We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For tranquillity and beautiful tropical gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munduk Moding Plantation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Munduk Moding Plantation to your Saves list
Munduk Moding Plantation
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Jalan Asah Gobleg,Banjar Dinas Asah Gobleg | Desa Gobleg, Kecamatan Banjar, Gobleg, Bali 81152, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“For tranquillity and beautiful tropical gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

You go here. Situated almost on top of a mountain, with very very nicely decorated villa,s surrounded by tropical plants, much privacy and view.

Food served in the lrestaurant is not very tasteful, expensive and the portions are small. In between meals a small snack is not too easy to get.
Don,t try the balinese hatten red wine, it is horrible, kind of a desinfectant smell.
A bit of a disappointment after reading all the positive tripadvisor stories about the food here.
It could be heaven here if the food and choice of wines would be better.

Staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear GinaL188611,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment during your stay at our resort. We really appreciate this and are glad to know that you found the team helpful and friendly. In addition, we are happy to know that you consider that the villa is very nicely decorated and that you experienced much privacy.

However, we sincerely regret that you considered that some of the Balinese food served in the restaurant was not very tasteful. Whilst, as you point out, this contrasts with the views expressed by most of our other guests, following discussion with you, we have reviewed the two dishes, which you found lacking in taste, with our chef. He has decided to slightly modify the recipe to make the dishes slightly more spicy whilst also adding more lime. We have since offered these dishes to guests who have commented positively.

On the wine, we are very sorry to know that the taste of the red Bali Hatten wine did not meet your expectation. The bottle might have been off in which case it would have been good to signal this to the waiter. More generally, the red Bali Hatten wine is locally produced and tastes somewhat differently from an Australian or European wine. As you know, we have Jacob’s Creek Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvignon on the wine list as alternatives – these are good quality Australian wines that are quite similar to what you are probably used to back home. You should also be aware that wine is very heavily taxed in Indonesia; our prices are actually rather low compared to the prices you will find in other four star hotels.

I am slightly puzzled about your comment that it is difficult to order snacks. As you know, our free afternoon tea comes with a local snack and we provide a sweet for our guests in the room together with a bedtime story every evening. In addition, staff often provides free fruit snacks and home- made garlic bread to guests lounging at the pool area. Finally, guests can always order a quick snack at any time – we have a rich menu of snacks, sandwiches, deserts, sweets and salads that can be produced throughout the day. You only need to ask.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    45
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
200
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just stayed here sadly only for one night.
The resort is perched on the cliffside looking out towards mountains and ocean in the distance. Enough has been said about the view, amazing!
We arrived in the clouds which kindly cleared so we could see the view and enjoy a swim in the pool and a warm up in the jacuzzi while my husband had a guided walk around the plantation.
We loved our room, the view was again beautiful and the bed big and comfy (big enough for our 4 year old to sleep in it too and not be noticed!) the bath took a while to fill so run it early!
We asked to sit out in the bale overlooking the garden for dinneer and this was set up for us and the fire pit lit (spoilsport who said the smoke is a nusiance in a previous review!) it was beautiful and our daughter enjoyed playing the musical instrument and soccer game while we enjoyed several cocktails before our ristjafel dinner. The food was all delicious and very nicely presented. All the cocktails we tried (and at such cheap prices it was a few!) were good, especially the banana dream (?)
The next morning we tried to drive to a waterfall which is signed as 3km away.....hmmm more like 10km and a very steep and dodgy road (and we have been on many dodgy roads around the world!) it took all the Toyota Avanzas power to get us back up the mountain and we never did find the waterfall!! But it was a very scenic drive through the rainforest.
Breakfast was fine, nothing amazing but all fresh and tasty....maybe go for the Indonesian breakfast as my husband rated his nasi goreng highly.
We would come and stay again and stay longer so we could explore gitgit and Lovina and enjoy more of Munduk Modings hospitality.
If you are in Bedugul stop at Strawberry Stop which has the big gold bottle outside. Good basic food at very cheap prices for a quick lunch and very good strawberry pancake and strawberry juice. The main draw card is their beautiful garden and growing areas including rabbits!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view if possible for a stunning outlook in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Cally87,

Thank you for these kind comments - we are very happy to know that you loved our room, the view was beautiful and the bed is big and comfy. In addition, we are glad to know that you enjoyed swimming in the infinity pool and warming up in the Jacuzzi. Moreover, we are pleased to hear that your daughter enjoyed playing the musical instrument and soccer game while you enjoyed drinking some cocktails before having your Balinese Rijsttafel for dinner.

I and all of the team member are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a lovely couple of days at Munduk Moding, the staff were very friendly and helpful, food was great, beds very comfy and a gorgeous bathroom. The infinity pool is stunning and it was lovely to sit at the side of the pool and watch the birds skimming over the water.

This is the ideal place to come if you just need to chill out for a couple of days, there are lots of books, mags and dvds to borrow in the evening, there isn't any nightlife around the hotel, which was fine for us, we really enjoyed our meals every evening which were yummy and reasonably priced.

Don't miss the trip to the Jiluwhati rice fields...stunning! (don't forget to take your camera) Thanks for a great stay! Mr & Mrs Snowdon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at Munduk Mountain Plantation for 3 nights in september and can only confirm the previous posters - its a lovely place to stay at, in a beautiful mountain setting.

I was upgraded to the wonderful pool villa, and as said below, what an amazing place ! the only negative point (the missing steps or ladder to get out of the pool) seems to have been taken care off, so now its even better (the missing steps stopped me from using the pool untill the last day, I was travelling alone and nervous about getting out of the pool on my own).

I very much enjoyed the nice moutain weather, warm and sunny during the day, and at night still okay, with tempartures around 18 to 20 degrees. I come from Switzerland so used to cool weather, and was still okay in T-Shirts, but a warm sweater would be advisable for most. Air-Con is not needed, and I didnt miss a fan either, but I left the door of my bedroom open during the night (to allow for some air circulation), and it would be nice to have a "mosquito-net" door / screen to stop insects and other animals from getting in (or to give you the "security" of them staying out).

Wonderful sunsets to be enjoyed from the pool villa, but even better from the main pool / jacuzzi area. The food in the restaurant is very tasty, good atmosphere, and on 2 of the 3 nights I stayed, local girls gave a balinese dance performance, which was great. On one evening Gede took me into the village to watch the local woman getting a Gamelan lesson, that was really a fantastic experience !

Overall, I had a great time a MMP. If you want to see "another side" of Bali (besides beaches and Ubud), go for it (but stay at least 2 nights).

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is set above the clouds within a coffee plantation. The setting is serene and calming and the service was excellent. We enjoyed hiking around the area and the complete lack of tourists...just us, our guide, and local farmers. The hotel itself is very nice with an infinity pool that while spectacular, is very cold. Our villa was very private and nicely appointed...the mildewed shower curtain was unpleasant and I did ask for it to be washed or replaced but that unfortuantely didn't happen. My only other suggestion is that the hotel either install screens to keep the bugs out or add fans as the room got quite stuffy when we kept the doors closed to keep the bugs out. We borrowed bikes and rode around the local area which we enjoyed very much. Those minor complaints aside, a lovely stay in a wonderful setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear jasper25rocks,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at MMP recently. We are delighted that you found the setting is serene and calming and we are thankful that you found the service is excellent. In addition we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed hiking around the area, which is something many of our guests engage in – as we do ourselves…

On the other hand, we sincerely apologize that the shower curtain wasn’t immediately cleaned when you signaled this to us. This should not have happened and we have discussed the matter with our housekeeping team who will from now ensure that the curtains are clean at all times.

The water in our swimming pool is indeed less warm compared to the pools situated in the lower areas in Bali because we are located at 1200 meters. However, following advice received from guests, since June 2013, we have installed pool heaters to ensure that the temperature of the pool water is 25-26 degrees Celsius. We believe this is sufficiently comfortable for swimming and it fits well with the environment of a hill plantation. As you know, there is a large Jacuzzi which is heated at 40°C with a view that is very similar to that of the infinity pool.

We would also like to thank you for your suggestion to introduce a fan in the rooms: we will follow it up by purchasing some portable fans, which will be placed in the rooms during particularly hot and dry periods.

Hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcoming you back in the future to allow you to witness the progress made and to enjoy the nature around the plantation.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in munduk moding plantation, beautiful resort, superb views & pool areas, lovely rooms and friendly staff. Enjoyed every minute, spend a few days there one day definitely will not be enough.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room, they are all in great locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I recently stayed at MMP for 2 nights and do wish it had been longer! What a wonderful place to relax and breathe fresh air, be amongst really friendly, helpful staff and have a great break from the south!
We were 2 couples and stayed in the 2 bedroom pool villa which was just gorgeous with our own beautiful infinity pool with fabulous views. I was intending to be active as the website suggests but when you see those pool lounges, that pool and that view, you just want to make the most of it!. I do suggest though, that somehow some steps be built in order to be able to get into and out of the pool easily as it is quite difficult to do so and would be almost impossible for children to use.
The garland of marigolds and welcome drink were just lovely as were the marigolds all over the bedrooms! Breakfast was great too. Gede, who looked after us in the villa was extremely friendly and very helpful.
I do feel that some ceiling fans would have improved my night's sleep though. Air conditioning is not necessary but I do like some air movement! Gede did bring me a portable fan which was very thoughtful of him and it did help!
We ate in the main restaurant for lunch and dinner and the food was always very tasty, the service was great. The view, onto the main infinity pool was just breathtaking!
Thank you to everyone at MMP for making our short stay such a delightful one - we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Ilab,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to write positive review. We are glad to know that you had a great break from the South and found our resort is wonderful place to relax, breathe fresh air, the staff is really friendly and helpful . In addition, we are delighted to know that you like the garland of marigolds, welcome drink and the food.

Thank you for suggesting the step in the pool. The installation has been completed. I fully agree that it will be very useful in order to be able to get into and out of the pool easily.
We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future. This way you will witness the fruit of your brilliant suggestion.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Munduk Moding Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munduk Moding Plantation

Address: Jalan Asah Gobleg,Banjar Dinas Asah Gobleg | Desa Gobleg, Kecamatan Banjar, Gobleg, Bali 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gobleg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gobleg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Munduk Moding Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munduk Moding Coffee Plantation Nature Resort and Spa is a luxury nature resort, spa and boutique hotel in North Bali on a working coffee plantation located close by Bali’s central lakes and Munduk hill station. The hillsides are covered with jungle, coffee trees, rice fields, and pretty much anything that grows on the island. With just a handful of villas and suites on some 5 hectares of land you can enjoy all this in privacy and genuinely relax far away from the crowds. Discover North Bali's culture through the complimentary daily activities which MMP provides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Munduk Moding Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munduk Moding Plantation Hotel Gobleg
Munduk Moding Plantation Bali/Gobleg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munduk Moding Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.