We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Confucius Chinese Cuisine

Confucius Chinese Cuisine
57 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-227-3848
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 235 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go here last minute on New Years Eve. I've experienced Confucious before but it had been a few years. We made reservations just to be sure. We arrived early and were seated. They were almost full and we got the next to last table in the back. Everything was good, the food and service. Appetizers, dinner and everything happened kind of quickly and it felt a little rushed. Our entire dinner lasted 45 minutes. My only two suggestions would be for them to get more menus printed as they had none available when we were seated ( thanks to the table behind us who gave us one of theirs) and the back room area was a bit colder and basic looking then the rest of the restaurant not to mention a bit musty smelling. I happen to think the ambiance and surroundings are important as well as the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    33
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, DE
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Chinese fusion with a curious name but great servings and servers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Situated on a side street and bordered by several quality restaurants in Rehoboth Beach, Confucius holds its own and excells in its specialty. Having eaten there several times over the years and without hesitation to meet friends there, the quality of the ambiance, service and, of course, the food has unwavered from a high standard. Anything they do with seafood makes a great main course. The food appears particularly fresh without the monosodium glutimate - headache afterburner. The takeout box is also a standard as the portions tend to be generous and guarantee the next day lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food here is light and fresh - no heavy gooey sauces no dripping oil. Wait staff is attentive and personable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Authentic Delicious Chinese in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just had a terrific dinner at this great Chinese Restaurant on Wilmington Avenue. The food is perfect. We shared appetizers of Calamari and Frog Legs that were light and spicy - very nicely done. For entrees, we had Hunan beef, Hunan Chicken, Kung Pao Chicken, and a plate of Smoked tofu. We really couldn't finish the large portions, so future lunches are anticipated. Each dish was very flavorful, with just the right amount of heat. Never thought I'd like tofu, but this preparation made a believer out of me. The brown and white rice dishes had great body and taste. The staff are very knowledgeable, professional and friendly. This has to be the best Chinese food in Sussex County.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Try the Sunday brunch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had been to Confucious a number of times. Food is always superb. The great thing about brunch (our last visit) is that you get to choose three items, either soups, dumplings, or main dishes. It is a lot of VERY good food for $12. Service continues to be excellent. If you dine in Rehoboth on Sundays, you owe it to yourself to try brunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confucius Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Confucius Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confucius Chinese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.