We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lousy stay and hospitality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Highway One, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“lousy stay and hospitality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

arrival staff was less than welcoming, with telling our party of 6 that we were only allowed one vehicle or else be towed.. we paid an additional 60 dollars in permits after trying to find the permit place. The breakfast room was over crowded more space due to management.. No hot water, or water pressure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    34
    18
    6
See reviews for
55
52
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The reservation said ocean view but my view was of another building. I requested to be away from the ice machine and doors but they placed me directly across both and the elevator. So I heard slamming all night and ice poring at 6:00 AM. No useable wireless. Too weak. Rooms was dirty. found long black hairs on the sink and in the bathroom. Eating area is too small. They locked my room remotely at 9:30 even though I was still packing and putting stuff in my car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on the beach side 2 minute walk to beach. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful in allowing us to extend our parking privileges for a few extra hours. They have a garage that makes it easy to get to your room. There are meters for parking beside the hotel.
The breakfast was pre package muffins and cereal.
We had a room with three double beds. The room was clean. Our stay was one night I would not recommend for a week long stay. They have an outside shower beside the hotel. The pool was roof top. It is in need of some touch up.
The staff was friendly and you are in the heart of Dewey.
There was a fridge and microwave in the room and flat screen tv.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

nice place in heart of dewey beach area. Walking access to several eating spots and also several night places/ bars. the best part was a 2 minute walk up to beach and easy walk back. thsi was the best benefit of the hotel location. Room and amenities are good and staff was better than average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed in a room with 3 double beds. Just barely enough space for 6 adults, but it worked. Clean rooms. Great location to beach, bars, and restaurants in Dewey Beach. COLD SHOWERS. Nice rooftop with lounge chairs and pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Breakfast was terrific! Boxed and unboxed cereals, fresh batter for Belgian Waffles & easy to use waffle maker, some of the BEST hotel coffee.....I should know, my wife and I grind our own beans for our drip coffeemaker (cost of Keurig is over the top.....my editorial), bagels, toast, juice, yogurt, hard-boilded eggs, fruit---did I miss something? Adequate indoor parking; EVERYTHING worked in the spacious room. It was clean, made up every morning, safe, quite, lots of light and a TV with "sleep" and good channel choices. A working prompt elevator, and just a one block walk to the Dewey Beach! Really, it was nice for my wife and I for the 5 nights we were there. Maybe $209 a night is a little pricey, but it was season, and by the beach, and a well run hotel. By the way, the front desk went out of their way to answer our questions, give directions when needed, and was always very friendly.

Room Tip: 4th floor is where the breakfast room and the pool are at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I didn't pay for a 5 star hotel and this wasn't 5 star... but it was clean, the people were very nice and helpful and it is in a great location. It was an easy 3 minute walk to the beach. I'm not at all dissatisfied and if I returned to Dewey Beach this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf

Address: 1400 Highway One, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Leaf Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Best Western Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.