We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to Its Name” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lives up to Its Name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed here in March. Got a great off season rate. Our room and bathroom was generally clean. The front desk staff was very helpfull. There was a mix up in my reservation and they were more upset about it than I was. They did try to call in advance to retify but took care of it on the spot.

It an Econolodge, an older Econolodge. You get what you pay for. We got a great rate and got what we expected for that rate. No fluffy beds or down comforters. The breakfast was basic, but it was included. An unexpected feature is that the room we stayed in had a balcony. I could see staying here in the summer. The location is better than some higher priced hotels in the area. Over all, I think this motel was a very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    29
    25
    43
See reviews for
40
36
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

It's cheap. I've stayed here a number of times with my girlfriend as an offseason drunken crash spot. We've never gotten bedbugs. Bathrooms are small and cheap, the handicapped ones are a bit bigger. The coffee in the rooms is terrible. Theres passable coffee in the lobby. It's a cheap motel, probably the cheapest in the area, obviously more in summer. What you see is what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel seemed clean overall. Our room was fairly clean. The carpet was really old and clearly the last guest had smoked in our no-smoking room (there was a plastic bag over the smoke alarm, and it still smelled smoky). The pillows were really hard. The breakfast was basic but the coffee was hot and there was oatmeal. The price was very good though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I come to Rehoboth a few weekends during the summertime and usually stay here or right near the beach. We've never had an issue here and always are accommodated, even late at night or when all the other Rehoboth hotels are booked. Oceanus Motel which is 2 blocks from the ocean, had bed bugs in July of 2011. I am terrified to stay anywhere in Rehoboth since then. I'm sure they run rampant, bouncing from hotel to hotel. Like I said, Econo Lodge has never given us a reason to not like them. There's a Cracker Barrel right across the parking lot & a Fractured Prune donut shop 2 minutes away on the same side of the road as Econo Lodge. If driving towards the beach, FP is on the right on the way there. So, there's two of our favorite breakfast joints in a 1/2 mile radius from the Econo Lodge & outlet shopping galore. We love Rehoboth and this is a great place to stay when you don't need the ocean view hotel & boardwalk right next door. Honestly, it's not too bad not being near the water/boardwalk considering almost everything in Rehoboth closes at like 9pm. Usually we go out to eat, walk the boardwalk, get dessert/play games & go back to the hotel. This is NOT a late-night town, that's for sure! And beware of bedbugs! I check for them everywhere we go, now, since the Oceanus Motel scarred us for life. Love you, Econo Lodge! Just make sure to keep your standards & cleanliness up so I can continue to write rave reviews about you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, NJ
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

During the off-season, this is a great value. Convenient to the Outlets & restaurants; minutes from downtown Rehoboth Beach & Lewes. Room was comfortable, free breakfast was okay; staff friendly. We stay here every year in December, and will be back again.

Room Tip: This year we got one of the rooms on the 4th floor. It had a small balcony. It was quiet (as not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster,Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here two nights right before Hurricane Sandy. Room on 4th floor was quiet, nicely furnished, and had a balcony. Room and property were generally clean. Front desk service and Continental breakfast were OK, not exceptional. Cracker Barrel at front of property was convenient. Overall, pleasantly surprised at accommodations considering previous reviews. Will return when we go fishing and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I do not understand these horrific reviews. My stay was very nice and peaceful. I'll write this twice since it requires 200 characters.I do not understand these horrific reviews. My stay was very nice and peaceful. I'll write this twice since it requires 200 characters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Resort

Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Econo Hotel
Econo Lodge Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Econo Lodge
Address: 19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.