We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, we took extra waffles home !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonna's Sweet Treats

Nonna's Sweet Treats
67 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE
302-227-3263
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So good, we took extra waffles home !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

After eating dinner at Arenas, we paid a visit to Nonnas. So glad we did, the waffles and ice cream were Amazing !! Staff was very friendly, owner took a few minutes to chat with is. Get to Nonnas early in the evening, it gets very crowded after dark. We are really enjoying the extra waffles we took home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YUM!!! A Must Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Definitely worth the visit! All Home baked goodies! Fresh Cannoli Shells being made, Laige Waffles to die for, topped with just about whatever you want, be it the famous Bassett's Ice Cream or Fresh Fruit. A must, is a piece of Italian Butter Rum Cake or the Pizza Frietz(sp?)...fried dough dredge in sugar or cinnamon sugar...OMG! There were just too many other goodies. We will definitely have to go back to try. Fun, friendly atmosphere...Kudo's, for hitting it on the nail

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Ice" scream YES to Nonna's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I scream yes to Nonna's and you will too! Imagine a warm, homemade, waffle perfectly grilled with a light coating of caramelized sugar topped with Basset's ice cream and your favorite toppings. My husband and I shared Nutella with vanilla...loaded with whipped cream and a cherry on top! (So yummy, next time I am getting my own).
Nonna's is owner operated and located right next to the Kite Shop Toy Store on the Avenue. Save room for dessert and make your way to Nonna's. All around terrific people serving up delicious treats, worth every cent and calorie!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We happened to stumble across this gem for dessert! We ordered the S'mores Waffle and got some pizelles to go. The combination of the marshmallow, graham crackers and waffles were unbelievably good! The pizelles were good by themselves and didn't even need anything on top of them. You could tell everything was homemade by how delicious it was! Not only was the desserts amazing but the people were equally as sweet! I loved the way everyone treated you like an old friend when you came in the bakery! I can't wait to go back again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Sweet New Treats at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I live in Rehoboth Beach and was downtown with my visiting mother from Pennsylvania. We had had a lovely dinner and were taking a short stroll before heading to the car when we came across Nonna's. The sweet smells emanating from the store were enough to entice us inside. We were greeted by smiling staff behind the counter. They were in the process of making Belgian waffles, but quickly engaged us in conversation. We were told about the waffle-making process and the choices for dressing them. (and given samples) We were told about their Bassett's ice-cream. (and given samples) We were shown around the store and all of the delicious offerings were explained. Nonna herself was present and circulating through the store and speaking to customers.
As the attached photos show, the store's offerings include the waffles and fixings, ice cream and fixings, pizzelles and fixings, and Italian specialty baked goods.
We chose a "cannoli waffle," a waffle with cannoli filling and chocolate sauce and a large waffle cone filled with "gadzooks" chocolate ice cream. Everything was delicious. We also took a half-dozen "lemon ricotta cookies" and a couple of "cannolis" to-go. They were excellent the next morning with coffee.
The store was moderately busy, yet the employees were very engaged. Frank Sinatra-style music played and provided a terrific accompaniment to the goings-on.
Someone (not in our party) commented on the prices being a tad high. I would suggest that the prices are quite in line with the store's novelty (there are no other Italian sweets stores in Rehoboth) and location (beach block).
I will definitely make my way back to Nonna's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonna's Sweet Treats also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Nonna's Sweet Treats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonna's Sweet Treats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.