We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Aweful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Ceiling is falling down, doors don't close, smells terrible. Asked for different room, wouldn't give us one. Terrible customer service. Lights don't work. Do yourself a favor, stay somewhere else. Dirty. Hotel is terrible.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    26
    31
    26
    44
See reviews for
43
38
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recently stayed here with my family (and a friend traveled with us) and I have mixed reviews. The staff was exceptionally nice, however, the room that we stayed in was pretty awful. I booked through Priceline and did not have the option of choosing my room. We ended up with a double bed room on the first floor on the "old" (right) side of the hotel. Our room had mildew stains on the wall where the A/C unit was located (not good for allergy and asthma sufferers like me), it was so damp smelling/hard to breathe that I actually went to Wal-Mart at 10:00 p.m. the first night and bought a giant container of "Damp Rid" to put in our room, the A/C was either freezing cold (and less damp smelling) or hot and moist, there were flies in the room upon arriving, uncomfortable beds, there were stains on the walls in the bathroom (glad I brought my Lysol wipes), room/fixtures/furniture/linens were outdated, there was paint chipping off the bathroom cabinet areas, and there was a poor selection of breakfast foods, -- high starch/fatty foods w/no healthy options such as fruit/yogurt. HOWEVER, I must add that our friend who stayed in the "newer" (left) side of the hotel in a suite had a much better experience. I saw first hand that that particular room was MUCH nicer than ours and did not have any of the issues we had. It was like we were standing in a completely different motel! I should add that staff did offer to upgrade our room to a suite, but it would've been approximately an extra $200 to do so for 3 nights, which I declined due to cost. So, while the experience with staff and location of the hotel was great, I would not stay here again on this particular side of the motel. I would stay here again, but only in one of their "suites" and would NOT book through Priceline again!

Room Tip: Book a room in the "newer" (left) side of the hotel. Avoid the "old" (right) si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

cost the most money for a night stay on our two week vacation what a dump. do not check in after dark. big bugs in room. I have been member of choice hotels for many years but this is one of my worst stays ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My son-in-law and I went down the shore for the weekend after he had a bad week. We left for Ocean City Maryland and try to get a room to stay for one night and could night find one and when we did find one it was $289 or better and had to be for two nights. We drove up to Rehoboth looking for a place to stay as we dove up on route1 and came up to this Econo lodge.The person behind the desk was very nice and said the room was $213 for one night. At this point we were exhausted and took it. It was on the second floor but it had an elevator. The room had everything we needed to include,coffe pot with coffee and more and a fridge. Free wifi and cable tv. The pool excellent and clean..Great place to stay.
PS: Crackerbarrle next door

Room Tip: If you like the Casino, Dover Downs Casinos 40mins north on one--Ocean City Maryland 40mins south on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I looked around for prices of hotels and places in the surrounding area. This was the cheapest hotel that accepted my AAA discount. Most beach hotels run anywhere from $130 and up per night. It wasn't anything spectacular but it had a pool, was close to the beach, had baby squirrels running around, and a continental breakfast. Good enough for me!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If your a non smoker don't even try to stay here. If you ask to change your room they will go out of their way NOT TO! Staff was very ignorant. Asked to speak to manager and received a snippy reply of not available. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Should have turned around when the clerk did not want bothered to check us in. I asked twice where the elevator was and received mumbled answers. End of sidewalk blocked by vehicles had to carry luggage thru bushes. Room was nasty. Box springs stained badly and very old. Sheets stained. Mold around air conditioner. Room was outdated and nasty! Stained up chairs. Dirty carpet. Bathroom was disgusting.
Not expecting a lot for a $90 room but this was awful. Requested call from manager. Never received. Did comp us $50

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Resort

Address: 19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Econo Lodge Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.