We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Breakers Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Willingboro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have stayed at this Motel/Hotel many times over the past 20 years. It is nice, clean but a little dated. The prices average over $200 in the summer. The location is great and near beach and pier. The breakfast buffet was just o.k. There was a slight odor coming from the A.C. and the balcony could stand a scrubbing. The staff were nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    49
    35
    20
    30
See reviews for
47
47
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My Birthday stay was Monday through Wednesday. It was very nice ! No problem with parking , good check out time, very clean & helpful service from everyone on site. The room 310 was redone recently as the décor was as nice as the Tropicana's new rooms! We enjoyed quiet sleep & it was close to all the sopping , eateries & Beach! We also enjoyed the pool with an open ceiling view of the Moon ! A walk in Gerar park was beautiful and right across the street ! Very peaceful & romantic Birthday ! Thank you for being there Breakers! As Good As It Gets! :)

Room Tip: Street side standard room with private balcony , 2 full beds , fridge, coffee maker, microwave, hair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Let me start by saying that we have stayed at this hotel 2 to 3 times a year for over 15 years. It has a great location. Over the years the rates have continued to climb. This stay averaged over $300 per night. On our bill I noticed that they now charge a daily fee to park your car. The rooms are adequate and clean but not worth the price. My problem on this trip was the noise from the room above us and the response ( or lack of ) of the management. On the first night of our 3 day stay the noise coming from this room and from their patio went on till 2;30 a.m. On the third night the partying started at midnight and went on until I went to the front desk and complained.at 2:15 a.m. The response was that it must be room 218 again. A guard was sent to investigate and the police were called. Things got quiet for awhile and then started up again until 4:00 a.m. When we checked out we explained to the staff that we had a horrible stay we got not even " We're sorry ." The only response was, " Do you want a receipt. "

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor (5th).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Not only was it over priced for how completely dated (see hotel scene from National Lampoons Vacation for reference) but it was filthy (dead bugs on the floor) and the kicker is they double charged my credit card! Spend your money elsewhere!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have stayed now three different times at the Breakers. The hotel has undergone some renovations and continues to update the outside from normal weather conditions. Overall the hotel is not bad for the value and the close proximity to everything. If you are looking for a no thrills inn and walking distance to the beach and nightlife, look no further. If I had to make one recommendation it would be to get rid of the nasty bed spreads. It is the first thing I remove once I check-in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We brought a dog with us, so I can only comment on the rooms allocated to pet owners (they only have ground floor, back-of-the-hotel rooms for pets). If you want a palatial room, this is not the place for you. If you need a specific type of mattress, this is definitely not for you. This is also not a B&B (though breakfast is included.) This is not the Four Seasons. However, this is a perfect, easy place to take your dog and be able to enjoy Rehoboth, with friendly staff and a fantastic location.

We took a spontaneous day trip to Rehoboth hoping maybe we'd find space for the two of us and our dog to stay the night, and The Breakers was available and not crazy expensive. Some of the places require a $75-100 fee and are not within walking distance to anything. This is right within walking distance of the main streets, shops, and beach, and the staff is very friendly. It was definitely a little price for the quality of room (they all have two doubles, I think, in the pet rooms, and one of our mattresses was not good--but the dog loved it and we could share the other!). However, the room was *very* clean, very convenient, and really easy with our dog. It is right across the street from a little park and has lots of grass for dogs to use. There is a little deck area and parking is free. Breakfast at the Atlantic Grill is included, and it was great for what it is (a cheap buffet with good coffee, and overlooking the water)!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here once before and it was fine. This past weekend we just wanted to stay one night and the only available room was a 1 bedroom suite for $244. Decided to splurge. Oh my gosh. After spending the day and evening in Rehoboth (awesome as usual) we came back to our room. My husband and son soon went to bed while I decided to enjoy the separate living room to read for awhile.

It wasn't long before I noticed all the ants! The table next to the sofa and the wet bar (with my pb & J sandwich) were infested. YUCK. Decided to go to bed. The next day my husband mentioned the ants in the bedroom. Oh my gosh.

When we checked out, they said well the ants were only on the balcony, right? My husband laughed and said no, you need to spray all the rooms.

We definitely won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Address: 105 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakers Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Breakers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel And Suites
The Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.