We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience Of My Life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Wilmington Downtown to your Saves list
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $25 on Food & Drinks
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Hotel Experience Of My Life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recently spent a night at this hotel and it was a miserable experience from check-in to check-out. After refusing to accept the credit card we used to book the room, we were turned away. I was there for a high school reunion so, thankfully, a friend offered to pay for the room. I really wish she hadn't because the room was a nightmare. There were tiny black specks on both beds that looked like dead bugs, there was no free wifi and the temperature of the room was about 60 degrees F with no way of adjusting it. After one sleepless night, we left. Our parking wasn't validated even though there are signs everywhere stating they will validate parking for "all overnight guests". Fine, I was willing to pay the ten bucks just so I didn't have to spend another minute in that place. Imagine my surprise when the parking garage attendant told me he didn't accept cash. We weren't allowed to leave the parking deck until we signed a statement agreeing to pay them $10 when they bill us next week.

I will never stay at another Doubletree/Hilton hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Save yourself the headache and book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    146
    77
    35
    13
See reviews for
76
71
37
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had our rooms paid for by a company that hired us for an event. I've always had pleasant stays every time I've stayed at one through a company or on my own. I love their chocolate chip cookies. Hotel rooms came with a small refrigerator which is always needed and the one we had you can tell was clean as soon as you open it. The only issue I noticed was the toilet bottom was a little dirty and the inside of the toilet could have been cleaned a little better. I know it's technically like a public toilet but a hotel is supposed to make you feel like you are home away from home. Other than that the rest of the bathroom and hotel room were clean. Oh we paid $10 for parking in the hotel parking lot just so you are aware of another fee you have to pay for. Plan ahead of bringing outside food before you park if you plan to come back to your hotel after 11pm because the only place you can order from & get delivered is Domino's pizza.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shokan, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had traveled for a while and finally got to the hotel. We arrived at 10:30pm. The desk receptionist was pleasant. We had a very large room and had no problem setting up the pack and play for my grandson They must have updated a few things because our room had fresh paint in it. and the bathroom was very clean and new looking. The only thing I saw wrong was the toilet bowl had to be tightened down it wobbled when you sat on it. Parking was good because the handicapped parking is right in front but, if you aren't handicapped be prepared to walk a distance to get to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room as I stated before was large and had plenty of room to move around without banging into som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Was forced to stay here while on business at one of the local banks in town in Wilmington. I arrived around midnight and parked at the hotel and knew I was in for some trouble when I had to buzz in and talk to the hotel staff just to get buzzed in and unlock the doors for me. (If you don't know Wilmington isn't the nicest of places).

Although the front staff employee said they were not booked up I was not awarded with any sort of upgrade (Diamond Member) and was not treated the friendliest. My room had a weird old smell to it and was sort of run down.

It seems like the whole city shuts down around like 6 PM once all of the workers leave and there aren't that many options to eat around the hotel. If you have to travel to Wilmington for business (God Bless you) I recommend staying a couple of miles outside the city at the Hilton Christiana. Well worth the 15 minute drive into the city and not having to worry about getting mugged while walking to your car!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

As with other reviews, I found this hotel ok for a one night stay. Stayed on a Friday night and it was very quiet. The room was good sized with an odd purplish color scheme. It seemed clean and adequate for a night. Parking was a bit tricky to find underneath the hotel and my son & I went to a Wilmington Blue Rocks game and when we came back, the entrance I went in during the day (I mistakenly went in the parking garage entry, not the hotel entry) was gated but we eventually found it ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Got this hotel from hotwire.com at a good price. It was a busy weekend for the hotels in the area and they didn't have rooms with double beds, only one king size bed available. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. However, when asked for a crib for my 1-year old, they didn't have one but only had a playpen that had a little weird smell with it. Also our room was one of the few rooms that has a door connecting to the next room, so I could hear (vaguely) what's going on in the other room. Street parking was easy to find but had to move the car early in the morning to avoid parking tickets, which was no problem for us since we wake up early anyway (have a one-year old with us). Overall a fine place to sleep which is all we asked for on this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have a door connecting to the next room if you don't want to hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I won this place on Priceline for $55, but that was pretty much what it was worth. I had never been to Wilmington before and did not know what to expect...but I am a lover of cities and downtowns, so I was glad to get a place in "the heart of the city." Unfortunately, Wilmington seems to be struggling to crawl out of the dog days of the 1970s. It is rough and tumble...and did not really feel safe at night. The hotel itself dates from the nadir of American architecture, and Hilton is attempting to update the place. That this needed work was going on during my stay did not improve the atmosphere, however. Some super foul smelling chemicals were being used to replace or repair carpeting and wallpaper in the lobby when I was there, and the smell permeated the entire hotel, even on the room floors. I did have a renovated room, which was fine in the current style - though I am sure this will be shortly outdated as well. The A/C struggled to keep up with the heat and humidity...but I was more bothered by the inability to open the windows...especially given the toxicity of the indoor air in the place. It might be tolerable for a night once the renovations are complete, and by all means, please support downtown Wilmington. It needs your help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Wilmington Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Wilmington Downtown

Address: 700 N. King Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 (Formerly Spencer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Wilmington Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Wilmington Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Wilmington Downtown Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Wilmington Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.