We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, however.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nage

Nage
19730 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302- 226-2037
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 233 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Located in Shore Plaza, across from the Tanger Outlets - Seaside
Description: "Worth The Trip!" writes the Washington Post about this foodie Bistro.... Numerous 'Best of Delaware' awards winner for best restaurant, best chef, best wine list, best burger, best cocktail menu and more in recent years. The beach locals have been loving this off-the-beaten path foodie spot for 9 years and it is consistently friendly and delicious! Daily Happenings!Happy Hour Daily 4:00 to 6:00pm drink and food specialsSunday nights thru the summer is Seafood SupperMonday nights is Meatless Monday a treat for Vegetarians and VegansWednesday is ladies night in our Wine Bar Thursday all summer is our Farm to Table focus: Weekly featured farmer -- "You traveled farther than your food did"
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, however.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

While the food at this restaurant was above average, the ambiance was pretty much non-existing.
Nage is poorly located in a small strip mall on Rt 1 lacking good signage. The interior is equally lackluster, somewhat industrial looking with a high noise level. Fortunately the excellent, fresh *farm to table* food more than made up for these negatives. Our attentive server brought a warm bread stuffed with roasted garlic and served with seasoned olive oil. We began our meal with the baked oyster asiago.....amazing! The filet mignon, a generous center cut, was cooked medium rare to perfection, served with a blue cheese butter/demi glace, truffle potato cake and haricots verts. A tuna entree special was equally delicious and creatively prepared. All in all, we completely enjoyed our dinner, but wish the location could be in town ... that might make the NYC prices a bit more palatable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Owner at Nage, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Nancy,

Thanks for taking the time to write the review! We appreciate all the feedback. We are planning an interior dining room renovation for Winter 2014. As we approach our 10 year anniversary, we want to modernize the dining room to today's standards.

Have a great memorial day weekend.

Cheers,

Josh G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    50
    22
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit in a town full of 4 star restaurants...this one stand out again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful farm to table menu....wonderful wine list...amazing cheese plate, steak, sides, desserts, drinks...I can go on but you get the point...rehoboth has an endless amount of the best restaurants, nage has kept their rep up....impressive and we will be back....one of the best...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best restraurant in Rehoboth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Looking for fabulous food, service, atmosphere and a good time? Visit Nage, you will not be disappointed. The food is superb and the staff is amazing, the best around! Nage is our favorite restraurant!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Starters and small plates good - mains - not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Before I wrote this review, I looked at the reviews of others to see where I might have missed something and where my impressions were confirmed. I think that I've got it right.
First - as to the noise levels. If the bar, which is between the two dining rooms has noisy people in it, the ability to converse without shouting when you're in a dining area is difficult. The whole place becomes too noisy to enjoy dinner conversation.
The truffle fries are good, but not to have alone. The mussels were also good size (others had said they were small) and the broth is good. Dip your bred in the sauce.
The crab cake was billed as a Chesapeake crab cake. It was awful. Stringy meat and no sweet Chesapeake flavor. Tasted like imported filler. The chicken cannelloni was a mushy mixture in an overdone cannelloni shell. Meat dishes seemed better.
They have a good sized wine list with a lot of wines by the glass. Pricing is around three times retail for a bottle of wine.
All-in-all based on the noise level, quality of mains vs starters and extensive wine list, Nage seems to have become an expensive bar scene place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Nage sits in an unprepossessing shopping center flanked by a meat market, a vacuum repair shop, its sister carry-out and a liquor store. But don't be fooled by the dowdy looking surroundings. The food is wonderful and inventive. On a recent visit I had the chef's vegetarian special of the day. It was delicious--grilled artichokes with ratatouille, gnocchi with peas and quinoa salad with beets. Highly recommend Nage.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nage also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Nage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.