We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Wilmington for litigation support” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Pont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel du Pont to your Saves list
Hotel du Pont
11th & Market Streets, Wilmington, DE 19801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Wilmington for litigation support”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My recent 3-week stay was my first in over 10 years. This stately hotel is a high point in an otherwise strictly-business town. I stayed on the 10th floor in a very well appointed, comfortable, clean, and quiet room. Some of the service staff have been there forever and know how to take care of you. The neighborhood is changing for the better, with recent gentrification on W. 9th Street a very welcome surprise. The one consistent disappointment was the hotel bar, which was quite pricey and tended to close early if the bartender perceived business to be slow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    79
    22
    20
    12
See reviews for
44
112
13
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed during the at the Hotel during the holidays and found it lovely as ever. The Christmas decor was incredible and check in was swift. We had booked a Deluxe Room Bed and Breakfast Package for 2 adults, and our room was as it had been on other stays - just fantastic. Room was elegantly furnished with a separate sitting area and a very large bathroom with a separate soaking tub. We found a large complimentary bottle of still water on the counter in addition to 2 smaller bottles of Poland Spring, and best of all, a small box of the Hotel's famous almond macaroons - a most welcome treat after a long drive. (These cookies deserve their reputation for being exceptionally tasty and a box to go can be purchased from the front desk.) On the next morning, we had breakfast at the Green Room, which was included in the rate. Meal was not buffet but a la carte and delicious. To get the most value, would recommend staying on one of the package rates, which often include breakfast, valet parking, and sometimes tickets to local attractions, such as Longwood Gardens. These rates are unfortunately not usually available on the weekdays, when corporate clientel demand drives prices into the stratosphere - the same room can literally cost twice as much. There is an exercise facility but no pool - I believe you can buy day passes to the Y down the street, however.

Room Tip: Skip the classic room and spring for the Deluxe; the additional space and sitting area are well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed just one night and absolutely loved it! Breath taking lobby - something you would imagine in the Great Gatsby. Staff was quick checking us in and pleasant. Rooms were MUCH better than I thought they would be. Comfortable beds, complimary water, fresh fruit, modern amenities. Very nice. Super clean. Breakfast in the Green Room was great - what a room. Try the eggs hotel DuPont (crab meat over a crosiant, scrambled eggs - wow. Only complaint is the area really doesn't have any good shopping. However, plenty of good restaurants close by. This is terrific hotel for the money. If it was in NYC it would be $800-1200 a night, no doubt. If u want to live like a king for a night this is your place. Good luck!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is probably the best hotel in downtown wilmington, but that isn't saying much. The hotel is definately upscale (and expensive). I stayted there for one night on business and it was certainly comfortable and plesant. The king bed rooms are large with a separate sitting area. The rooms were spotlessly clean and nicely furnished.

Believe it or not, one of the advantages of this hotel is that there are always cabs parked outside, something that should not be eaisly overlooked considering that, at times, it is difficult to get a cab.

The in-room dining menue is very limited and the food is just okay. The restaurant menu and food are not much better.

All that being said, if you want a more upscale hotel while staying in Wilimgton, and are willing to pay for it, this is the best of the lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, DE
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I spent a night at the duPont prior to heading to NYC and a flight to Europe. In the 90's after its renovation, this hotel was a jewel with great food and service but as margins get tighter and cutbacks are made; the hotel is slipping. The hotel is usually overrun with attorney's as Wilmington is a corporate and bankruptcy mecca and many attorney's are now deciding to stay in Philly rather than pay the prices for declining service at the duPont.
As an example, the food is average at best and the Continental breakfast could not satisfy a super model. It was pathetically small and thank goodness my counsel put out a great spread of bagels and danish or I would have starved. My night turn down service was missed assuming there is still a turn down service. I needed a safe place to park my car for 4 days and when I called the front desk, they responded as if I was speaking Mandarin. The rooms are huge and comfortable, but my room was showing some age. Also please be careful of the rooms facing the street since the City of Wilmington runs buses all night that disturb sleep when they pull away from a red light on the corner. Ask for a room on the inside of the hotel away from the street. This hotel while only average in a City like NY; is the best place in Wilmington and still above average but unless some positive changes are made, it will fall to average in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Went with a day trip group to the green room for high tea. Treated to a history tour of some of the facilities. Did not see any of the rooms. This is a well maintained grand dame.They have an impressive collection of art. The staff seems to really like their jobs and successful in maintaining an aloof/ nice. So you feel upper crust but welcome all at the same time. It felt like being in a hotel in london. I look forward to going back to spend the night. The dessarts at high tea were delightful but obviously not made that day. I am spoiled from too much grand dinning at sea when the dessarts were made in house and immediate. but this tasted better. This the place to have a wedding. The ball room bare is beautiful. You can have your dinners in the green room and guests can stay the night in the hotel. the gift shop is an over kill of junk. the first time I ever went to a gift shop and not bought a thing. Didn't have time to explore the high end shops. Delaware has many places of interest this hotel is in a central location. Not good for tour bus parking but accomodation can be arranged. plan for valet parking lf you drive. stairs real art on the walls toddlers and small children need supervision. nice cozy bar area for a date.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Being that I had never been to Delaware before, I had little expectation on what to expect. The Hotel du Pont was a delightful surprise to someone like myself that likes to stay at the finest. Old and historic luxury is how I would describe. Valet is a bit awkward as there is only one lane to pick up and drop off. Beyond that, check in and the staff were very accommodating and pleasant throughout my entire stay. I had slightly upgraded from the basic room and was pleasantly surprised to have a seating area in my room. Bathrooms were very large but with slightly dated fixtures. Another plus is that the Room Service menu caters to vegetarians..I just told them what I wanted and they made me my meal of choice. I would definitely stay there again the next time that I am in the Wilmington area.

Room Tip: Have to admit...the bed bug review on TripAdvisor did concern me but I had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pont

Address: 11th & Market Streets, Wilmington, DE 19801
Location: United States > Delaware > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#5 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Pont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pont Hotel
Du Pont Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Pont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.