We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAYTHE HELL AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Inn

Save Saved
You added Fairview Inn to your Saves list
Fairview Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairview Inn
1051 South Market Street, Wilmington, DE 19801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Wilmington
Upstate
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“STAYTHE HELL AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Located in a TERRIBLE part of town & next to a shady strip club!!! When we got in our room it smelled horrible & we found MAGGOTS in the bathtub & mouse droppings on the bed! Aside from that there was a lot of suspicious activity going on including 3 police cars & 6 police officers searching rooms! Absolutely REFUSED to give us a refund therefore I gladly ate the $60 and stayed at a much nicer hotel!!!! STAY THE HELL AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    1
    10
See reviews for
2
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

...then this hotel is for you! I checked in early Saturday evening. The room had a run-down look with an unappetizing smell, but with no other options in the Wilmington area under 100 dollars a night I decided to make the best of it. Then I went to the bathroom. I turned on the light, and, much to my disgust, there was a mouse trying to climb out of the toilet. I immediately went to the check-in desk, told the gentleman there what I had just seen, and asked for another room. He grabbed some sort of net and offered to capture the mouse so I could stay in the room, but I told him he could capture the mouse after he found me another room. He did not understand why I didn't want to stay in the room after what I had just seen! When I insisted on a new room he first said there were none available, but when I pointed out that the parking lot was practically empty he changed his story and said there were only 2 available, but said I wouldn't like them. I asked why. He said, "your room is 'deluxe', these rooms are 'standard'". I said, "So 'deluxe' means it comes with a mouse, and 'standard' means it doesn't?" I do not think he replied. So he shows me the first room, but he really didn't let me into it and either didn't turn on the lights or couldn't. The second room had electricity but was terribly run-down and had what I believe were mouse traps behind the door. At that point I asked if he would refund my credit card, he said he would, so I packed up, got my credit card credited and left. As he was crediting my card I pressed him more on the mice issue and he admitted that this was not an isolated incident and blamed "children who feed the mice", rather than management trying to prevent the mice from getting into the rooms in the first place! (BTW, this property is next to a "Gentlemen's Club", and I believe I saw a young woman in a little black dress being led into a room with a guy she didn't seem to know very well. I wonder if this hotel has hourly rates?) Bottom line....this is a decrepit, seedy excuse for a hotel. This property should be comdemned!

Room Tip: The best way to get a good room is to go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you're a dirty old man, or an escaped convict looking for somewhere to take a prostitute, then this is the ideal spot for you. Oh dear dear me. This is a definite NO NO ( unless you are indeed one of the 2 aforementioned ). I didn't spot the signs as I checked in, but there are literally signs erected around the car-park that say things similar to " NO LOITERING" ... " NO PROSTITUTES "..."NO SEX IN THE CAR PARK"...and that sort of thing. Hardly family friendly. Yes it was cheap. Yes it was filthy. Yes it felt unsafe. I ventured into Wilmington to break up my stay. The area was so rough, I came back to this horrid place, ordered a pizza to be delivered, locked the door & stayed in. I secured a chair was behind the door. Do yourself a massive favour - find somewhere else. This seedy hovel is to be avoided at all costs, and I'm in no way a snob.

Room Tip: The only room that would be of any value, would be far far away......
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Thank god we only stayed here one night the gold club was next store to the hotel their hours were 4p-4a could not sleep do to the music playing so dam loud and it was just not a safe place I will never go back I think that I would sleep in my car before staying here again And the picture that they show you for this place boy is it wrong ( stay a way from this place )

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

No non-smoking room; unfriendly staff; bad smell in the room.
Charge $100 for double bed, definitely stay away!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

Traveled all my life. Worst place I have ever stayed. GROSS. Found bed bugs

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Bring a black light to know where to walk and lay your head.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Inn

Address: 1051 South Market Street, Wilmington, DE 19801
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fairview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.