We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Munduk Moding Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Munduk Moding Plantation to your Saves list
Munduk Moding Plantation
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Jalan Asah Gobleg,Banjar Dinas Asah Gobleg | Desa Gobleg, Kecamatan Banjar, Gobleg, Bali 81152, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a lovely couple of days at Munduk Moding, the staff were very friendly and helpful, food was great, beds very comfy and a gorgeous bathroom. The infinity pool is stunning and it was lovely to sit at the side of the pool and watch the birds skimming over the water.

This is the ideal place to come if you just need to chill out for a couple of days, there are lots of books, mags and dvds to borrow in the evening, there isn't any nightlife around the hotel, which was fine for us, we really enjoyed our meals every evening which were yummy and reasonably priced.

Don't miss the trip to the Jiluwhati rice fields...stunning! (don't forget to take your camera) Thanks for a great stay! Mr & Mrs Snowdon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    41
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
187
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berne
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at Munduk Mountain Plantation for 3 nights in september and can only confirm the previous posters - its a lovely place to stay at, in a beautiful mountain setting.

I was upgraded to the wonderful pool villa, and as said below, what an amazing place ! the only negative point (the missing steps or ladder to get out of the pool) seems to have been taken care off, so now its even better (the missing steps stopped me from using the pool untill the last day, I was travelling alone and nervous about getting out of the pool on my own).

I very much enjoyed the nice moutain weather, warm and sunny during the day, and at night still okay, with tempartures around 18 to 20 degrees. I come from Switzerland so used to cool weather, and was still okay in T-Shirts, but a warm sweater would be advisable for most. Air-Con is not needed, and I didnt miss a fan either, but I left the door of my bedroom open during the night (to allow for some air circulation), and it would be nice to have a "mosquito-net" door / screen to stop insects and other animals from getting in (or to give you the "security" of them staying out).

Wonderful sunsets to be enjoyed from the pool villa, but even better from the main pool / jacuzzi area. The food in the restaurant is very tasty, good atmosphere, and on 2 of the 3 nights I stayed, local girls gave a balinese dance performance, which was great. On one evening Gede took me into the village to watch the local woman getting a Gamelan lesson, that was really a fantastic experience !

Overall, I had a great time a MMP. If you want to see "another side" of Bali (besides beaches and Ubud), go for it (but stay at least 2 nights).

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is set above the clouds within a coffee plantation. The setting is serene and calming and the service was excellent. We enjoyed hiking around the area and the complete lack of tourists...just us, our guide, and local farmers. The hotel itself is very nice with an infinity pool that while spectacular, is very cold. Our villa was very private and nicely appointed...the mildewed shower curtain was unpleasant and I did ask for it to be washed or replaced but that unfortuantely didn't happen. My only other suggestion is that the hotel either install screens to keep the bugs out or add fans as the room got quite stuffy when we kept the doors closed to keep the bugs out. We borrowed bikes and rode around the local area which we enjoyed very much. Those minor complaints aside, a lovely stay in a wonderful setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear jasper25rocks,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at MMP recently. We are delighted that you found the setting is serene and calming and we are thankful that you found the service is excellent. In addition we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed hiking around the area, which is something many of our guests engage in – as we do ourselves…

On the other hand, we sincerely apologize that the shower curtain wasn’t immediately cleaned when you signaled this to us. This should not have happened and we have discussed the matter with our housekeeping team who will from now ensure that the curtains are clean at all times.

The water in our swimming pool is indeed less warm compared to the pools situated in the lower areas in Bali because we are located at 1200 meters. However, following advice received from guests, since June 2013, we have installed pool heaters to ensure that the temperature of the pool water is 25-26 degrees Celsius. We believe this is sufficiently comfortable for swimming and it fits well with the environment of a hill plantation. As you know, there is a large Jacuzzi which is heated at 40°C with a view that is very similar to that of the infinity pool.

We would also like to thank you for your suggestion to introduce a fan in the rooms: we will follow it up by purchasing some portable fans, which will be placed in the rooms during particularly hot and dry periods.

Hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcoming you back in the future to allow you to witness the progress made and to enjoy the nature around the plantation.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in munduk moding plantation, beautiful resort, superb views & pool areas, lovely rooms and friendly staff. Enjoyed every minute, spend a few days there one day definitely will not be enough.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room, they are all in great locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I recently stayed at MMP for 2 nights and do wish it had been longer! What a wonderful place to relax and breathe fresh air, be amongst really friendly, helpful staff and have a great break from the south!
We were 2 couples and stayed in the 2 bedroom pool villa which was just gorgeous with our own beautiful infinity pool with fabulous views. I was intending to be active as the website suggests but when you see those pool lounges, that pool and that view, you just want to make the most of it!. I do suggest though, that somehow some steps be built in order to be able to get into and out of the pool easily as it is quite difficult to do so and would be almost impossible for children to use.
The garland of marigolds and welcome drink were just lovely as were the marigolds all over the bedrooms! Breakfast was great too. Gede, who looked after us in the villa was extremely friendly and very helpful.
I do feel that some ceiling fans would have improved my night's sleep though. Air conditioning is not necessary but I do like some air movement! Gede did bring me a portable fan which was very thoughtful of him and it did help!
We ate in the main restaurant for lunch and dinner and the food was always very tasty, the service was great. The view, onto the main infinity pool was just breathtaking!
Thank you to everyone at MMP for making our short stay such a delightful one - we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gede S, Executive Assistant Manager at Munduk Moding Plantation, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Ilab,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to write positive review. We are glad to know that you had a great break from the South and found our resort is wonderful place to relax, breathe fresh air, the staff is really friendly and helpful . In addition, we are delighted to know that you like the garland of marigolds, welcome drink and the food.

Thank you for suggesting the step in the pool. The installation has been completed. I fully agree that it will be very useful in order to be able to get into and out of the pool easily.
We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future. This way you will witness the fruit of your brilliant suggestion.

Best regards,
Gede Suparwata
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The MMP is a fabulous resort in the mountains, where it is still possible to experience authentic Balinese traditions without the hoards of tourists. The infinity pool is incredible and has views to the volcanoes on Java. The service was fantastic, rates reasonable and I loved the secluded villas dotted through the hillside. Dancers from the local village performed in the restaurant and it was a treat to view them practising on the tennis court during the day. At night the view of all the lights in the valley was truly amazing.There were lots of organised activities and afternoon tea was served around the pool. I stayed at MMP with friends but I think this would be a great destination for a romantic getaway. I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The pool villa will be my next choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Three years ago we visited this uniquely situated small authentic resort that cherishes nature, quality, freedom and development for the first time. It was then only a year in operation. We notice with pleasure that all these ingredients are still there and are constantly watched and revaluated. Its focus remains on doing things better. MMP has all the modern comfort, a good cook and service guests may desire. And yet you never forget to be in Bali through its committed local staff, the little schoolgirls from the neighbourhood who from time to time proudly demonstrate their Balinese dancing skills, only made possible through the support of the management and the little bedside notes one receives daily, drawn from the rich Balinese mythology. We shall surely return again to this little paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munduk Moding Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munduk Moding Plantation

Address: Jalan Asah Gobleg,Banjar Dinas Asah Gobleg | Desa Gobleg, Kecamatan Banjar, Gobleg, Bali 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gobleg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gobleg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Munduk Moding Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munduk Moding Coffee Plantation Nature Resort and Spa is a luxury nature resort, spa and boutique hotel in North Bali on a working coffee plantation located close by Bali’s central lakes and Munduk hill station. The hillsides are covered with jungle, coffee trees, rice fields, and pretty much anything that grows on the island. With just a handful of villas and suites on some 5 hectares of land you can enjoy all this in privacy and genuinely relax far away from the crowds. Discover North Bali's culture through the complimentary daily activities which MMP provides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Munduk Moding Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munduk Moding Plantation Hotel Gobleg
Munduk Moding Plantation Bali/Gobleg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munduk Moding Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.