We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of hands-on learning opportunities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russell W. Peterson Wildlife Refuge

Russell W. Peterson Wildlife Refuge
1400 Delmarva Lane, Wilmington, DE
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Attractions in Wilmington
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lots of hands-on learning opportunities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have enjoyed canoe trips through the marsh as well as nature hikes through the marsh. They have organized excellent school field trips.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oasis in Wilmington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Thanks to the tireless efforts of the late Russell Peterson, former governor of Delaware, birder and naturalist, we have this beautiful wildlife refuge just minutes from I-95 and downtown Wilmington. If you visit the refuge, make sure to also visit the Dupont Experimental Station, where there are nature exhibits, classes, and great views of the natural habitats or birds, fish, reptiles and mammals native to our state!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxation and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A nice walk, good view. The facility was closed but we were able to walk out on the decking and enjoyed the view.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful landscaping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is an ambitious project, and hopefully will be very successful . It is beautifully landscaped and encourages one to observe nature from many places. While we observed birds and even some water animals, there was not alot to view on our visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Highlights: Electronic exhibits great for historical facts.
Great place to walk especially on the boardwalk.
Fabulous view of Wilmington from the 4th floor.
Knowledgeable staff.
Nicely designed Gardens and walkways.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell W. Peterson Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Russell W. Peterson Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell W. Peterson Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.