We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Savoy Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harry's Savoy Grill
2020 Naamans Rd, Wilmington, DE 19810-2655
302-475-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry's Savoy Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 460 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Foulk Road
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My family has been celebrating birthdays and anniversaries and we even had our daughter's engangement party there. The prime rib is great and my family loves different types of seafood and they have plenty to choose from. The waiters and waitresses are really up to what Harry's Offer. So stop in sometime and try it out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    48
    23
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bye, bye Harry's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have been a long time, occasional patron of this restaurant. The food had been good, the service as well, and the prices high, really too high for the North Wilmington area. My experience last night has put an end to any further business with Harry's.

A friend and I arrived for a "special occasion" dinner. We were seated quickly in the main dining room very over-crowded with tables. Being lead to our table, I felt like one of the herd of people Harry's had booked for the evening. The noise level was high. The waitress was slow to arrive, squeezing herself between tables, and she and other wait-staff bumped into my chair trying to get through. We had to shout our orders (and shout our conversation to each other), asking for wine for both to arrive with dinner. Both our meals were very salty, and I sent the petite filet back because with the first bite, the only flavor I tasted was salt. Our wine had not yet arrived, I had to ask for it and only one glass arrived. Oops. My friend had finished his meal when mine finally arrived. It was more rare than the medium I requested and it was tough. We had to wait a long time for our check to arrive, and for the waitress to finally pick it up. I begrudged leaving her a 15% tip which I did not feel she deserved.

My suggestion to Harry's is that it remove some of the tables so as to decrease the noise, increase the quality of the service and provide an overall better dining experience. That would of course cost them money, so it will not happen.

So, bye, bye Harry's. In the future, I will spend my hard-earned money elsewhere on a meal that I can enjoy quietly, in a restaurant that does not over-price small portions of fancy-plated food that is inedible, that has better customer service and cares more about the patrons than the cash it is raking in. I suggest you do the same.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OK NOT GREAT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The place was packed The food was ok but nothing to come back to Thr prices were very high More than it should have been. The place has a great reputation so we were very disappointed The service was also so so.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Run away from this brunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went back to Harry's for brunch and were very disapointed. While the service was good, the food was horrible. The brunch choices were more limited and not well prepared. The pancakes were dry and the syrup tasted of nothing. The biscuit dishes used left-over meat scraps that were over cooked and tough. The gravy was nothing more than flour and water.
We will not be back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Very Special Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently held a special luncheon at Harry's. The attention to detail, the assistance with the menu, and room selection was all done with great care and professionalism. The food was delicious and the venue perfect in every way.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Savoy Grill also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Savoy Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Savoy Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.