We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE HORRIBLE all they do is LIE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Breakers Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE HORRIBLE all they do is LIE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

DO NOT GO HERE , all they do is LIE about prices and being a Luxury hotel and suites, are you kidding me it's not even worthy to be called a motel ,

They tell you one price then they change that ,, Bring your animal with you which is FREE they tell you on the phone, get there and they CHARGE you it ,,

No one ever seems to remember talking to anyone needs to get help , The front desk, employees, and MANAGERS are terrible .

I nice guy was at the front was all and will not see him again cause you could not pay me nor my family or friends or give me free rooms for life to go back ,

AC freezes all the time , not cleaned , the pool / lounge ares our lack of that not appealing .

I can go on and on, but it's a waist of my time .

In reality take a course on how you should REALLY treat your guest, specifically returning ones or as of now non returning ones .....

Room Tip: my tip to choose a room is DON'T ,, use a sleeping bag by the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    33
    19
    30
See reviews for
46
41
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during 4th of July week. Rug in room was dirty, needed major shampooing! Comforter on the bed was very stained. No attendant overseeing the parking lot of the hotel, so tourists park in the hotel lot and walk into town or spend the day at the beach. We arrived back to the hotel on Saturday night around 11:30. No spots at all. There was an employee checking cars for hotel stickers, but explained that they can't get tow trucks into their garage to tow illegally parked cars because the ceiling is too low. So why let them in in the first place?? We parked on the grass next to the dumpster
hoping we wouldn't get a ticket.
We were lucky, we didn't. At checkout my husband complained about the lack of parking and they did waive the $3.00 a day parking fee. So we got rewarded a whole $12.00 to be inconvenienced most of the week looking for parking. The location is convenient to walk into town or to the beach. Indoor pool on the 5th floor is small, but well maintained. The stay was just okay overall. I wouldn't recommend it to my friends nor would I be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to this hotel for 10 years and this past weekend was the worst! Do Not trust this hotel(should be named motel) upon check in we were in the wrong room, they immediately changed us to the suite we had paid for but put us on the 5th floor. The room(a non smoking room) smelled of smoke they offered room sprays but never actually brought them. The 5th floor was unfinished,hot,humid and dirty. The next morning when we awoke several men were outside our window painting(8am) they could see right in the window. When we left for the room we had to plug our noses because the workers were soooo smelly. When the air conditioner was finally installed it was leaking all over the 5th floor I had to go to the front desk to have them put a bucket down. On July 4th the hotel was a mess. 1 front desk employee. Many ppl NOT staying at the hotel parked their for fireworks. No one at the hotel stopped them. There was NO parking for guests who actually paid. When I asked what to do should we double park? she said "I dunno do what you got to do I guess" many guests were VERY upset. This lasted untill the morning of July 5th. That morning we found nails in our hallway... Probaly from construction not cleaned up. I have Many more complaints but that would take all day. When I complained I was told to wait until Saturday to speak with the manager... I spoke with Courtney who could have cared less about our complaints... She tried to tell me I got a discounted rate... When in reality I booked in April and that was the rate they were offering. She was very unaccomadating and not friendly didnt even apologize for all the problems and inconviences. After 10 years I
will never go back to this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here. Nothing is acceptable. The front desk staff could care less about tour stay. They act as if they are doing you a favor by giving you a room. I just heard one of them yelling at a customer who complained about the ac not working. (It is 90 degrees out!) The place is an outdated dump.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Checked into this dump and was immediately appalled by the poor condition of the rooms. There are holes and stains on the carpets, holes in the bedding, broken furniture and a table lamp sitting on the floor-no table. Unfortunately, the poor conditions of the rooms is minor compared with the aggressively poor customer service.

We were awakened early in the morning by the sound of construction on the roof (we were on the top floor of this section of the building.). This was not minor noise. It sounded like people were using hammer-drills directly over our heads. When we complained, we got nothing but attitude. No apology. No relief from the noise. Just an attitude like we should be happy we were allowed to be here. The Manager on Duty was rude, completely unprofessional and a disgrace to the hospitality industry.

Well never be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am very disappointed in the way this hotel handles their cancellation policy. I booked a room on 6/16 for a stay more than a month later. After I booked, my credit card was charged for one night's stay, which I expected. About a week later, something came up, and I needed to cancel the reservation. This was still more than a month before my planned vacation. When my credit card was refunded, $25 was missing from the original charge. I assumed it was a mistake; so I sent a note to Breakers asking when the remaining $25 would be refunded. They informed me that their cancellation policy consists of a $25 charge, if you cancel before 72 Hours of the date of your stay. If you cancel within the 72 Hours you forfeit your deposit. I can understand the 72 hour policy, but I've never had a hotel charge a fee otherwise. I think it's in incredibly poor taste and a great way to promote poor customer service. I will never make a reservation at Breakers again, and I will discourage others from doing so, as well.

Room Tip: Don't make a reservation here unless you are 100% sure you will not have to cancel. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Staff here was very friendly. Hotel is going through a nice re-model and was priced moderately well for the area. Very convenient to the boardwalk, cheap parking and room came with 2 breakfast buffets the next AM at their sister hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Address: 105 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakers Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Breakers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach
The Breakers Hotel And Suites
Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.