We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiiiilthy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24058 Sussex Highway, Seaford, DE 19973   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Seaford
Holden Beach, NC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Fiiiilthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I were on the road south of Dover, DE on the evening of this review looking for a place to stay and read the reviews of this HIE. They mostly seemed good so we called and made a reservation. When we arrived we were concerned to find first that all the plants at the entrance were dead. Humm. There were cigerette butts scattered all around the entrance. Upon entering the hotel we noticed the door mat was really dirty. We checked in with a friendly young women who gave us a room on the third floor. As we walked to the elevator, the place was dirtier and dirtier. Molding around the hallway entrance by the elevator was torn off- no notice of "excuse our mess" etc. there were smudges all over the elevator. When we got to our room, there was a towel laying on the floor *outside* the door. When we opened the door, one bed was completely bare and the other was obviously slept in. The carpet down the hallway was dirty. It was as if the cleaning crew took the day off. Why would the clerk give us an unmade room? How in the world does Holiday Inn let their managers get away with such incompetence? We went back to the clerk and told her we would not be staying there. I told her the room was unmade and the place was filthy. She smiled and said ok. We ended up staying down the road at an HIE in Delmar, MD just north of Salisbury.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear subtropical_ken,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    18
    4
    12
See reviews for
30
21
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklawn, NJ
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel should be a much better hotel. It looks like an excellent place. Comfortable, clean rooms, a nice common space, and a solid breakfast arrangement are certainly pluses.

Sadly, basic customer service seems to be sadly lacking. Most of the appliances in our room were left unplugged, including the TV, several of the lights, and even the desk outlets. The standup light had a blown bulb. No big deal, a bad bulb, right? Unfortunately the front desk clerk was unable to replace the bulb because "they lock up the bulbs at night," and she apparently wasn't worthy of the key. Really nice. But the bulb issue shouldn't happen, she told us - "the maids check every appliance every day." Really. Nice check.

Plus the TV never worked, no matter what outlet. And the wall temperature control was bypassed into unit by the window, with the wall control completely dead.

The bathrooms were clean, but horribly designed. The door comes to within a half-foot of the toilet, which requires a contortion act to get out of the way. That is complicated by the sink and countertop, which bows out at the sink. Nice in theory, with a wide sink, but poor in actual practice.

It's not that the place was bad, certainly the sleeping part was fine. The smaller details were just lacking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear KJE1776,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and leaving a review. It delights me that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and pleased you enjoyed breakfast. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your feedback is very important to us. We're sincerely sorry you were not fully satisfied with the condition of the room amenities, bathroom decor and some aspects of our hotel staff services. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this is the best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is an OK at best hotel. A bit disappointting for and HIE. Someone needs to show the cleaning staff what a vacum is. The stairs in the lobby have not been cleaned in weeks. My room was OK by the throw at the foot of the bed had stains on it and had not been through the wash in months. I have pasted this location at least 50 times over the past 5 years. I understand now why I was driving pst this location

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Rusty S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad that you liked our location. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day, especially with room accommodations you received. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best way of improving guest services.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here while my son played a tournament at Sports at the Beach. Although it is about 30 minutes from the field, the drive isn't too bad. Would be nice if could find something closer though. The breakfast buffet was excellent....pancakes, eggs, sausage/bacon, biscuits, variety of breakfast pasteries....yogurt, etc. The best free breakfast i've had at any hotel. The double room was nice. Beds were comfortable. Now for the cons....the property seems fairly new, yet in the bathroom, there was no exhaust vent, the ceiling had some water/mold spots on it. YOu could tell there had been a prior leak from above and that the ceiling had a repair on it already. Our toliet was not secured properly....it literally moved when you sat on it. Also, would have liked to have a few more towels than the bare minimum. Overall though, decent property and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Wish I had looked on this site before because if I did, I would have definately took heed and looked for different lodging. This place is a disgrace!! My team stayed here last year and everything was absolutely amazing!! This year however, it has definately changed for the worse!! There were problems all through out the hotel and we kept being told that management and maintance was contacted...for 2 whole days we never got any response from either and that is very unprofessional! We were told by front desk that they do live a little ways away...but as a manager they should be on call 24/7 and able to come in to correct any problems "their" place of business has. This hotel lacks poor management but excellent rooms. Also, the rates have gone up tremendously and they are outrageous for the area this hotel is in. We will not be returning and I know for a fact that the teams we were in competition with will not be returning!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear J L,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear you received service that was less than satisfactory. This is not the type of service you should expect from our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is any thing we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to ask.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have previously stayed at HIX in Seaford and loved it. The staff are great and they rooms are always clean during our previous visits. This visit the staff was great and rooms were clean as usual, but the grass outside was in need of cutting and the trash can was overflowing onto the ground in front of the hotel. The parking lot had a bunch of small pieces of trash and cigarette butts that had not been cleaned in quite a while.

We talked with other guests who needed the maintenance man to fix a problem, who they never did see!! I also know it is a no pet hotel but I saw the manager bring in a dog to the office. It seems if the rule applies to the guests it should also apply to the workers. Very poor general manager!!! They need to go back to what was working last summer!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Rev Y,

Thank you for staying with us again and leaving us feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as our clean rooms and friendly front desk staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the outside hotel conditions. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My family and I have come to this hotel 3 times a year since they have been open. Up untill the summer of last year this place has downgraded tremendously. Whoever took over this hotel should really give it back to the first owners who kept it clean, efficient, and had business. Since new owners and switching up the managers like its nothing, this place is absolutely horrible. There were ALL kinds of complaints from just about EVERY guest. There was no hot water, the maintanance of the hotel is poor now. The outside trash which is the first thing anybody sees, was so over full that there was another trash pile started on the ground. The maintance man, and the manager were both called but we were not cared about. I saw neither one. This is so embarrassing to the franchise. I will not be coming back due to the simple fact that in the past year the new owners/managers have distroyed this place making it no place that i would ever reccomend and they have obviously lost ALOT of business and if the owners would look into that they would see that they are doing a HORRIBLE job with this place. The two ladies Gilda and Ashley were great in assisting us and showing great remorse as they were probably also embarrased at the maintance on this place. This time last year I would rated this hotel a 100%. Now, 5% and they get the 5 for the select few nice employees that they do have in this place! DO NOT STAY HERE UNTIL THEY DECIDE TO GET DECENT OWNERSHIP AND MANAGEMENT!!

Room Tip: Hotel has definately gone all the way down hill!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Platinum M,

Thank you so much for our review regarding your stay at our hotel. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments about Gilda and Ashley. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so.

However, the comments about the trash piling around are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13

Address: 24058 Sussex Highway, Seaford, DE 19973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Seaford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Seaford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13 hotel is an interior corridor, four story hotel with a fireplace in the lobby. Located on Williams Pond, rooms on the back side of the hotel offer spectacular views of wildlife ranging from geese, birds, turtles and fish. Features include an outdoor pool, exercise room, and business center. All rooms include coffee maker, iron/board, and hairdryer. Voice mail and 2- line phones. Coffee served 24 hours a day in the lobby. Monday-Friday we serve fresh baked cookies in the evenings. We are conveniently located near the Invista/Dupont, Nanticoke Hospital, Allen Family Foods, Seaford Industrial Park, Perdue Chicken, Solocup, Seaford Army National Guard. We are also within a 15-30 minute drive to the Delaware Beaches, Cape Henelopen State Park, Sports at the Beach, Delaware State Fairgrounds, Harrington Raceway & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seaford Hotel Seaford
Holiday Inn Seaford
Seaford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Seaford-Route 13, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.