We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world style, but not quite top notch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Pont

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Pont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Pont
11th & Market Streets, Wilmington, DE 19801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Wilmington
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Old world style, but not quite top notch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is about a fairly easy 30min drive from PHL airport and is located on one of the main roads into Wilmington, so is easy to find. Valet parking is on offer, but the cars are located a few blocks away so you’ll need to give about 20mins notice if you want to pick it up. This can also lead to a shortage of attendants during busy pickup/dropoff times.

Walking into the lobby for the first time you are struck by the old world grandeur, especially the ornate ceiling, and first impressions are good. Check-in was very efficient with the key card being handed over within a couple of minutes and directions to the elevators given. These require the key card to be inserted if you want to access the guest floors from the lobby. If you have lot of luggage you’re probably better off waiting for one of the two larger elevators to arrive rather than the smaller one which gets very cosey with only 4 people in it.

Rooms were large and very comfortable, and the bed one of the most comfortable I’ve come across. Oddly, the clock-radio they had in the room was unplugged when I checked in, but was plugged in during one of the services, but the time not set. The rooms overlooking the interior of the quad are very quiet with only the occasional sound of an air-con unit to disturb you. Rooms overlooking the road are slightly more noisy, but outside of rush hour, there isn’t a huge amount of traffic noise. Unlike most hotels in the US, the bathroom had not only a decent sized shower, but also a full size bath so it’s possible to have a good old soak (or partake in one of the items on the bath menu they offer). The only bugbear was the length of time it took the hot water to come through, so if you fancy a hot bath/shower, run the taps for 5mins before you get in.

As others have commented, there is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and they’ll charge you for the supply of a kettle. The turn down service does leave a complimentary small bottle of water for you, but if you want another then you have to resort to the typically overprices minibar. Alternatively, pop up to the gym and grab one of the bottles they have on offer there and bring it back to your room.

Internet access was included in the room rate, but WiFi was painfully slow and almost unusable. There was a cable provided to the network point in the wall which improved things but only marginally. It might do for the occasional of emails, but couldn’t sustain a vpn for any period of time.

For breakfast you have a few choices. There is the main, more formal, eating area on the lobby level where you get plush surrounding and a nice choice of food options, or you can go downstairs to, the more informal, The Grill. This feels more like a soup kitchen than the ‘chic’ dining experience mentioned in their website, and is at great odds to the rest of the hotel. The food is edible, but basic, and the staff serves you like robots. If you don’t fancy what’s on offer, then go elsewhere as they have no interest in substituting menu items even though you can see the thinks right in front of you. Having said that, it’s cheap – I can’t think of many hotels where you could get a cooked breakfast for less than $10. If you just want a light start to the day, go to the nearby coffee shop – the coffee and pastries are infinitely better. Dinner in the main restaurant is nice, but expensive, and there are a handful of restaurant in the surrounding area that serve good food – they staff are happy to recommend them and give directions or make reservations – but see comment in a couple of paragraphs if you’re tempted to walk to any of them.

The Green Room bar, located just off the lobby, is small and staffed by probably the most miserably barman they could find. On several occasions during the stay he’d close down the bar despite there being 10+ people in there all still displaying a willingness to spend money on more drinks. But no, there was no interest is lining the hotels coffers as it ‘was more than my jobs worth’. If you fancy a drink when they’ve kicked you out, head down to the Chelsea Tavern and sample the impressive range of beers they have on offer (the food’s not bad too!).

Within a couple of blocks of the hotel you should be fine wandering around, but if you want to venture further afield then you may want to take the hotel up on their offer of supplying chaperones to make sure nothing untoward happens to you – first time I’ve seen a hotel offering bodyguards for guests! I’m sure that in the mists of time the surrounding area would have been quite nice, but clearly it’s gone downhill in more recent history and it’s a shame the hotel now finds itself in a not-so-genteel neighbourhood.

Overall, the hotel is nice, the rooms comfortable, and the staff (with the exception of the barman) are friendly, but it’s lacking the facilities and touches of other historic hotels. You can see why any dignitaries visiting Wilmington would stay here (the King & Queen of Sweden where here during my stay) as it does have that luxury feel about it, but its missing that special ‘something’.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    54
    20
    19
    12
See reviews for
33
85
11
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel has been completely remodeled and updated but retains the "old elegance" that is du Pont. The guest rooms(suites) are elegant and so comfortable , you may not want to leave. Food and drink quality and service are definitely top drawer. All the staff so friendly, you'd think you were a guest in someone's home. Not inexpensive, so bring your credit cards!

Room Tip: I don't know there was anything but good rooms. Even the street side is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimes, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel and rooms are definitely five star. food and service is excellent. Self parking is a bit of a negative but manageable. Coffee shop staff was very friendly and had a great selection if looking for a quick grab and go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel du pont for several days leading up to our wedding (in the Gold Ballroom). The service was top notch and every member of the staff that we dealt with did an excellent job. The food is amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed breakfast delivery to the room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is very fancy, staff is very accommodating, and room was luxurious. I've stayed here a couple times, last stay being April 2012, not May as it says, and the only complaint that I have is the parking. It's annoying that you need to wait for valet to drive your car over, and the garage must be several blocks away from when I've seen them drive my car to the front of the hotel. You need to call around 20 minutes in advance for your car, which is inconvenient if you're on business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel retains a wonderful sense of old world charm without seeming stuffy. At the same time, modern amenities such as free Wi-Fi are readily available. The rooms are large, the staff friendly and the location is convenient. Overall, this is an excellent hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a nice, classy old hotel from an era of bygone elegance.

The rooms are a little dated, but on the surface they appear to have maintained it well.

The restaurant was good, the bar was nice, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the price was reasonable and the staff was friendly.

All in all a nice stay, with one caveat (and it's a BIG "but)...

There were three of us in our group, travelling for business. Two of us have seasonal allergies.

Both of us were miserable the entire time we were in the hotel. I suspect they have a MOLD problem somewhere in the hotel that is circulating within their HVAC system. We both (unrelated adult males in our 40s who rarely complain; see my other reviews) had a immediate and continuous allergy attack while in the hotel (2 straight days) that began to subside only after we left for the airport.

This wasn't a coincidence. I have relatively mild seasonal allergies. Nothing major; taking Allegra solves it. And our stay in the hotel was in early April - my seasonal allergies haven't even kicked in yet, and it's still cold in Wilmington and none of the trees/pollen that would effect allergies are out yet.

It was the hotel. I'm 99% certain.

If you don't have allergies, it's a lovely hotel. If you do, take some extra Zyrtek or Allegra with you.

Given that the hotel is owned by DuPont Corporation, it's an absolute discrace that this company of their science cannot locate and resolve a mold problem...

Room Tip: Suggest that they fix their allergen problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_duPont_DE, General Manager at Hotel du Pont, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention to enable us the opportunity to respond.

The Hotel du Pont follows the OSHA, EPA and NIOSH guidelines and recommendations for maintaining good Indoor Air Quality in our property. As a matter of DuPont policy, we have a preventative maintenance program in place with all of our systems to help prevent and minimize Indoor Air Quality problems.

Thank you again and we hope we have the opportunity to serve you many times in the future.

Hotel du Pont General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pont

Address: 11th & Market Streets, Wilmington, DE 19801
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel du Pont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pont Hotel
Du Pont Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Pont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.