We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay. Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
20 Lake Avenue, Corner of Lake Ave and Third Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay. Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Thanks Gary. Hopefully we will be back next year. Great location and clean rooms. Walk to beach was very easy and places to eat were close. Girl who cleaned rooms was nice as well. Swimming pool was a great addition for a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've stayed at three bed and breakfasts in Rehoboth Beach in the last five years. I stumbled upon this one because the other two were fully booked the weekend I wanted to stay. The stay was perfect. The location is central, but off the main street so it is quiet. Wonderful restaurants are nearby, as is a coffee shop, liquor store and grocery store, all within two blocks. The beach is only four blocks away (as well as the boardwalk). The breakfast was served continental style and was plentiful. The pool was clean, and very private from anyone not staying at the B&B. I will definitely return to this B&B in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The accommodation at Cabana Gardens is clean and basic. Rooms feature the bare minimum and common areas are much the same. As many have noted, breakfast is served from 9-10 AM with no exceptions. Overall, not worth the hefty price tag.

The most appalling thing about this B&B was the rude innkeeper who made our average experience poor. Rules are posted everywhere (but simple things like the internet passcode are no where to be found) and any requests (Can I leave my bag here past check out time? Can I leave my car here 2 hours past check out time?) are treated as impositions and generally shot down with ridiculous excuses.

Needless to say, I will be taking my hard-earned money to a (friendly) place where I'm not made to feel like a delinquent/child the next time I vacation at Rehoboth Beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, Owner at Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
This reviewer appears not to be familiar with room rates of a resort beach town like Rehoboth Beach during peak summer season. We are the only in-town B and B with a swimming pool and we offer free parking which many B and B's in this town do not have. We also have rooms with a lake or pool view and some rooms have decks. Features that many Band B's in this town do not have. All of these factors influence the room rates. My rates are competitive and below average for comparable accommodations.

As to the comment about the 9 to 10 am breakfast: breakfast is available before 9am and never stops untill all guests have eaten which is usually around 10:15. On Saturday morning, the reviewer's traveling companion told me about 9:45 that she wanted to take a 20 minute run and asked if she should take breakfast items at that time to her room. I replied that she could but it wasn't necessary and that breakfast would be available when she returned from her run. She returned around 10:15 and had breakfast. At 10:30 the reviewer and her traveling companion were still at the breakfast table chatting. All other guests had eaten and left. Breakfast items were cleared at that time, but only after these guests indicated that they were finished eating.

As to the comment about leaving bags after check out, the reviewer's traveling companion asked this question because she was catching a bus at 7:30pm. I told her she could leave her bags in the lobby but with the understanding that we would not be responsible for the items left behind. She apparently did not like the answer and did not leave her bags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I booked a last-minute stay at Cabana Gardens last month. We had never been to this B&B before -- it turned out to be perfect for our getaway. The rooms, though basic, are very clean. We were glad that previous reviews mentioned the lack of toiletries -- we brought our own. The breakfast is basic but nice and sufficient, and the breakfast areas are spacious and relaxing. There is a small pool which is a nice amenity, and an outside shower to help prevent sandy rooms. The greenery on and surrounding the property is beautiful. Cabana Gardens is within walking distance of the beach and the main shopping/eating strip, and tucked away enough that that it’s not incredibly noisy (rooms with window AC units have the most white noise barrier, I imagine). The rates are reasonable, making a stay there a good deal for the area -- we hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms with window AC units have the most white noise barrier. These rooms overlook the pool and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabulous spectacular Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've visited many, many times in the last 15 yrs. This is an extremely comfortable, well-laid-out, totally immaculate facility. Helpful and friendly owner and staff. Location: convenient to beach, shops, restaurants, but quiet and peaceful nonetheless. Pool is a nice feature; it is well-kept. During every visit, the other guests were pleasant and nice to meet. Cabana Gardens ain't cheap, but nothing in Rehoboth is.

Room Tip: Every room we saw are quiet, attractive, desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very clean, well kept place. Not much to write about that wasn't said before. Luckily I read the reviews and brought my own shampoo as they don't supply any, probably the only accommodations in the free world that don't supply them but.. pool was chilly for July but again, very clean.. perfect location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cabana Gardens is truly a hidden gem. Right in the center of downtown Rehoboth: shops, restaurants, clubs, galleries all within a short walk. Yet a secluded and quiet atmosphere. One can choose from a variety of accomodations; swim in the inground pool; or just relax amongst the gardens. The owner's welcome driven by familiarity and pride. Gary provides a haven tucked away from worries, yet within a stones throw of exciting new memories....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Lake Avenue, Corner of Lake Ave and Third Street, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabana Gardens B & B was built in 1995 and is located on the corner of Third Street and Lake Avenue. We rent rooms with private baths and provide a continental breakfast every morning. Some rooms have direct access to a deck and a view of Lake Gerar or our inground swimming pool. Maximum of 2 adults per room.Cabana Gardens is a quiet retreat in the heart of downtown Rehoboth Beach just three blocks to the nearest beach and one quick block to the hustle and bustle of shopping and fine dining on Baltimore and Rehoboth Avenues.No children under 12. No pets. No smoking except in the outdoor areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabana Gardens Hotel Rehoboth Beach
Cabana Gardens Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana Gardens Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.