We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel is improving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Breakers Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
dnpinva
Level Contributor
223 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“hotel is improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I would rate this hotel 3.5 stars. I stayed here several years ago, it is clear the hotel has improved. If you stay in one of the remodeled rooms, you will get a nice place to sleep for the location in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware. We stayed in a remodeled suite on the 4th floor. It was large and had high ceilings. We saw a suite on the second floor that had not been remodeled, and it was dark and depressing. The 4th floor suite had a large balcony overlooking the lake, a flat screen tv in the main room, a microwave and fridge, a good size bathroom with a sink in the main room, and a separate bedroom with two beds and another tv. The room was bright and cheerful. The light fixtures had been replaced. The staff is very good and accommodating. You also get a free brunch at the sister hotel Atlantic Sands just up the street. Parking is convenient ($3 fee). There were some problems, but the staff was (mostly) able to address them. The room is not quite romantic, but is pleasant enough. Beds are not good. They are very soft and provide no support. Pullout couch is rather low quality. The only drawback to the location is that the hotel is situated near the fire station, so prepare for an EXTREMELY loud siren late at night. Overpriced, but every hotel in Rehoboth costs more than equivalent hotels in neighboring communities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    52
    36
    21
    30
See reviews for
51
48
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresh Meadows, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have stayed here on vacation for the past 2 years and we're very satisfied. It's only 2 blocks from the beach and the main shopping street (Rehoboth Ave.). The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful. If you save your parking permit, you will get 15% off your next stay which is very helpful. We had to leave early (for health reasons) and they were extremely accommodating and credited us for the day. There is a also a buffet breakfast at the Atlantic Sands Hotel which is on the boardwalk included in the price of the room. All in all, I think it's very good and we plan on staying there every time we go to Rehoboth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have gone to the Breakers about 4-5 times. They updated the rooms & combined with Atlantic Sands (on the boardwalk) since our first visit about 5-6 years ago. You pay extra when more than 2 adults stay in the room. The hotel price was a bit high, but we expected as much since we went during peak season and many other hotels were sold out. It's $3 to park & you can stay in the lot until 4:00PM even after you check out. They let us check-in an hour early.

Pros:
Rooms - we stayed in room 314 & had a small, private balcony. All rooms have a balconey, but 1/2 the rooms are not private balconies. It's a long 2 block walk to the beach, but we got complimentary umbrella & 2 chairs from the Atlantic Sands. You just have to be there early.
We had complimentary buffet breakfast, which was ok. Powered eggs & canned fruit on one side and handmade omelets on the other. The servers were very nice & you could look out into the boardwalk. Front desk was friendly.
Cons:
Indoor pool was horrible - it gets worse every time we visit. I forgot how small it was & it leaked when it rained (since the pool is on the roof)! The bathroom next to the pool was dirty & smelled - they must check on it regularly. The bathroom in the room was really small - if you are above average build, forget it. The sink is outside the toilet & tub, so after you use the toilet you use the same hands to open the door so you can wash your hands. Yuck. Linens were ok (blankets had holes in it), but room was small. The TV was so old and it was barely more than 18 inches. Seriously? Doors don't keep the noise out - we could hear people in the halls. We hardly spent any time in the hotel, so it was more annoying than a deal breaker.

Overall it's fine if you don't expect much and realize you are staying at a small beach. Maybe renting a place would be better in the future...

Room Tip: Tip - umbrellas & chairs is located in the side parking lot of the Atlantic Sands - not on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

a friend of mine and our 2 4 year old daughters stayed here just for a night. We arrived 3 hours before the check in time but our room was ready and they let us in which was great for the kids who were tired after a long ride. the next day as we were heading to have breakfast (a buffet included in the price at a nearby restaurant. it was very good BTW), the front desk lady was waiting for me to let me know I had a flat tire. One of their maintenance employees help me with the spare tire replacement and it was very nice of the hotel to allow him do that while he was working. The suite we got faced the street but we did not have any problems with noise. The room was spacious and clean and we enjoyed having a separate small living room + a balcony area were we could chat after we put or daughters to bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel was a choice for a quick weekend for a charity pub crawl we attend each year. The room was right near the elevator, floors are tile, doors left and right, so anytime before 2 AM, we heard people talking loudly going to their rooms. For $500 plus for two nights, I thought it was sub-par. Learned my lesson again not to go with a non-chain hotel. Breakfast buffet, by the way, is three blocks down on the boardwalk. Not a quick bite downstairs. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Breakers has some nice features that you don't get with all the Rehoboth motels: free breakfast buffet (with eggs, bacon, made-to-order omelettes, fruit, etc. - a $11 value per person per day) and free beach umbrella and chairs (a $20 value per day), and free internet. The rooms are nice and include a fridge and microwave, and the bathrooms are clean and recently updated. And the staff is really nice and helpful. The only negatives that I can think of are: a healthy hike to the beach (10 minute walk?), early morning noise from the recycling station nearby, and noise from the nearby fire station. We wanted to stay past the 11 am check-out without paying for a whole extraq day, and they offered us three options: noon check-out (free), 1 pm check-out (an extra $40), or 6 pm check-out for half the cost of the room (weekday rate, fortunately!). We chose the half-day. It was nice to hae options that met our needs, and we were able to get in a whole beach day and still shower and change in comfort. We will definitely return to The Breakers on future visits to Rehoboth.

Room Tip: They all have a little balcony, but no real view to make to worth spending time out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel has been operating for years...we were quite surprized how nice the rooms were. Small refrigerator and microwave in each room was quite a bonus. Rooms clean and bright. Nice view of lake. Small rooftop pool, but great location. Of course, the price was higher than what we wanted to pay, but it was prime season.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#16 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#14 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Hotel & Suites

Address: 105 Second Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakers Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Breakers Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach
The Breakers Hotel And Suites
Breakers Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.