We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Confucius Chinese Cuisine

Confucius Chinese Cuisine
57 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-227-3848
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #41 of 219 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go here last minute on New Years Eve. I've experienced Confucious before but it had been a few years. We made reservations just to be sure. We arrived early and were seated. They were almost full and we got the next to last table in the back. Everything was good, the food and service. Appetizers, dinner and everything happened kind of quickly and it felt a little rushed. Our entire dinner lasted 45 minutes. My only two suggestions would be for them to get more menus printed as they had none available when we were seated ( thanks to the table behind us who gave us one of theirs) and the back room area was a bit colder and basic looking then the rest of the restaurant not to mention a bit musty smelling. I happen to think the ambiance and surroundings are important as well as the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    75
    23
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, DE
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Chinese fusion with a curious name but great servings and servers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Situated on a side street and bordered by several quality restaurants in Rehoboth Beach, Confucius holds its own and excells in its specialty. Having eaten there several times over the years and without hesitation to meet friends there, the quality of the ambiance, service and, of course, the food has unwavered from a high standard. Anything they do with seafood makes a great main course. The food appears particularly fresh without the monosodium glutimate - headache afterburner. The takeout box is also a standard as the portions tend to be generous and guarantee the next day lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food here is light and fresh - no heavy gooey sauces no dripping oil. Wait staff is attentive and personable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic Delicious Chinese in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just had a terrific dinner at this great Chinese Restaurant on Wilmington Avenue. The food is perfect. We shared appetizers of Calamari and Frog Legs that were light and spicy - very nicely done. For entrees, we had Hunan beef, Hunan Chicken, Kung Pao Chicken, and a plate of Smoked tofu. We really couldn't finish the large portions, so future lunches are anticipated. Each dish was very flavorful, with just the right amount of heat. Never thought I'd like tofu, but this preparation made a believer out of me. The brown and white rice dishes had great body and taste. The staff are very knowledgeable, professional and friendly. This has to be the best Chinese food in Sussex County.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Try the Sunday brunch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had been to Confucious a number of times. Food is always superb. The great thing about brunch (our last visit) is that you get to choose three items, either soups, dumplings, or main dishes. It is a lot of VERY good food for $12. Service continues to be excellent. If you dine in Rehoboth on Sundays, you owe it to yourself to try brunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confucius Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Confucius Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confucius Chinese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.