We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit in the off-season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Highway One, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Conesus, NY
1 review
“Visit in the off-season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Maria at the front desk had us checked in super fast & was a great help pointing us to local attractions & food. The parking garage is tight but great to minimize long carries & avoid the coastal weather. The room was clean & the housekeepers were on top of things. The off-season stay was very quiet. We had the beach almost to ourselves. Yvonne, the hostess for breakfast, was very gracious and welcoming. Everything was well stocked, clean & orderly. She especially shone while helping families with young children. she clearly made the children feel welcomed and special & I could tell that the parents were grateful for the help in getting breakfast underway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    75
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
68
59
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Close to Tanger outelts, restaurants, close to beach, clean, front desk clerks were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good, lots of items to choose from. Nice stay at a good price.
Room had coffeemaker, frdige, and microwave. Second time I stayed here. Will come again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator and breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel seems relatively new to the area. The outside and inside have a very modern look. The room was gorgeous and perfect for couples looking to get away. It had a king size bed, a perfect view of the bay and sunset, microwave, refrigerator/freezer and a newer LG HDTV. Throughout the room there is plenty of space for bags or luggage. The shower was roomy and clean on arrival. The breakfast had hard boiled eggs, make your own waffles, danishes, bagels, mini muffins, cereals, fruit, oatmeal, juices and more. The patio area was nice to eat at in the morning. The Fitness Center looked clean and well kept. The pool is 3 to 4 feet deep and looked clean. Our sleep however was interrupted in the morning by the construction going on across the street and all the road noise from Coastal Hwy. I will definitely come back to this hotel if I am in the area.

Room Tip: Bayside room had horrible road noise from Coastal Hwy. and construction across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked fourteen rooms at the hotel for two nights of accomodations for our daughter's wedding. We all received excellent service over the two days. The staff quickly assisted us with unexpected needs from setting up a table in our room for a buffet for the pre-wedding lunch to providing an extension cord and surge protector for the hairdresser at the last minute. We found the entire staff to be friendly and they were always willing to help in any way, whether it was making parking room for the limo, quickly bringing extra towels, or any other last minute request. The rooms were clean and comfortable with coffee makers, a small refrigerator, a microwave, and a safe. There was a nice continental breakfast, and the beach was a block away. We will definitely make this hotel our "home away from home" whenever we visit Dewey Beach!
.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels234
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Clean, comfortable, excellent service and prices. Safe garage parking. What else would you need in a Dewey Hotel.

One negative: I could have been a bit cleaner upon checkin, but I blame that type of crowd (partying kids) Dewey attracts.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Accepted handicapped-accessible room pushed on us -- Big mistake. That meant no counter around a small sloping porcelain sink and nowhere to put stuff. Shower consisted of a hanging spray nozzle and water ran out all over the bathroom floor. I'm a wiser traveler now for the lesson on reservations.

Horrifying: lots of sand in the bed. Obviously had not changed the sheets from the last guest. Corrected promptly, however. How many others slept on unchanged sheets where there wasn't tell-tale sand?

Minor annoyances: Coffee not replaced after first day, kleenex not replaced in bathroom. But boy, that tips envelope is stood up very prominently with each cleaning.

Acted like it would be a pain to give me a bill at checkout. I've been spoiled by hotels that just slip it under the door at night. I said "mail it," never got one.

All that said, I'd stay there again, wiser about handicapped rooms, stand ground on invoice. Convenient, clean, easy parking, quiet, friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new castle, Delaware, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had an ok stay that the Best Western (BW). The staff was friendly, rooms were clean, the rates were decent, and it was walking distance from the beach, dining, and bars. The parking garage was very limited and tight but it was nice to have easy access to your room from the garage (if you were able to find a spot on your room’s level). The fitness center (FC) seems well equipped with the basics. One of the reasons I chose this hotel was because of the onsite FC. However, I forgot to pack my workout gear so I didn’t get to utilize the facility but I did stop in. As a runner, the treadmills were a little small for me but all the basic equipment (bike, treadmill, weights) was available for someone that wanted a quick workout. Overall the stay satisfied our goal (a quick, inexpensive getaway for me and the hubby).
However, the nightmare began after we checked out of the hotel. When we returned home our bank account had been depleted due to numerous charges from best western in error. The balance due at the time of check-in for our stay was $220 which we paid with a debt card. At the time of check-out, we were charged an additional nights stay of $115, a $200 hold was applied to our account for a parking decal (that was returned at check out), and $331.96 for the entire days stay. With all the inaccurate charges applied, we also assessed $170 in banking fees.
Though the hotel was “kind” enough to make all the necessary corrections and issue a refund for some of the fees we incurred, they did not cover all of them. Because of Best Western’s error we are out of $70, and we are currently awaiting the additional $485 of our money to be returned which was indicated by BW that it could take up to 7-10 business days.
Outside of the inconvenience, the General Manager refused to discuss this issue with me letting his onsite staff handle the matter. Per his staff, he indicated that even though BW has imposed a major hardship on me and my family right now, they will no longer make any more accommodations (returning the money we lost because of their error) for us. In the meantime, BW has lost our business and recommendations. I’d advise if you don’t plan on lending your money to BW Gold Leaf DON’T STAY HERE.
I plan to seek legal counsel to recover my $70.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf

Address: 1400 Highway One, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Best Western, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Leaf Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Best Western Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.