We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, priced right, special touches.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crosswinds Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crosswinds Motel
Save
You added Crosswinds Motel to your Saves list
312 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Brick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, priced right, special touches.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Having lived & worked in Rehoboth years ago, I'm used to seeing high prices for hotels (if they are available) and in restaurants. The Crosswinds was a breath of fresh air! It was not just a great deal, it was a great deal for a fantastic room and location.
On our way back from Virginia, we made the last minute decision to stay overnight in Rehoboth IF we could find a reasonable room. While enjoying dinner at Dogfish Head, we noticed the Crosswinds right next door. The price was right and our bartender recommended it.
Since i had done no research, i had no expectations. We were pleasantly suprised! From the outside the Crosswinds looks like many beach motels. The room wasn't huge but it wasn't cramped either. It wasTHE cleanest, and among the most updated, i have stayed in on the beach. The beds were firm and comfortable, and the sheets were great. There were plenty of fresh towels (skimpy towels are my pet peeve). Modern touches like an iPod docking station (which i used), free WiFi, and a Keureg coffee machine made it even better.
My husband said that the girl at the front desk made him feel very welcome as a walk in customer with no reservation. Since discovering the Crosswinds, we may be spending more time staying in Rehoboth and less time just passing through!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosswinds312, Manager at Crosswinds Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us enough to want to come back again. Rehoboth is too great of a town to just keep passing through ~ you'll love spending some time exploring the shops and all the great restaurants in town ~ especially Dogfish Head, our neighbor.

It is so nice to be able to share with the rest of the staff how their hard work makes our guests feel welcome and comfortable. So, once again thank you and I hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    58
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
41
94
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We just love the Crosswinds, and so would Special Agent Dale Cooper of Twin Peaks, who valued a "clean room, reasonably priced." On first glance, this is a spotless, spartan little motel, but there are so many little extras, like really lovely sheets, great, firm mattresses, and subtle touches of tasteful, mid-Century retro decor. We first stayed there when our band played the wonderful Dogfish Head, but it was so nice we've returned for non-working vacations as well--and, we've brought friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosswinds312, Manager at Crosswinds Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for the awesome review! I can't think of a nicer thing than to think that Special Agent Dale Cooper would approve.

We're glad you liked us enough to share us with your friends and can't wait for your next trip to Rehoboth and the Crosswinds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here on a truly dreary rainy weekend two weeks ago. We arrived at the same time as a bachelor party of about ten guys (five rooms total) and things were not looking good. The weather never did clear up but our experience at the hotel did. Gina was incredibly warm and welcoming and assured us our room would be out of the way of the bachelor party. We stayed in one of the back corner rooms -- the windows face out the back of the hotel rather than at the parking lot - and I highly recommend it. The room was spotless and upgradted and the furniture was comfortable.

Each room has a refrigerator and keurig coffee maker. The bathrooms look brand new -- with nice double sinks. Someone earlier complained about the toiletries -- they were using Bee Fresh natural soap and shampoos when we were there and we truly enjoyed it.

The place has just enough parking paces for rooms, so don't plan on more than one car per spot, and it is not handicapped accessible as you have to climb stairs to get to the rooms. And though warned by another viewer, I did scrape my arm on the stucco -- stay away from it.

The hotel is a little bit of a walk to the beach, but we like to walk and the weather was miserable at the beach any way! It became a beer tasting weekend for us. As others have said, you cannot beat the price. $65 on Friday, $110 on Saturday.

Room Tip: get the back rooms - where the windows face backwards and not in the lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosswinds312, Manager at Crosswinds Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
I remember the weekend well!

I love those corner rooms too. Once you get to the room it is almost like you are the only ones here and on a pretty day, you can actually open the window and get some fresh air! Hopefully, if you come again the weather will cooperate and you can see what I mean.

I want to thank you for the very nice review and I hope we get a chance to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed at the Crosswinds for two nights this weekend, and the experience was fantastic. The rooms are spacious and very clean; the beds are comfortable; the location is great; and the staff is really friendly. Given the affordable price, I really wasn't expecting it to be so nice. This is definitely going to be our go-to place at Reheboth from now on.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosswinds312, Manager at Crosswinds Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and couldn't be happier that we were able to make your stay comfortable.

Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, Vermont
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were in town to visit Dogfish Head pub, so already we were won over by the location right next door. But that aside, the Crosswinds was clean, comfortable and just a short walk from the boardwalk. At just $70 for the night it was a very good deal and well worth the occaisional noise from the group of wedding party revellers filling much of the motel the night I was there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosswinds312, Manager at Crosswinds Motel, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do love how our Dogfish Head loving guests appreciate how close we are to a great brew and I'm glad the wedding party didn't disturb you too much while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Third time we have stayed at the Crosswinds, the first time this year. Was wonderful to be recognized and greeted by the staff by sight. The rooms have received some updating, new paint (white), new sink countertops (with two sinks in room 101), the open closet is now finished with some nice darker tone woods that ties in with the wood that trims the sinks, retiling and bathtub surround in the bathroom. And for room 101 a window has been added which really brightens the room up a lot. All makes the Crosswinds even nicer if that is possible compared to last years stays there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosswinds312, Manager at Crosswinds Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
It is always nice to see guests come back and we are so glad you came to stay with us again. We are happy you liked the renovations. It was amazing, even to us, to see how much brighter that room got with the new paint and most of all the new window.

Thank you for the very nice compliments, it means alot to us to know the changes are liked and appreciated and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Rehoboth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount royal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the Crosswinds April 2012 for a 2 night stay over a weekend. Great value and we were shocked how nice and clean the rooms were. The staff was friendly and on top of everything and housekeeping was great with the upkeep of the room. Flat screen tv, keurig coffee maker, and updated rooms made this a wonderful stay. The beds were a bit stiff but that really wasn't a negative thing, I rather have that issues than have a dirty room and ours was very clean and nice. Great location by Dogfish Brewery and a couple of blocks from the beach. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosswinds312, Manager at Crosswinds Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
I was recently told that we are a "Motel" with the heart of a Hotel.

Thanks so much for your review. We are so pleased that you were happy with the room. I have such a wonderful housekeeping staff they work very hard and are proud of the work they do it is nice to be able to show them that their hard work makes a difference to our guests.

We'll be looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crosswinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosswinds Motel

Address: 312 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Crosswinds Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Crosswinds Motel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosswinds Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.