overall.

The room was a pleasant surprise in that it had a fridge and a microwave!! I was on to making my Teavana tea right away! No mini-bar, but who needs one given the fridge! I was on a high floor, so didn't hear any noise. Bed was ok. So was the bathroom.

The one thing I did not like was that there is a smoking area right outside the dining area and every time the door opens, a thick cloud of nasty smoke comes in right into the dining area. I couldn't sit on some of the otherwise very nice tables because of that. They really need to eliminate this smoking area.

Service was very nice - I asked for water to be brought to the room and I got it promptly. There is no room service for breakfast.

I'd stay again there if I am in town.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

First and foremost, the staff was awesome and accommodating. There is a cafe on site that serves Starbucks so that was also a plus. The hotel was clean.

Now for the not so good...The rooms are VERY small. If you are a business traveler, know that there is a not a phone on the desk. The building itself is very old and while there are clearly new fixtures, it still seems to be in need of a renovation. There is no sink space in the bathroom for your toiletries. There is absolutely NO view. The window to our room literally faced a brick wall. The hotel is bordered on 2 sides by a garage and the other 2 sides are buildings. Since the hotel is inside of a block there is no view of anything. The hotel clearly skimps on small amenities like trash can liners and a channel listing cards. Finally, you should know that the parking garage is around the block, so be prepared to drop your luggage at the door and then walk. The hotel was definitely overpriced and not what I am used to seeing with Courtyards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is right downtown, but there are limited options at night. Staff was friendly and responsive. There is a parking garage next door and you need to get a card from the front desk to get out without paying. There is a bus stop in front of the garage and I think this is what caused some of the concerns. I walked all over at night with no issues other than a few requests for handouts. There are several good restaurants within a couple of blocks.

Only complaint is there was a lot of truck noise early in the morning (backup alarms and banging).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a very good business hotel that is reasonably priced and right near all of the businesses in Wilmington. It had a workable gym and a good breakfast restaurant. The rooms were clean and pretty quiet. I would ask to be located differently in the hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I traveled to Wilmington to attend a concert at the Grand Opera House with some friends. I picked the Courtyard do to the location and price. Hotel was very nice. It seemed to have an updated lobby with a small shop for drinks and snacks. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Room was a nice size but overall pretty average. The only problem that occurred in the room was the heat. I could never find a good temperature. Either it was drafty by the window or very hot with the heat on. Parking wasn't great. A bit confusing to find and you need a key to get into the garage. Made it a little difficult after we checked out. Location was very business so restaurants within walking distance are few and far between. If I find myself in Wilmington again, I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown

Address: 1102 West Street, Wilmington, DE 19801
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Courtyard
Wilmington Marriott
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.