We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sullivan's Steakhouse

Sullivan's Steakhouse
5525 Concord Pike, Wilmington, DE 19803-1429
302-479-7970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sullivan's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 484 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Route 202 and Naamans Road
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful evening here. A little pricey but worth it for a special occasion. I had the fish special that was delicious . Others had the steak and said it was good but seasoning was a little overwhelming .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    31
    20
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“go hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a favorite. Everything is good and they serve a lot of it. It's on the pricey side, but they deliver on the food and service to justify this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent but way overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been to Sullivan's a few times, but will only go when we have a gift certificate. You can get similar food at other restaurants for much less. We went with our son this past weekend and he had some blueberry cocktail that he enjoyed, but the $12 cost was hard to swallow. I Had the filet medallians which tasted fine but was wafer thin and came with 2 shrimp and a wedge of salad for $34 (at least $10 more than it should have been). My wife's filet was butterflied and burnt. The service is very attentive and polite, but overall the restaurant is not worth the cost.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went a little early and had a drink in the bar area with friends. After ordering a second drink, the hostess came and let us know our table was ready. So I was looking for our waitress and the manager happened to be walking by. He detected that I was looking for someone and asked what he could do. He promptly told me to go ahead and sit and he would bring my cocktail to the table and close out our tab. The rest was taken care of at our table. I think the manager's name is Bill. Very nice touch!
Anyway, the four of us all enjoyed our steaks and the attentive and friendly service of Nadia. She certainly made a very good meal great with her friendly but professional disposition. Steaks were all cooked exactly as described. Sides of mashed potatoes, brussel sprouts and the skillet mushroom caps were all very good. The mushroom caps are the best I've ever had in any steak house. Key Lime pie and Coconut custard pies were enjoyed at the end of the meal as well. One of the better Key lime pies in the Delaware Valley for those who enjoy it.
This is not an inexpensive place, but with the level of service we experienced last night and the quality of the food, it is justified in my opinion and yet still isn't as expensive as some of the other steak houses suchas Flemings, Ruth's Chris, and Capital Grill where I felt the food and service was not quite as good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our 1 year anniversary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went for our 1 year wedding anniversary dinner and we were seriously under-whelmed. Steaks were overpriced and not well presented. If you are not buying a $10 side, your meal is literally a steak on a plate. The shrimp and lobster bisque was tasty and the bread was hot and fresh. The tableside baked potato left much to be desired. The salad wedge was the house blue cheese was decent as was the wine. Hubby would have said the dressing was the best thing he tasted for the price. My thoughts are that I could have ordered a steak from Buguboo that was just as good and half the price. We will not be going back!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sullivan's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sullivan's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sullivan's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.