We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Go Back to Takeout Now!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Confucius Chinese Cuisine

Confucius Chinese Cuisine
57 Wilmington Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-227-3848
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 231 restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't Go Back to Takeout Now!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a delicious celebratory dinner and are stuffed! The Thin-Skin Pork Dumplings were out of this world! Didn't even need dippy sauce, either. The Salt & Pepper Calamari was delish, but the peppers way too hot for my taste. General Tso's Chicken is bangin without the sauce...coating was not too thick, not too thin so basically perfect. And _real_ chicken--not mystery tidbits entombed in some crazy batter. Mu Shu Pork was good. Hunan Beef was best ever. Go mid-week off-season is the perfect time to go. Service was very good. Can't wait to go back! And yes the floor, walls & funky-angled ceiling amplify sound so it's quite loud even when it's not rascious. A bit pricey but worth making a regular pilgrimage.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    78
    26
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Large portions and excellent General Tsao!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This rating is purely for the General Tsao's chicken since that was all that we sampled. Between the three of us (ladies), two entrees of General Tsaos was plenty. The prices are high but if you share entrees, it's very affordable. We did take out and ate on the benches overlooking the beach. Take out gives you a 10% discount. The chicken was breaded perfectly, not too much and not too little. The sauce was also perfect - sweet and just lightly spiced. Highly recommend this place!

FYI, the inside is very cute. I imagine dining in would be really nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good choice in Rehoboth Beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a minimal wait the night we were there; it's off the main drag and maybe Chinese is off the radar of the beach crowd? It shouldn't be though; the decor of the restaurant is sleek and elegant, staff is friendly, and the food is good. I found the food a bit salty for my taste but the other people in my party (husband and kids, age 16, 11 and 7) loved it and thought everything was delish.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Food is excellent, but like nearly all gourmet restaurants, portions aren't as hearty as one would like.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
638 helpful votes 638 helpful votes
“Trust the reviewers, this place is very good and lotsa fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had such a great evening here. So many locals told us that this is an excellent restaurant and we now agree. It was packed when we arrived. We were placed next to the loudest, most obnoxious, local, patrons imaginable--until we met them. Soon, we were as loud as they were and departed great friends. The food is simply delectable. We had the lo mein vegetable noodles and the orange beef. They were both so delicious. The pork chinese dumplings were the best we have had.

The atmosphere is cute and beach-esque. I guaranty readers that they will have a great time here. the owner/manager is a lovely and kind Chinese lady and the waiters/waitresses are sweet and helpful. Go with confidence.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confucius Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Confucius Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confucius Chinese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.