We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience Of My Life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Wilmington Downtown to your Saves list
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Hotel Experience Of My Life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recently spent a night at this hotel and it was a miserable experience from check-in to check-out. After refusing to accept the credit card we used to book the room, we were turned away. I was there for a high school reunion so, thankfully, a friend offered to pay for the room. I really wish she hadn't because the room was a nightmare. There were tiny black specks on both beds that looked like dead bugs, there was no free wifi and the temperature of the room was about 60 degrees F with no way of adjusting it. After one sleepless night, we left. Our parking wasn't validated even though there are signs everywhere stating they will validate parking for "all overnight guests". Fine, I was willing to pay the ten bucks just so I didn't have to spend another minute in that place. Imagine my surprise when the parking garage attendant told me he didn't accept cash. We weren't allowed to leave the parking deck until we signed a statement agreeing to pay them $10 when they bill us next week.

I will never stay at another Doubletree/Hilton hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Save yourself the headache and book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    165
    89
    44
    17
See reviews for
86
80
43
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We had our rooms paid for by a company that hired us for an event. I've always had pleasant stays every time I've stayed at one through a company or on my own. I love their chocolate chip cookies. Hotel rooms came with a small refrigerator which is always needed and the one we had you can tell was clean as soon as you open it. The only issue I noticed was the toilet bottom was a little dirty and the inside of the toilet could have been cleaned a little better. I know it's technically like a public toilet but a hotel is supposed to make you feel like you are home away from home. Other than that the rest of the bathroom and hotel room were clean. Oh we paid $10 for parking in the hotel parking lot just so you are aware of another fee you have to pay for. Plan ahead of bringing outside food before you park if you plan to come back to your hotel after 11pm because the only place you can order from & get delivered is Domino's pizza.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shokan, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had traveled for a while and finally got to the hotel. We arrived at 10:30pm. The desk receptionist was pleasant. We had a very large room and had no problem setting up the pack and play for my grandson They must have updated a few things because our room had fresh paint in it. and the bathroom was very clean and new looking. The only thing I saw wrong was the toilet bowl had to be tightened down it wobbled when you sat on it. Parking was good because the handicapped parking is right in front but, if you aren't handicapped be prepared to walk a distance to get to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room as I stated before was large and had plenty of room to move around without banging into som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Was forced to stay here while on business at one of the local banks in town in Wilmington. I arrived around midnight and parked at the hotel and knew I was in for some trouble when I had to buzz in and talk to the hotel staff just to get buzzed in and unlock the doors for me. (If you don't know Wilmington isn't the nicest of places).

Although the front staff employee said they were not booked up I was not awarded with any sort of upgrade (Diamond Member) and was not treated the friendliest. My room had a weird old smell to it and was sort of run down.

It seems like the whole city shuts down around like 6 PM once all of the workers leave and there aren't that many options to eat around the hotel. If you have to travel to Wilmington for business (God Bless you) I recommend staying a couple of miles outside the city at the Hilton Christiana. Well worth the 15 minute drive into the city and not having to worry about getting mugged while walking to your car!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

As with other reviews, I found this hotel ok for a one night stay. Stayed on a Friday night and it was very quiet. The room was good sized with an odd purplish color scheme. It seemed clean and adequate for a night. Parking was a bit tricky to find underneath the hotel and my son & I went to a Wilmington Blue Rocks game and when we came back, the entrance I went in during the day (I mistakenly went in the parking garage entry, not the hotel entry) was gated but we eventually found it ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Got this hotel from hotwire.com at a good price. It was a busy weekend for the hotels in the area and they didn't have rooms with double beds, only one king size bed available. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. However, when asked for a crib for my 1-year old, they didn't have one but only had a playpen that had a little weird smell with it. Also our room was one of the few rooms that has a door connecting to the next room, so I could hear (vaguely) what's going on in the other room. Street parking was easy to find but had to move the car early in the morning to avoid parking tickets, which was no problem for us since we wake up early anyway (have a one-year old with us). Overall a fine place to sleep which is all we asked for on this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have a door connecting to the next room if you don't want to hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I won this place on Priceline for $55, but that was pretty much what it was worth. I had never been to Wilmington before and did not know what to expect...but I am a lover of cities and downtowns, so I was glad to get a place in "the heart of the city." Unfortunately, Wilmington seems to be struggling to crawl out of the dog days of the 1970s. It is rough and tumble...and did not really feel safe at night. The hotel itself dates from the nadir of American architecture, and Hilton is attempting to update the place. That this needed work was going on during my stay did not improve the atmosphere, however. Some super foul smelling chemicals were being used to replace or repair carpeting and wallpaper in the lobby when I was there, and the smell permeated the entire hotel, even on the room floors. I did have a renovated room, which was fine in the current style - though I am sure this will be shortly outdated as well. The A/C struggled to keep up with the heat and humidity...but I was more bothered by the inability to open the windows...especially given the toxicity of the indoor air in the place. It might be tolerable for a night once the renovations are complete, and by all means, please support downtown Wilmington. It needs your help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
5.2 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#2 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
1.1 mi away
The Westin Wilmington
The Westin Wilmington
#5 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#3 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Wilmington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

Address: 700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Wilmington Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton dowtown is easily assessable to all major corporations in downtown Wilmington Delaware and provides complimentary shuttle transportation to and from business offices as well as dining and area attractions. Only footsteps from Amtrak train station and 20 minutes south of PHL Airport. In addition, the hotel is just minutes to the Riverfront where dining and attractions abound. The Chase Center is less than two miles from the hotel. Located next to the Federal and State courthouses, the hotel also features two fully operable Litigation Centers in addition to one of Delaware's largest Grand Ballrooms. Ample parking is available (fee) and is connected to the property. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Guestrooms feature an oversized work desk and ergonomic chair, refrigerator, complimentary WiFi and bottled water and an in room hot beverage center. Other hotel facilities include complimentary Business Center, Fitness Center and a indoor heated saline pool. Metro Cafe and Lounge located within the hotel offers a full dining menu for all meals and a great gathering place for beverages and snacks in the evening. Dedicated Hilton Honors guest room levels and an exclusive Concierge Lounge available for all day beverages and snacks can also be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree Wilmington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.