We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese the way it should be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Confucius Chinese Cuisine

Confucius Chinese Cuisine
57 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-227-3848
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 217 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chinese the way it should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Always accommodating, great service and very good food. Shawn and Danielle are great host. don't miss the Chinese New year buffet!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go here last minute on New Years Eve. I've experienced Confucious before but it had been a few years. We made reservations just to be sure. We arrived early and were seated. They were almost full and we got the next to last table in the back. Everything was good, the food and service. Appetizers, dinner and everything happened kind of quickly and it felt a little rushed. Our entire dinner lasted 45 minutes. My only two suggestions would be for them to get more menus printed as they had none available when we were seated ( thanks to the table behind us who gave us one of theirs) and the back room area was a bit colder and basic looking then the rest of the restaurant not to mention a bit musty smelling. I happen to think the ambiance and surroundings are important as well as the food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelman_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, DE
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Chinese fusion with a curious name but great servings and servers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Situated on a side street and bordered by several quality restaurants in Rehoboth Beach, Confucius holds its own and excells in its specialty. Having eaten there several times over the years and without hesitation to meet friends there, the quality of the ambiance, service and, of course, the food has unwavered from a high standard. Anything they do with seafood makes a great main course. The food appears particularly fresh without the monosodium glutimate - headache afterburner. The takeout box is also a standard as the portions tend to be generous and guarantee the next day lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steveplotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food here is light and fresh - no heavy gooey sauces no dripping oil. Wait staff is attentive and personable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gcavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
Level Contributor
177 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Authentic Delicious Chinese in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just had a terrific dinner at this great Chinese Restaurant on Wilmington Avenue. The food is perfect. We shared appetizers of Calamari and Frog Legs that were light and spicy - very nicely done. For entrees, we had Hunan beef, Hunan Chicken, Kung Pao Chicken, and a plate of Smoked tofu. We really couldn't finish the large portions, so future lunches are anticipated. Each dish was very flavorful, with just the right amount of heat. Never thought I'd like tofu, but this preparation made a believer out of me. The brown and white rice dishes had great body and taste. The staff are very knowledgeable, professional and friendly. This has to be the best Chinese food in Sussex County.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroadagain09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confucius Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Confucius Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing