We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilmington's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christina Riverboat Company

Christina Riverboat Company
South Madison Street, Dravo Plaza on the Riverfront, Wilmington, DE 19801
302.530.5069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 26 Activities in Wilmington
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Smyrna, Delaware
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wilmington's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a family four fun pack and had been putting off using it. We were so wrong!!! Captian Lionel Hynson was absolutely the best. I am a August birthday and he serenaded me with happy birthday singing during the cruise. He is also a verbal library of the history of Wilmington and Delaware and not to mention Maryland as well! Both of my twins got turns behind the wheel navigating the taxi. This event is a MUST for everyone, I am going to recommend this to my children's school for the next spring season. I have lived in Delaware since I was 8 and the history that I learned in the 45 minutes on the river taxi I NEVER knew!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Made Our Day!! You MUST check this out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Captain Hynson's boating lessons, historical narratives and hysterical interactions with the passengers would make this a great value, even if the boat never left dock!

My kids (ages 11 and 13) each got turns at the wheel (with the Captain close by enough to easily keep us out of trouble). The great time we had on this reasonably priced little tour made everyone's day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We went on the wine wednesday boat ride and it was so much fun. Several friends went along. We went at least 2 times and would love to go every Wednesday if that were possible, but the boat driver was funny, he sang and he made the experience even more fun. I would recommend it to anyone, especially if you enjoy wine tasting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wine Cruise?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Got a groupon for a wine cruise on the riverboat last summer. What was initially a bit uncomfortable (dozen strangers pack on a boat), turned out to be a great evening!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

a completely enjoyable trip with the grandkids. the captain let my grandson(age 7) and granddaughter(age 5) both take a turn at the wheel. reasonably priced for a 90 minute trip

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christina Riverboat Company also viewed

 

Been to Christina Riverboat Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christina Riverboat Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.