We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant chinese restaurant in Rehoboth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Confucius Chinese Cuisine

Confucius Chinese Cuisine
57 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-227-3848
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 234 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elegant chinese restaurant in Rehoboth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After stumbling across this restaurant 2 years ago, we now make a point to visit every year. This is definitely NOT you typical 'chinatown' fare. The food is fresh, the menu is inventive, and the ambiance is quiet and subdued. The thin skin pork dumplings with cilantro are superb, and the mango shrimp is fantastic. When we first stood outside reading the menu it seemed a bit pricey for chinese food, but a couple leaving said 'just go in, the food is fantastic' and I couldn't agree more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    33
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't Go Back to Takeout Now!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a delicious celebratory dinner and are stuffed! The Thin-Skin Pork Dumplings were out of this world! Didn't even need dippy sauce, either. The Salt & Pepper Calamari was delish, but the peppers way too hot for my taste. General Tso's Chicken is bangin without the sauce...coating was not too thick, not too thin so basically perfect. And _real_ chicken--not mystery tidbits entombed in some crazy batter. Mu Shu Pork was good. Hunan Beef was best ever. Go mid-week off-season is the perfect time to go. Service was very good. Can't wait to go back! And yes the floor, walls & funky-angled ceiling amplify sound so it's quite loud even when it's not rascious. A bit pricey but worth making a regular pilgrimage.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Large portions and excellent General Tsao!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This rating is purely for the General Tsao's chicken since that was all that we sampled. Between the three of us (ladies), two entrees of General Tsaos was plenty. The prices are high but if you share entrees, it's very affordable. We did take out and ate on the benches overlooking the beach. Take out gives you a 10% discount. The chicken was breaded perfectly, not too much and not too little. The sauce was also perfect - sweet and just lightly spiced. Highly recommend this place!

FYI, the inside is very cute. I imagine dining in would be really nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good choice in Rehoboth Beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a minimal wait the night we were there; it's off the main drag and maybe Chinese is off the radar of the beach crowd? It shouldn't be though; the decor of the restaurant is sleek and elegant, staff is friendly, and the food is good. I found the food a bit salty for my taste but the other people in my party (husband and kids, age 16, 11 and 7) loved it and thought everything was delish.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Food is excellent, but like nearly all gourmet restaurants, portions aren't as hearty as one would like.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confucius Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Confucius Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confucius Chinese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.