We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Highway One, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Location is great beach wise but for a family it is a little two much if a party atmosphere. We had a local tell us we were in the center of the party area. That being said I will address the obnoxious loud mouths in the room next to me(adjoining room) that kept my kids and I awake most if the night. Someone must have been smoking a cigar because the hallway smelled and it was seeping into our room. The rooms themselves were nice, but the mattresses were worn and not very comfortable. When we checked in, the air was off in our room and the carpets and bathroom floor were wet from the humidity. I had to turn the air to 65 to get it cool and dry the wet rugs. Some of the front desk staff were awesome, others pretended not to see you. Only ice machine we could find was located on the 4th floor, we were on the 1st floor, had to go outside, cross through the parking garage, go into the main lobby and take the elevator up to get ice. Buy a few more with the money you are making there! "Free breakfast" wasn't open one morning on time because "yeah, the girl who does that is running late this morning." Too many young drunk people for a family place. Kids yelling out the black bet doors, etc. If your young, into the bar scenes and don't care about the obvious issues then this is for you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    90
    56
    24
    9
See reviews for
81
73
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Perfect for all ages. Kids, Adults, whatever you like, this place is dead center in the middle of the action. Walk to beach, bars, bay - whatever you like. Great location, clean rooms. Parking is safe - wifi in rooms, pool on roof, great beach hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 3-day stay at the Best Western Gold Leaf in Dewey Beach.

PROS:
--great location in the heart of Dewey Beach (about a half-block from the beach, easy walking distance to nearby restaurants and bars, and the Jolly Trolley that runs back and forth to Rehoboth Beach stops just across the coastal highway near the Rusty Rudder)
--clean room
--updated bathroom (not luxurious, but not outdated)
--spacious room
--kitchen appliances (microwave, good-sized fridge, coffee pot) are a nice convenience
--french "balconies" (i.e., french doors that open up your room to the outside - no actual balcony but nice for fresh air, a bit of a view, and a convenient way to air-dry wet bathing suits and towels)
--murphy bed more comfortable than expected
--breakfast included (but we didn't actually eat it, so I have no idea how good it is)
--good price compared to other hotels in the area ($175/night for non-weekend nights in July, i.e. peak season, booked through Priceline)

CONS
--adjoining door to room next door -- This was a MAJOR CON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! As is typical, the door was TERRIBLE at providing any sort of noise mitigation / sound absorption. I figured this would be the case, having experienced such problems at other hotels, so immediately upon getting to the room and seeing the adjoining door, I called the front desk and asked if there was anything else available without an adjoining door. Unfortunately, we were told that the only room available w/o an adjoining door would be an upgrade costing an additional $40 per night. So we stayed where we were and proceeded to hear every noise coming from our neighbor's room (and I'm sure vice-versa). My worst fears were realized when we were awakened throughout the early morning hours by their screaming infant(s). We didn't bother to complain to the front desk because we figured, what could be done? You can't make a baby stop crying. So we suffered the sounds of the non-stop screaming of the baby each morning (seriously, how does a kid cry non-stop for HOURS? shouldn't it cry itself to sleep at some point??), and we were thankful that alcohol at least helped us sleep through it for part of the night. The hotel really needs to do something about the adjoining doors -- upgrade to solid sound-proof doors if such a thing exists.

Overall, I would probably stay at this hotel again if we were able to get a similarly good price, but the adjoining door situation would definitely make me think twice about it. Tip: bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with adjoining doors. Bring earplugs in case you get stuck with adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was our second time staying here. The location is very close to a section of the beach that wasn't crowded. Last year I left feeling on the fence about the hotel. It was just adequate. We returned this year for a quick trip and needed a larger room for family. They have a room with 3 double beds that doesn't feel cramped. The rooms felt much cleaner. The kids in our party bought cereal cups and I'm glad we did because the breakfast selection hasn't gotten any better. We've stayed at Best Westerns that have lower rates and better free breakfast selections. I would recommend because of proximity to the ocean. Staff was very friendly. Parking lot is small and cramped but free.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The air conditioners in this hotel are the quietest I have ever heard. Despite the traffic outside, the widows seal tightly. Nice family friendly place. But since you are at the beach, try to meet the maid staff and coordinate cleanup time. This may not be easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Seemed to be newly remodeled. Spacious room. Location was excellent to beach, the bay and many restaurants. Pool and deck were great. Breakfast was just "OK". Staff was attentive & helpful, however not the most professionally dressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Parking, near trolley and nice bar/restaurant across street; Easy walk to the beach; Rooms just average and seemed a tad pricey. Breakfast adequate, free. Nice pool on roof top. Good location if you want to stay away from the boardwalk crowds at Rehoboth.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Beach
Holiday Inn Express Rehoboth Bea...
#13 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf

Address: 1400 Highway One, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Leaf Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Best Western Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.