We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for different pillows. Little vanity space in bathroom.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1102 West Street, Wilmington, DE 19801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Wilmington
Daejeon, South Korea
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ask for different pillows. Little vanity space in bathroom.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As my coworker aptly put it, you could ball up the pillows in one fist, all five of them on the bed, so ask for a different firmness of pillow. I was disappointed that there was very little vanity space in the bathroom.

The desk and work area provided plenty of space and electrical outlets were easily found. Parking is provided in a public parking garage. I had difficulty getting a comfortable temperature in the room, there seemed to be no true auto that would turn on/off the heat.

I did like the infused water that was available to guests at all times, and the convenience of the business center that allowed you to print/fax/copy as needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
18
19
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in Wilmington to see a concert. Had a poor experience with the room and the neighborhood. I don't know Wilmington, but the location was sketchy at best. This was made worse by the fact that we had to park outside the hotel in a public parking garage. I did not feel safe. The room was old and dirty. Their idea of a renovation was new carpet and a new slab of marble in the bathroom. The curtains were dirty. The walls were dirty. The bed linens were okay, but worn. The bathroom was dirty. The walls were thin. We were disturbed by loud neighbors. I was very disappointed because I usually have good luck at Courtyard Marriott.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

So I booked through Priceline ....said "South Wilmington." We'll, if this is SOUTH Wilmington, then Philadelphia is in New York.

I arrived and was greeted by a young lady who seemed to care less whether I was there or not. I asked about parking and was told, go ahead and let's check in and then I'll take care of that question. Well, I checked in and then found out there was NO on site parking....only the public parking down the end of the block (of a one way street). She proceeds to hand me a parking pass ...saying "it's complimentary" and then told me to bring my stuff from the car before parking because it was a pretty good distance. That's an understatement.

The hotel is on a one way street. So to get to parking, you have to go to the end of the block, turn left...go down a block .... Turn left and the drive a block and a half to get to the lot (this during rush hour traffic). I ended up having to to the third floor of the lot and then walk back a block and a half to the hotel. Along the way, at about 430pm, I get stopped by two different panhandlers looking for money.

Once back at the hotel, I ask the guy who is now on duty about the safety of the area. "Oh, I think it's pretty good, we don't get much trouble down here."

I went to the room and was greeted by an older, style motel room. It was fairly warm in the room so I decided to cool it off .... The A/C was already set to 68! I started immediately noticing the people in the next rooms conversation as well....paper thin walls.

I began thinking of coming back here at 11pm ... In the dark, walking down the streets to the motel from the parking garage.

Even though I prepaid, I'm out of there. Never again....

Worse part is that Priceline could give a care...."sorry but not our problem."

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I thought the price was good. The room was very nice. Some might not like it since it had a view of the parking garage, but it was quiet - the hotel is on a side street. The breakfast bar offers decent food but in the morning it can get very slow. Although the website for the hotel indicated parking was extra, it was not - at least on the weekend when we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband came to town to visit family that we have between Wilmington and Philadelphia. We decided to stay in Wilmington due to the fact that it's cheaper and more relaxed versus staying in the big city. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with a wonderful and friendly gentlemen at the front desk, he had so much wonderful information for us and made us feel very comfortable from the door! Our room was perfect and spacious and was very clean and fresh smelling, they had a restuarant that was open for breakfast & dinner and it served its purpose well. Everyone that worked there were very friendly and even recommended on what to eat, as far as price goes it was good pricing due to the convenience of having an in house restuarant. Parking was very cheap and even though it's not directly connected to the hotel, it's still close enough to the hotel..besides... Parking in downtown hotels never have parking lots or connecting garages, so that was not a big deal. In conclusion everything was PERFECT at the Courtyard Wilmington downtown! Friendly people, awesome hotel, and great amenities! I will truly recommend it to everyone and will be back for sure! :-) THANKS MARRIOTT FOR AN AWESOME HOTEL!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stay away. Rooms have paper thin walls and some crazy idiot started screaming in the middle of the night. Parking was a hasle and the recommendation for dinner at the Ale house sucked. Overall, sorry I booked this hotel. Homeless people out front try to shake you down for money. Avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for just one night while we were passing through. The rooms were clean and the hotel staff was very friendly, but the rooms were very expensive. Most of the downtown Wilmington hotels seem to be that way as well - if you're looking for better value and are willing to say a little further away, New Castle likely has better deals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown

Address: 1102 West Street, Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Courtyard
Wilmington Marriott
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.