We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baseball Dorm Rooms At Best!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Baseball Dorm Rooms At Best!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you are not with a baseball team traveling on a weekend this place is not for you. We stayed here with our baseball team, and it is a complete dump. It is robbery what they charge for a room, and what they give in return. Hotel is very dirty, and the front desk staff who has absolutely no concern of your needs. We spent two nights without seeing a housekeeper on our floor. My wife called and asked for towels and they said to come to the front desk to get them. When she went down to the desk they said they were out of towels!!! Are you kidding me!! I will not return and I suggest you do the same.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    26
    31
    26
    44
See reviews for
43
38
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked this hotel on Orbitz after we it proved too windy to camp as we had planned at Cape Henlopen state park. We requested a nonsmoking room on Orbitz. Upon arrival, they offered us only a smoking room, which smelled like someone chain smoked 10 packs a day for the last decade. It was nasty. We had a small child with us and I am pregnant; despite these facts and despite the fact that the hotel was not full, they refused to change us to a nonsmoking room. They said that they would give us the NS room if we paid for that room ($200/night) on top of the $140 we already paid on Orbitz. Orbitz called them 2X to intercede on our behalf. But nothing worked. HIghly recommend against this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We needed a hotel for an overnight stay, while we visited friends in the area. We used our choice hotel points, because this was 8000 less points than the other choice hotels in the area. As other reviews have said, you get what you pay for. The only way I would stay at this hotel again, is if it was the lowest price in town and I could not afford anything else. For a chain hotel, it is quite dingy. It looks like a place for partiers and those who don't care about trashing a room. We only had one outlet (2 plugs) for the coffee maker, fridge, TV and microwave. We had to keep two of these unplugged. Also, there was not alarm clock in the room. The front office staff was nice, the breakfast area was clean, if a bit small for the number of rooms this place has. Unless you do not have the economic means to go to a higher priced hotel, then avoid this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Right on the strip, right between the outlet malls. Approx. 3 miles from the beaches. Shares a parking lot with Cracker Barrel with other eateries close by (can actually walk, with care, across the highway)! Stayed on the 4th floor in a King nonsmoking room with spa tub. Did not experience noisy neighbors. Only first floor has ice machine. there is also laundry facility. Room itself was nothing fancy, there was a balcony with no real view and a refrigerator. Too cold to swim in pool. Did not eat the breakfast. Went Memorial Day weekend to Rehoboth Beach at last minute, otherwise for the price would have stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get the 4 story bldg, back side which is away from traffic and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel for even a night. It isn't worth the 60 bucks I paid. If I stayed in the summer, I would be afraid to swim in the pool based up on their upkeep and cleanliness of the room. I am warning you, I have never stayed at a hotel that had matresses that I bet were over 10 years old. Towels worn thin - you could hear water coming down from the bathrooms in the pipes in the wall.

Room Tip: Get a Room at the Hampton down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is so awful that we literally turned right back around and left without staying here.

I am shocked that they can actually get people to stay in the rooms. The room they tried to give us was disgusting and reeked of cigarettes. I found that surprising given that when I called ahead I was told, "All of our rooms are non-smoking."

When I called down to the office to ask for a non-smoking room, the foul attitude with legs said I had requested a smoking room, and everything else was suddenly booked up. Hmm, that's odd... Parking lot looked pretty sparse to me. Oh yeah, and then there's always the fact that the sign said there were still rooms available, but okay.

I advised her that I called ahead to confirm the room would be non-smoking because my son is asthmatic, so I would not have ever, ever requested a smoking room. She laughed and said no one would have ever told me that the rooms were non-smoking. Super professional.

Rather than continue, I let her know we would not be staying and asked her to just cancel the reservation. Apparently she wasn't capable of making that happen either.

Thank goodness there is always someone above people like Ms. Useless-and-Needs-a-Lesson-in-Class.

We got the heck outta that cesspool and will never go back. We are still washing the stench out of our clothing. My advice is that you save yourself the headache.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My recent visit to Rehoboth beach was a quick overnight, so we decided to save a bit of money. What a mistake. This hotel is rundown, and not safe. My friends door didn't lock and they had to prop a chair in front of door when they went to sleep. That is if you can sleep with all the noise from other rooms due to thin walls and toilets flushing next to your head.
Carpets are dirty, walls are stained, and I will go back to the Hampton!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Resort

Address: 19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Econo Lodge Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.