We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't be going back!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Highway One, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #14 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“won't be going back!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The only thing good about this hotel is that it is close to the beach. The breakfast is.... not breakfast, a line to make your own waffles, the coffee was cold and not strong, the OJ watery. The hotel doesn't have central ac so the breakfast room was a sauna. the room itself is spacious but not very clean. the carpet had a bunch of stains and the pillows were hard and the mattress too soft. the bathroom was smelly since we got there, the shower really small. the ac was very noisy!! all in all it was bad!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    25
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel advertises as being in Rehoboth Beach, but it is really in Dewey Beach at the intersection of Dickinson and Rt 1A, about 5 blocks from the Rehoboth city line. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. the room AC is quiet and easy to regulate. the cleaning staff is efficient and does a wonderful job. one morning we asked the maid to come back later in the day because we had to do some work and make a conference call to check in with our office, and she was not at all put out by our request. nice sized fridge, and also has a microwave. free internet is easy to access. pool is sparkling clean and the area is very well kept. pool is 3 and 4 feet deep, which is great for kids. free breakfast is yogurt, boiled eggs, pastries, a few dry cereals, make-your-own belgian waffles, coffee, juice, milk. furnishings have been recently updated, and are very stylish. has a parking garage and a 1-car per room limit. If you have more cars, you need to buy a parking pass from Town Hall, which is just a block away from the hotel. there's access to each floor of the garage from each floor of the hotel (if your room is on the 2nd floor, park on the 2nd floor of the garage.) it's a 5 minute walk to the beach.
The hotel has a policy that if rowdy/loud guests do not quiet down after one warning from hotel staff, they will be asked to leave the hotel. unfortunately, we had a bunch of young adults move in to the room next to us and they began playing music and talking loudly after 10pm. we called the front desk, and the hotel staff were knocking on their door within minutes, and firmly gave them a warning. and we had a quiet night!

Room Tip: our room faced Dickinson Ave, and it was very quiet during the night. other rooms face the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel with our 2 teenage daughters this past week and had a very positive experience. The location is perfect on the East side of Rte. 1 so no busy streets to cross. It's just a short block to the ocean. Parking in the hotel garage was plentiful. The rooms were very spacious and nicely decorated. There was a good-size refrigerator and the beds were comfortable with nice linens and ample pillows. The front desk staff was very accommodating to our request for joining rooms and other daily questions including a request to send out a fax. The complimentary breakfast buffet was adequate, and the coffee was surprisingly good and strong! Everything was clean and welcoming. The only bad thing I can think of was the shower in the bathroom. The water pressure was very weak resulting in a very disappointing shower. The front office said this was due to water conservation. Other than that, we loved this hotel and will go back again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family stayed here for one night in July. The room fit our needs (had three beds), and had a minifridge and microwave. The french doors were nice, but it would have been nice to have a balcony. The short walk to/view of the bay and the ocean was nice. The main water view from our room was of the bay. The hotel seemed very choppy. There wasn't an easy way to get around. You had to go down multiple hallways just to get to the elevator. The lobby was tiny, and awkward to walk through with the front desk workers staring at you. The free wifi was great! The pool was dirty, with lots of drunk people. The exercise room had a nice location (near pool), and nice equipment, but was dirty. The room was clean, but the day we were leaving we were rushed by the cleaning staff to leave our room. They were standing outside the door while we were trying to take stuff to the car and get ready to leave, which was very annoying. The staff at the front desk were friendly. The lobby was crowded. The breakfast was ok, nothing special, but the breakfast room was like a storage room and was very dirty. We might stay here for another quick trip to the beach, but not for more time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Older hotel that has been updated cosmetically by fresh paint. Location is great and within 1 block of the beach (actually Dewey Beach, not Rehoboth). Rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and we appreciated the air conditioning. Rooms had a minifridge and microwave. Staff were very friendly and asked if we needed anything to please let them know. Our complaints were minor : 1) shower easily leaks onto the bathroom floor because there is only a small lip in the bottom of the shower for the shower curtain 2) Pool needed some work as it had some chipped paint on the bottom 3) Our room was located right in front of the ice machine which was loud when everyone came to fill their ice chests in the morning for the beach. Traffic can be loud at night with windows open but we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, MD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We used to take our dog here and it is a great place. Clean, comfortable and close to the beach. meets the Best Western standards. Gets rowdy during the season considering it's location, so close to RudderTown, but great for a fun getaway weekend with friends. Will go back when we have another dog!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My family and I just returned from a 3 day vacation at Dewey Beach, DE. We stayed in the Best Western Gold Leaf. It was a very nice basic hotel. (not comparable to the resorts we are used to in Myrtle Beach) We stayed in the room with three double beds. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were great. The hotel is clean and the rooms are tastefully decorated. There is a pool and tanning deck on the roof. The hotel is ocean block and within walking distance to many great restaurants and bars. The hotel staff was very friendly. Front desk staff friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. We arrived earlier than check in to enjoy time on the beach and they allowed us to park in the hotel parking garage and called me on my cell when the room was ready. The continental breakfast offered a decent variety (including waffles) but the coffee was super strong!

Cons: Hallways are a little dirty and not as nicely maintained as the rooms. Wish the rooms had balconies. Dewey Beach is a party beach for "20 somethings" on the weekends and the proximity to the bar scene makes it a little loud in the middle of the night.

Overall good experience for a 3 day trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf

Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Leaf Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Best Western Gold Leaf Hotel
Best Western Rehoboth Beach
Rehoboth Beach Best Western
Address: 1400 Highway One, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.