We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food but very noisy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fins Ale House and Raw Bar

Fins Ale House and Raw Bar
19269 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
+(1)3022273467
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Seafood, Oyster Bar
Restaurant details
Milton, Delaware
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Decent food but very noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I stopped in on a dreary week night. The tiny parking lot was full but we did get a table right away, To start off with, the tables are jammed together and the noise level is almost intolerable. Even the waitress had to come closer to each of us to get our orders. We started with fried green tomatoes and calamari and both were very good. However, our entrees were delivered before we finished our appetizers and the busboy actually took the calamari away as my husband was eating it. I had an oyster po' boy with sweet potato fries and hubby had the fried shrimp plate. Both were quite good but again our dishes were picked up before we could put the silverware down. Considering the higher than average menu prices, we were very disappointed to be so rushed although it was good to get away from the noise. They do have a nice selection of craft beers. With all the great choices of restaurants in this area, I doubt we will return any time soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lebanon, pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood and craft beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Fabulous fresh oyster platter. Husband's shrimp and andouille sausage was great. Able to sample a couple of local beers. Friendly local pub that did not feel touristy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

To round up the long weekend we finally made it to Fins. Had a great time. Wonderful beer selection and the raw bar was the best. Can't say enough about that. From the raw bar to an oyster sandwich (PO BOY)..... Just great. Everyone on the group enjoyed their food and the service was great. I wish I could remember our waiters name. He was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Fish!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went to fins about a month after opening. One of us had the mahi mahi cooked to preference with the sides and the other the lobster roll. The mahi mahi was delicious as expected. The lobster roll was more than lacking. In fact, I expected there to be more lobster than mayo, but that wasn't what happened. So, if you want to pay market price for fish cooked to your preference, Fins is the place to go. If you want a lobster roll, try Maine.

The bar and oyster bar were more than just loud. The dining side was overrun with the noise and made it difficult to hear or carry on a conversation. I think it's probably a great place for noice and fun with a group or to meet up at the bar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Away From The Beach Crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were in Rehoboth last month and ate there 2 times in a row. Their happy hour is fantastic with great prices! The food was excellent and the bar tenders were super nice. You can't even compare it to Jake's across the street. The decor is new with a rustic charm. The bar top is gorgeous and not super high. I can't wait to go back:)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins Ale House and Raw Bar also viewed

 

Been to Fins Ale House and Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fins Ale House and Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.