We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fins Fish House & Raw Bar

Fins Fish House & Raw Bar
243 Rehoboth Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2137
302-226-3467
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Phiadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Wanted to go somewhere special for Anniversary took the Ferry from Cape May. Was told by a few people that this was the place for seafood. I had a broiled combo (Shrimp, Crab Cake Scallops, and Stuffed Flounder). Sauce was like a scampi sauce. Shrimp were small probably med or large, everything else was fair to good. NO bread on table would have been nice with scampi sauce served in a take out type dish, nothing fancy. one side included got broccoli (only veggie offered) Salad was fair (at a 8.95 price) My wife had fried shrimp platter mac & cheese side and tater tots. No too impressive looked like a fast food dinner. Taste fair.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    117
    45
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Average Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Was told by more than one person that this was the place to go for the best seafood in town. A lot of reivews on Trip Advisor also rave about this place. First impression: service was lacking. Barely acknowledged by hostess and was made to feel like we were making them work way to hard just to seat us. Took forever for the server to take our order and even longer for the food to arrive. Food was so-so. Crab soup was tasteless and my lobster was rubbery. Server failed to mention that the kids menu was on the back of the coloring page the kids were given and we would not have ordered an additional meal for them to split if this was brought up during the ordering process.

Got the feeling that this place is coasting on a past reputation and nostalgia from the locals and seasonal visitors that keep coming back. Final issue? When the server eventually asked "How was everything?", told them that the fish platter was overcooked. They simply smirked: "Oh, that's too bad; would you like to order dessert?" It's probably time for management to clean house and focus on customer service. Had a difficult time leaving a tip and found the prices a bit high for a so-so dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overrated! Calimari had no seasoning and was not crisp. Mahi was just ok; Mac n cheese was not spectacular and broccoli was over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed in the food. Margeaux was very helpful and attentive however the food didn't live us to other reviews. Our meal at Adriatico was far superior. Even the crabcake special at Crabby Dick's and their addictive popcorn was much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places at the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Every time we stay at Rehoboth Beach, our first dinner is always at Fins. We have the chopped salad or house salad...very fresh and filled with good things, and always the steamed shrimp and great beer! Once we go to Fins, we know we're on vacation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice place, very nice staff who are professional and attentive. Food was good. Very good selection of craft beers. Overall a nice place to stop in for a beer and sandwich. Better than average service for the beach area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins Fish House & Raw Bar also viewed

 

Been to Fins Fish House & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fins Fish House & Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.