We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for NASCAR but that's it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn

BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1807 Concord Pike (Route 202), Wilmington, DE 19803-2901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location for NASCAR but that's it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have stayed in many high end and many low end hotels. This lacked the usual upgrades that you expect from a Best Western Plus. Cigarette packs laid on the floor for two days. We are non-smokers.
I found orange peels under the sheets. Was the room even cleaned prior to our arrival or during our stay? Breakfast was lack-lustre. Had it not been the location and free night voucher I would not have stayed here.
We are used to Motel style rooms and also high end Hotels, but this was very disappointing. The entire place needs an upgrade.
The trim on the bathroom lights sat on top of the towels.
Yes, the lady at checking was friendly, but most of the staff sat smoking at the stairwell every time we went by.
Th price was right (free voucher from so many nights we stay away) but that's the only Plus about this place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFoodie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place needs to be looked at by the health department. The odor knocks you over when you walk in the door. It's a musty moldy smell. The rooms smell equally as bad. The bathrooms are scary. A black mold on the ceiling, no water pressure, and yes urine on the walls. There is a half inch gap around the door to let in any four plus legged creatures. Carpets are terrible and remotes didn't work. Don't bother talking to anyone at the front desk because noone has any authority and refer everything to a manager that doesn't seem to exist. The pool closed at 8pm. I didn't have kids with me but I saw several sad faces with bathing suits on staring throuth the fence. I could go on, but you get the point. To top it off they even charged me for a night I cancelled! Noone could help me but the manager that was never found. Paid the bill and will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilmington hotels

Missouri City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in March and it was much better than we expected from driving through the area. The rooms were very clean and well kept. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and well stocked. We were pleasantly surprised and would recommend this to anyone staying in the area. It was also a close the local attractions which was nice too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was the best priced hotel I could find within 40 miles of a triathlon I was doing with my boyfriend. We're backpackers and always take the lowest rate we can find. The Best Western exceeded my expectations. Room was extremely clean and had everything we needed for our stay. I'm not sure why so many past travelers have has such bad stays, but the hotel is definitely changed drastically from the things I have read on here. You can tell that they are renovating. New AC, fridge, cable TV, microwave, and coffee maker in my room. It was small, but big enough for me, my boyfriend and our 2 bicycles. It's right next to the highway, but the heavy door made it quiet, and the staff offered to switch me to a room on the backside if I thought the noise would be a problem. They only put us on the front side to begin with so we could have a lower room. But honestly, when I sign up for a hotel with a low rate, I expect something a little cruddy, but this was spotless, had new fixtures, no dirt, new clean carpet. By the way, we watched a couple movies and slept 2 nights and were never bothered by the noise. We're not heavy sleepers, but not light ones either. Staff was amazing & helpful and breakfast offered many different items.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Traveling on business and booked the Best Western Brandywine. BIG MISTAKE. It's a motel. All rooms accessible from the outside. The room smells like corn chips or smelly feet. Take your pick. And it's under the stairs, so I hear everyone coming and going. Can't adjust the heating/cooling. Only choice is fan or no fan. Wireless wasn't working so I called the front desk. They referred me to 3rd party support... I shared my frustration with the service and the smell and they offered to send someone to spray. I declined. 10 min later I got a knock at my door. A large man in a plaid jacket (no uniform) was standing outside. He knocked a couple of times and I got nervous. I called the front desk and they put me on hold! When she came back to the phone (man was still knocking) I asked if she sent someone. She did. I told her the unidentified man frightened me. He did not identify himself and was not wearing a uniform. She did not apologize, just asked if I wanted the room sprayed. I declined again. God only knows what they spray with. Smelly. Scary. #fail. Don't stay here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryT687, Manager at BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Lisa J,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we used the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 302-543-6155.


Sincerely,

Mary J. Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#3 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Brandywine
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn

Address: 1807 Concord Pike (Route 202), Wilmington, DE 19803-2901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Brandywine Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brandywine Valley Hotel Wilmington
Best Western Wilmington
Wilmington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing