We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good Italian Food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mio Fratello

Mio Fratello
38016 Fenwick Shoals Boulevard, Selbyville, DE 19975
+1 302-436-6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Selbyville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Selbyville, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not very good Italian Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

the sauce has no flavor and is thin as water. I have been here 3 times and each time was very disappointed. Don't waste your money.
Olive Garden has better Italian food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    26
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We left saying not bad enough to complain not good enough to return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First clue was everything was a la carte - salad, veggies etc. That is fine if you are at a fine dining establishment or your meal prices are relatively inexpensive - this was not the case. So we asked if the salad was included and the waiter told us no but it was large enough to split - which he did. We did not know at the time that there was a $2.00 fee to split the $5.00 salad. Alright then - it really was not large enough to split - we would have been better off just ordering two. I ordered the Chicken Genovese (house specialty sauce) which was decent but so unbelievably greasy. We also ordered a side of asparagus and a side of pasta. The pasta was mushy and greasy and the small portion of asparagus was greasy also. My husband's meal - again not enough to complain but it says something when the mashed potatoes were the most positive thing about his steak dinner.

We live near Bethesda and eat out very frequently - often in Italian restaurants. We spend a lot of time at the beach in Bethany and have found that the quality of "beach" restaurants has been improving over the years. So my frame of reference was knowledge of family style Italian restaurants and beach expectations. This restaurant - again was ok - but certainly not as good as the ratings would suggest. A definite no return from us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best on the Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As an Ocean City Local it is hard to find a place that is absolutely amazing, as well as original for each visit. Not only does Mio Fratello have the best Italian food I have personally ever had, their specials menu changes often enough that I have never eaten the same thing twice. Always a good time and the staff is superb. Chris was my server the other evening and he had my drinks filled before i realized they were getting low. Never needed to ask for anything. Simply amazing food with an amazing staff!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent food, good entertainment, very friendly staff. Wonderfull Happy Hour specials. Place is always a pleasure to go to.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of the best Italian place to go on the eastern shore!!! Guaranteed!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Took family there for birthday!! Wow, great food, great people and great service!! Highly recommended it!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mio Fratello also viewed

 

Been to Mio Fratello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mio Fratello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.