We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS WAS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY AND THE STAFF WAS GREAT!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirates Cove Motel

Save Saved
You added Pirates Cove Motel to your Saves list
Pirates Cove Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pirates Cove Motel
625 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Sound Beach, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THIS WAS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY AND THE STAFF WAS GREAT!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I have to say that this was a great place to stay. My husband and I were in OC and on way back decided to stop in Rehoboth Beach. We came upon the Pirates Cove Motel and stopped in. The owner was very nice and accommodating. The price was very desirable and the room was clean. I would definitely come back and stay here again.......!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010 via mobile

If you need a basic, clean room within 5 minutes of the boardwalk and beach this is a great place. It was 100 less than most motels in the area. Furniture in the rooms isn't new, but is in good repair. Everything worked. Management was very nice. Good room if you are on a budget with a family. Save the money for something fun.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Very bad, Old dump needs major overhaul. Stayed in old shack aka cottage entire place reaked of old booze and smoke, from the burned out old shack on the property. This place needs to be comdeamed by the powers that be. Words fail me on how bad this place is, we lost out on our money and went to a decent hotel down the street. The owners Pat and Joe live in a luxuary home next door with views away from this dump, Do they even know or care about what a slum that they have? Only the money OH no parking only for one car! check out the photo below, if you dont believe us, do a drive by first, you will be glad that you did!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

I have read the reviews that claim lack of towels,hot water, etc etc etc. I just spent two nights there and it was your average budget hotel. They gave extra towels when asked. Never had any problems with the hot water. They have no pool but the ocean is only 6 blocks away. Real nice board walk on the beach and the staff was helpful. You do get what you pay for but if you are looking for a cheaper stay to just have a bed to sleep in, this will do.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of tv channels on a rainy day
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

I travel a lot and can honestly say this hotel was fine for the money. It is a bit of a walk, but still walkable to all that is happeining in Rehoboth (if you aren't carrying a bunch of beach stuff). The room (directly above office) was clean and just fine. The check in and out service was friendly. The breakfast place across the street was excellent.

It had everthing I needed: An available room when I needed it, it wasn't creepy, in walking distance to Rehobouth beach, the price was right. What do you expect? The Ritz at $300 a night? That is what you get if they close their doors.

  • Liked — price and availability
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

In my humble opionion the owners need to take a serious look at the place and decide to renovate or sell to a new business.
The place is relatively clean but the furniture is run down and so is the mattress.
And there is always the problem with the hot water...it is slow coming and you wonder it there is going to be any and the pressure is bad.
There is a thin line between the distressed look and depressed look so decide and enjoy accordingly.
I felt safe and the place is quiet and they try to keep it as neat as possible.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

This place was really pretty bad. There was miss information on their website. I believed I was getting a cottage but when I got there I found that we were staying in an attic like efficiency above the garage. The place was very dated, (which in and of itself was not a big deal to us) not well kept and even dirty! All of this was a dissapointment but we told our selves it will do because our main agenda was to hang out on the beach all weekend. Waking up to go to the beach we found that there was no hot water to take showers. When addressing this with the staff we were treated rather rudely and confrontational - at the very least deffensive, telling us how we could leave but good luck finding a place and besides everything else was way more expensive so we were getting a deal.
If you like cheesy wood paneling from the seventies, dirty carpets with iron burn marks and filthy box fans blowing in your face that must not have been cleaned in YEARS then please book your reservations now. If this does not appeal to you run, run far, far, far away like we did!!!!!

  • Liked — Such a dump and treated so rudely we didn't care if we were being loud and had guests over late.
  • Disliked — Treated poorly and felt great hostility and lack of accountability from the staff and owners.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pirates Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Cove Motel

Address: 625 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pirates Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates Cove Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirates Cove Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.