We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added The Breakers Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Staff here was very friendly. Hotel is going through a nice re-model and was priced moderately well for the area. Very convenient to the boardwalk, cheap parking and room came with 2 breakfast buffets the next AM at their sister hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    40
    33
    19
    29
See reviews for
44
38
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I would NEVER NEVER again stay at this place !! After 20 years and a TON TON of $, forget it .

All they do now is change prices on you. One person tells you one thing, then they say they do not remember the conversation, then you talk to Manager or whatever they are down there and she asked the best she can do even quoted the wrong price from her manager is give me a 15% discount of PARKING, seriously PARKING and that is only if I have the ticket from last year that you place in your window.

That's what happened on booking for this year , terrible..

Come on who safes those !!! That please has not been the same since Kelly left and we will miss Lonnie .

It's really said to see how your treated after being such good customers for such a long time .

Do yourself a favor , don't stay here and go to

The Admiral Hotel
2 Baltimore Avenue
tell Booby I sent you , you will feel much more welcomed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Same thing happened to me. I booked my room on the phone, told them I would be bringing my pug and was never told that there would be a charge for bringing my dog. Upon arrival they then told me it would be 50 bucks a night for my dog. Then to top it off the manager told me I should have lied and he wouldn't have charged me. The room was disgusting (stains all over the carpet), cigarette buts on the patio. For what I wound up paying I could have stayed somewhere much nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

After booking a room over the phone, we were told upon arrival that the charge for our dogs would be an additional $100.00 per night over what we had been quoted. We were told that the GM was the only person who was authorized to deal with this discrepancy and that she would be in the next day.

Our dealings with Courtney Lankford (the GM) were nothing short of astonishing. When we told her what we were quoted over the phone she claimed that her employees never make a mistake in light of the fact that our deposit (as a percentage of the quoted amount) clearly reflected the lower figure. After presenting her with numerous facts to back up our claim it was apparent from the start that she had no intention of correcting the charges. Later while disputing the charges with our credit card provider she resorted to falsely accusing me of threatening the employees. (in fact, everyone else we had dealings with at the front desk were nothing short of pleasant)

To top it all off, the maids refused to clean our room because we had dogs (in crates) in the room, forcing us to procure our own supplies from the maid carts (toilet paper, clean towels, soap etc.) as well as staying in a dirty room for the next three days. Our dealings with The Breakers and especially Courtney were without a doubt the worst experience we have ever had within the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Found M&M wrapper on the floor in plain sight. Found chocolate covered cherry between the bed and the night stand. Found a wheat chex on floor behind night stand. Dust and crumbs on the TV cabinet. TV is old and poor quality picture. Deck needed to be cleaned. Bathroom appeared clean. Beds appear to be full size. Tight for two adults. Stayed there last year and didn't have a problem. The price was much cheaper last year and the room was clean. Won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

So, we've stayed there many times due to the nice suites available. They only JUST got WIFI in the rooms, which was very good at last. However no restaurant or bar hardly a HOTEL makes. Anyway, friendly staff, nice clean rooms keeps us coming back. Look forward to their renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My family and I took a quick last minute trip and it was going to be a nasty weekend so we were all looking forward to swimming in the indoor pool they advertise. Don't stay here if its for the pool. The front desk staff informed us it has been closed for a year now. Why is this not posted on their website? I would have definitely stayed somewhere else! My kids were super disappointed! Room was mediocre. Good for quick last minute trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Address: 105 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakers Hotel & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Travelocity so you can book your The Breakers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach
The Breakers Hotel And Suites
Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.