We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Delaware” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capers & Lemons

Capers & Lemons
301 Little Falls Drive, Wilmington, DE 19808
(302) 256-0524
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 484 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for Delaware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice and festive atmosphere. We celebrated a friends birthday there. i wanted a light diner so i ordered a tuna dish which was delicious especially with the house wine. Service was a little slow and was very difficult to find the restaurant ( had to get directions from the host over the phone). I thought it was a little pricey for the quality .

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    33
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had reservations because on a Sat. night we figured it might be crowded. Boy was it. Portions was big enough to feed three people. I had Romagnola-chicken with garganelli pasta with cream sauce. My husband had Cloppino-which was loaded with mussels, clams,shrimp,calamari and linguine. Wonderful and price was good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor,PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had lunch on a Sunday with friends. It was our first visit, but it won't be our last. The gnocchi and veal picatta was excellent. There is a small market with Italian specialties. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Recommended by local merchants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spending the day with my sisters at Winterthur in Delaware, we were ready for dinner and needed options. Since we were unfamiliar with the area, we asked a local merchant for a restaurant recommendation. They gave us directions and sent us on our way to Capers and Lemons. The Italian Restaurant is located on the outskirts of an industrial park in Wilmington, Delaware.
First impressions of the restaurant were ok; the hostess seemed to be more concerned with her co-workers than with the group standing before her. The restaurant quickly recovered with a waiter who had personality; his recommendation of wine, humor, and attentiveness allowed us to forget about the hostess. Our experience continued to go from a 3 to a 9.
While you wait for your dinner to be served, they start your evening off with fresh bread and the house flavored oil for dipping (dipping oil is sold at their at site market shop). Seared Ahi Tuna with potatoes, are two of my sisters favorite dishes, next to chocolate. The potatoes were creamy and full of flavor, while the tuna had a beautiful sear.
Veal Saltimbocca with garlic mashed potatoes satisfied my other sister’s appetite. If veal is cooked incorrectly it can become tough, not here, it was tender. One of my new favorites is a Bolognese, Capers and Lemons did not disappoint. The sausage in the meat sauce added nice flavors to this dish, topped with fresh parmesan cheese.
The unfortunate thing for us, this restaurant is too far to go for a Friday night dinner. It was a great way to end our day together.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our realtors office treated us well...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food was huge in portions, the sandwich my hubby had was enormous. Great food polite service and very quick

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capers & Lemons also viewed

 

Been to Capers & Lemons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capers & Lemons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.