We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Comfortable and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach View Motel
6 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient, Comfortable and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beach View Motel with offstreet parking is less than 100 yards from the Rehobeth boardwalk. Reasonably priced and comfortable, with breakfast included, and a friendly staff, it is a bargain compared to most other local facilities. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Higher floors--there are three, have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    118
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
242
154
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delran, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rehoboth Beach has been our "go to" place for short vacations once or twice a year for many years. We are retired now and enjoy taking advantage of lower rates by doing midweek off-season getaways. More often than not, we stay at the Avenue Inn, but we thought we'd give the Beach View a try for a 3-night stay this past week. Taking the advice of fellow TripAdvisors, we opted for a 3rd-floor King room, which was the same price as the King rooms at the Avenue Inn ($99/night) for the same nights.

The Beach View is a clean, simple, traditional shore motel, and it was perfectly adequate for our needs. You may get more amenities for your money at the more elegant Avenue Inn: the rooms are larger, the bathrooms are bigger, the bedding is finer, the elevators are faster, the pool is indoors and heated, there is a sauna, a steam room, and an exercise room, and the parking is more spacious and underground. But the Avenue Inn is a full block away from the boardwalk, whereas the Beach View is just one building away from the boardwalk, and you can see the ocean from your balcony. In addition, the Beach View seemed quieter, since there is less traffic and noise. The breakfasts are identical and evening wine and cookies are served at both.

Over the years, we've also stayed at two oceanfront hotels in Rehoboth: the Henlopen Hotel and the Atlantic Sands. Their "oceanview" rooms (those on the north or south sides of the building) are comparable to the Beach View in price and amenities. But in our estimation, their staffs seemed cold, unfriendly, and in some instances downright unhelpful, and we've stopped staying at those. There is something about being greeted by name and treated like family that makes us come back to the Avenue Inn time and again, and we felt that same intimacy and cordiality at the Beach View.

To sum up, we think the Beach View offers a very nice alternative to the Avenue Inn when you prefer being closer to the beach and seeing a view of the ocean over having a slightly larger, more elegantly appointed room and more elaborate facilities.

Room Tip: The third floor "Balcony King" rooms offer a nice view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph,nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location is perfect, the staff friendly and accommodating and parking is very convenient. The rooms are immaculate, breakfast was awesome and the wine and snacks were a really nice touch.
Best of all, the Beach View Motel is a great value and I would stay there again and again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I know that the Beach View is considered the "less expensive" sister of the Avenue Inn. I was referred here once when the Avenue Inn was full. I found I so enjoyed this place that I come back every time I am in Rehoboth. the staff are very friendl. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I like the breakfast. I could do some of my work on the available computer when I forgot mine. The dining/sitting area is welcoming with very comfortable furniture. I like the way the walk ways are lit. Simply said, we are happy here.

Room Tip: We like the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been staying in Rehoboth for Easter weekend for over a decade. This is the first year we stayed at Beach View. The location was great for wandering over to the beach with our girls, and the lack of leaves on the trees gave us a view of the water even from our first floor room. And, since Funland was still closed for the season, we had no problem there.

In comparison to other hotels in town, there are some pros and cons to choosing the Beach View.

First, I'll discuss the negatives. The rooms are a little small, especially the bathrooms. The vanity is in the room, which is good for getting multiple people ready. If for some odd reason you don't shut the door before sitting on the toilet, you will have a problem getting the door past your knees. The tub is shallow, and the shower could benefit from one of those curved shower rods. Parking is tight in the lot and expensive out of the lot in the summer months. There are three different floor coverings in the room to separate the spaces, but do not let your kid walk in the wood in socks, as they will wipeout. And beware the tile in bare feet as it is soooooo cold. There is only one elevator, and it can be slow, even when it is not busy.

But here is why you should ignore all that and stay here anyway. There are two outdoor showers, and you are so close to the boardwalk, you can use the foot wash there very easily. The pool may be small, but the ocean is RIGHT THERE so why would you care. You can park your car when you arrive and never move it until it is time to leave. Even if you want to go out to the outlets, you can ride the bus, which has the main stop less than a block away. There are beach chairs to borrow (for free!) and several sets of stairs near nearly every room.

The room seems smaller because the beds are bigger- actual Queen sized. My 12 y.o. girl, 4 y.o. girl, and I all fit comfortably on the bed for a midday nap. There is a larger refrigerator and microwave for leftovers, and when ours was being contrary, a maintenance worker was there in less than ten minutes, even after nine PM during the shoulder season. The decks facing Wilmington Avenue provide an additional space to separate family members when necessary. There are four dresser drawers, two of which are very deep.

Unlike any other hotel I have stayed in within the city, this hotel serves breakfast. They have tiny egg frittatas and "French toast muffins". I loved the French toast, as it had whole wheat bread, chopped fresh apples, and was very filling. They also have fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, real bagels, and assorted pastries. In the evening, there is wine and, at bedtime, cookies. The lobby has two nice, cozy sitting areas for hanging out.

There are cheaper places to stay, and much more expensive places to stay. But for the money (we paid $95 a night Easter weekend), you will be glad you picked Beach View.

Room Tip: If you are keen on the view, you have to get a third floor room racing Wilmington Avenue. If you ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our second visit to the Beach View and it will NOT be our last!! The main thing about this place is the cleanliness. You can tell they pride themselves on offering a clean, neat, comfortable place for visitors. The bedding was pristine, the mattress comfortable, no stains on anything, including the carpet, and I am one fussy gal. Friendly service at the front desk, and a GREAT breakfast! I love the "omelette cups" and the fruit and yogurt options. Something for everyone. The wine and cookies and also a welcoming touch.

Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our first mini vacation with our 5 month old son. And it was perfect! We got stuck in traffic for over 6 hours on the way down (normally takes 3) and it was awful! However when we finally arrived, we were greeted at the front desk with cookies & wine ;) Needless to say, that helped us unwind after the long trip. The location is PERFECT, right near the beach and for older kids right near Funland. We loved it and will return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach View Motel

Address: 6 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value are why guests return again and again to the BeachView. Our fantastic location offers great ocean views and easy access to all of Rehoboth’s attractions. Coupled with exceptionally clean rooms and the friendliest staff anywhere, the BeachView is your best choice when searching for beach accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach View Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beach View Motel to your Saves list