We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap hotel on rt. 1. Have booked several last-minute beach stays here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great cheap hotel on rt. 1. Have booked several last-minute beach stays here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I come to Rehoboth a few weekends during the summertime and usually stay here or right near the beach. We've never had an issue here and always are accommodated, even late at night or when all the other Rehoboth hotels are booked. Oceanus Motel which is 2 blocks from the ocean, had bed bugs in July of 2011. I am terrified to stay anywhere in Rehoboth since then. I'm sure they run rampant, bouncing from hotel to hotel. Like I said, Econo Lodge has never given us a reason to not like them. There's a Cracker Barrel right across the parking lot & a Fractured Prune donut shop 2 minutes away on the same side of the road as Econo Lodge. If driving towards the beach, FP is on the right on the way there. So, there's two of our favorite breakfast joints in a 1/2 mile radius from the Econo Lodge & outlet shopping galore. We love Rehoboth and this is a great place to stay when you don't need the ocean view hotel & boardwalk right next door. Honestly, it's not too bad not being near the water/boardwalk considering almost everything in Rehoboth closes at like 9pm. Usually we go out to eat, walk the boardwalk, get dessert/play games & go back to the hotel. This is NOT a late-night town, that's for sure! And beware of bedbugs! I check for them everywhere we go, now, since the Oceanus Motel scarred us for life. Love you, Econo Lodge! Just make sure to keep your standards & cleanliness up so I can continue to write rave reviews about you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    31
    33
    32
    49
See reviews for
52
41
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Brunswick, NJ
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

During the off-season, this is a great value. Convenient to the Outlets & restaurants; minutes from downtown Rehoboth Beach & Lewes. Room was comfortable, free breakfast was okay; staff friendly. We stay here every year in December, and will be back again.

Room Tip: This year we got one of the rooms on the 4th floor. It had a small balcony. It was quiet (as not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster,Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here two nights right before Hurricane Sandy. Room on 4th floor was quiet, nicely furnished, and had a balcony. Room and property were generally clean. Front desk service and Continental breakfast were OK, not exceptional. Cracker Barrel at front of property was convenient. Overall, pleasantly surprised at accommodations considering previous reviews. Will return when we go fishing and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I do not understand these horrific reviews. My stay was very nice and peaceful. I'll write this twice since it requires 200 characters.I do not understand these horrific reviews. My stay was very nice and peaceful. I'll write this twice since it requires 200 characters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I planned on saying in this hotel for two nights. That turned into one night. Parts of the room were very clean, others were not. The bathroom was small and way outdated. The toilet paper holder was rusty. The sink and vanity was that powder blue color from the 1970's. my room had a balcony, but the door to it didn't lock!!! This is a huge safety issue. The only two things that I liked: the beds were very comfortable, and the front desk staff was very polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

$150 for 1 Saturday night off-season would have been reasonable IF the room & bathroom were actually clean and updated, which they were NOT! The room looked as if it were not touched since 1988....rusted and dirty coat hangers, old television, scratched and dented furniture, holes in walls! All of this would have been acceptable for around $50-80 a night...but $150..I think NOT! Yuck!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our room was dirty! It looked like to corners in the room hadn't been cleaned in months or years. The toilet paper holders (Metal) were all rusty. Baseboards were filthy. Peeling wall paper. After taking a good look around the room, I went to Trip Advisor to read reviewes. We were there the weekend of 9/14; there was a review from 9/5 saying after a 2 day stay they took bedbugs home. We checked out at 12:30pm. I will NEVER opt for this class of hotel again!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Resort

Address: 19540 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Econo Lodge Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.