We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
New Castle, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Second time around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here last year and the rooms were way better then. Just a very average room. The beds were very uncomfortable this year and the room smelled like smoke. On the plus side then pool is very nice. I think next year we will be looking for a new place to stay. The location of this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    33
    29
    49
See reviews for
51
40
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for an affordable hotel the Friday after July 4th 2013. Most of the hotels on the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk were booked or required a two to three night minimum. We planned to spend one day in Rehoboth then drive south to Ocean City the next day so we only needed one night and the Econo Lodge popped up with a low rate (considering other hotels in the area) and no minimums. On the plus side the hotel is located on Coastal Highway just behind a Cracker Barrel restaurant and directly across the street from a K-Mart. The Tanger Outlets are about a block or two away on both sides of Coastal Highway and are in easy walking or driving distance. There is a Walmart and other chain restaurants/stores/liquor outlets/banks nearby which are very convenient. The other positive is the bus stop just in front of the hotel parking lot (sign is located on a utility pole). You can board a DART bus (206, 205 etc.) that goes to the park and ride about half a mile away then transfer to the number 201 DART bus that will drop you right on the boardwalk. This bus runs late into the night and is very convenient as it allows you to avoid the traffic and parking woes on Rehoboth Avenue and surrounding streets.

Now as for the hotel itself, the property is older and well worn. We stayed in room 110 which faces the pool and a set of vending machines. The room had two double beds, box TV, hair dryer, coffee maker, and small mini fridge. Overall the accommodations were fine for what we needed. The room was clean, the bathroom sufficient and included plenty of towels. We took advantage of the continental breakfast in the morning which included cold cereal, mini doughnuts/cupcakes, bagels, coffee and tea. Again sufficient to get us going in the morning. Check in is 4pm and check out is 11am. There is plenty of free parking and since we used the bus we never moved the car until we were ready to go. There were a lot of kids on property and we later found out that there was a baseball tournament so many of the players and their families stayed in the hotel but this wasn't a big issue except that they crowded out the pool. BTW, the pool closes at 8pm.

So if you are looking for a simple, budget friendly room in a convenient location this will do the trick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was very nervous after reading the posts about the Econo Lodge. Sadly to say, we did see a couple of things that will probably keep me from booking here again. Obviously, when you book accommodations at "econo" anything, you know that you are taking chances. This hotel room is dorm room living at best.

I think it was a smoking room at one point because it has this other odor to cover up a previous odor. We have two queen mattresses and one resembles more of a bowl shape than a flat mattress. We did see two pretty big spiders (one inside, one outside) and I just killed a small roach in our bathroom. Of course, this means that we have to inspect EVERY nook and cranny of our luggage before we bring it back to the car - an extra 20 minutes I was NOT planning on. The linens, furniture, bathroom fixtures and pretty much everything in here is absolutely not top quality, rather old/dated/worn. There are severe gaps and cracks along moulding, doorways, etc., which would explain how the bugs are getting in. There is a decent gap in the corner of our hotel room door which allowed enough rain in (we had a nasty storm) which dampened the rug.

If you are looking for a place to just throw beach towels and crash while you enjoy the beach, then this is a decent place for the money (hence "econo"). The staff is helpful, the pool is clean, plenty of decent TV channels, and it's very conveniently located to shopping, outlets, big box, grocery, restaurants, etc. The continental breakfast will give you a decent cup of coffee and philly cream cheese on your bagel. If you are looking for top notch cleanliness, updated amenities, or 100% bug free living (it is summer you know), this is not the place for you.

It's a dorm room, not a hotel accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't go near pool, try to be on second or third floor, and bring bug spray and Febreze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this location, and although the room was clean and the location was decent, this hotel was by far no resort. The staff seemed annoyed by the patrons, and were only helpful if you caught them at the right moment. The indoor hallways had a funky odor and was thankful our room was an exterior room. The continental "breakfast" was sub-par and nowhere near filling. If you can afford to stay at a different location it will be worth the extra penny, though I am sure there are worse hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked this hotel on priceline and was nervous after reading the reviews on here.....I can't believe these reviews are about the hotel I stayed in, they must be about a different Econo Lodge in the area because are room was super clean (stayed in room 306). The staff were friendly and helpful (exchanged my 10 bill for a roll of quarters so I could have change for the meter). The pool was really nice and clean, the continental breakfast was one of the best I've ever seen (muffins, doughnuts, bagels, 2 types of cereal, juice, ect) and if you don't like the breakfast they have you can walk to the parking lot to the Cracker Barrel located right in front of the hotel (they share a parking lot...yeah, that close). Best of all it was only a 10/15 min drive to the beach/main boardwalk....right near the outlets and it was fairly cheap to stay there compared to the surrounding hotels! Econo Lodges are budget hotels...not meant to be a Luxury hotel, these people must have been expecting a fancy hotel...sad to see such a nice hotel have such bad reviews. I will def stay here again! - Stayed here on a family vacay with my 4yr old.

Room Tip: stayed on the 3rd floor pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Check in was brusk at best. Nothing to brag about. I was asked if I wanted firsty or second floor. Took first floor. That was a mistake. Got a room right in front of the pool. Foot traffic was heavy creating a real lack of privacy. The room was clean but frankly needs some help. There is a table frankly that isn't big enough to accomondate my laptop and a file. Wok in the room is difficult. Coffee pot is on the vanity but you need to move ti to get to a plug. Vanity had stains on it. Wake up calls just did not happen. This could be a nice place. Room had cracks in the wall, plugs with broken covers. Bring kids, take a look first. Plenty of shopping nearby. Close to beaches. Ester park up the road and golf near by. Not alot going for this place. Tried it once not sure if I;ll go back.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the first floor or the other floors that border the pool. Ask for one with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you are not with a baseball team traveling on a weekend this place is not for you. We stayed here with our baseball team, and it is a complete dump. It is robbery what they charge for a room, and what they give in return. Hotel is very dirty, and the front desk staff who has absolutely no concern of your needs. We spent two nights without seeing a housekeeper on our floor. My wife called and asked for towels and they said to come to the front desk to get them. When she went down to the desk they said they were out of towels!!! Are you kidding me!! I will not return and I suggest you do the same.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Resort

Address: 19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Econo Lodge Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.